We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“stunning accommodation ,”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Apple Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Kitchen
Sun Room
Hot tub
Lounge
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pylle, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stuluk
wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning accommodation ,”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stunning Cottage, very Quiet location, Dog Heaven with plenty of walks on the Doorstep. Very Nice Hot tub. 5 Minute walk to Nearest Restaurant, Jon Thorners The Den ( Very nice Sunday lunch ) This is our 4 visit. Will be definitely booking again in the near future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you for the lovely review of Apple Cottage and the surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Kerry and The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place and location -Perfect”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Just outside Shepton Mallet - this property stands in it's own grounds - is dog friendly with an enclosed garden - determined dogs may get out, but it is pretty much secure - plenty of places to walk - farm shop less than a mile, and walkable - but busy road. Very well equipped, log burner, fully fitted kitchen utility / boot room, A fantastic hot tub, and comfortable beds and sofas - plus a quiet room overlooking the garden and hot tub, plus the beautiful sunsets - well the 2 we had in Dec and Jan over new year to the west. Easily get into Shepton - large supermarket and restaurants not far from Glastonbury Tor - worth a walk up. Plus use of the local Spa - free - 15 minute drive max - but well equipped, and my wife had a luxury pamper package. Absolutely one of the best properties we have ever rented!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are really pleased that you had a great stay at Apple Cottage and enjoyed the local area. We would love to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Kerry & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful cottage in quiet location yet great links to Bath, Wells, Cheddar, Street etc. Lovely garden room/lounge with really comfy sofa and views out to garden and across to hills beyond. Great kitchen, bathrooms, second lounge and brilliant roll top bath in bedroom. Superb hot tub to top it all! Just the wife and myself however would easily be great for two couples but being selfish I wouldn't want to share!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thanks for the fantastic review Mark. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed the house and local area. Kinds regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan_ba...
1 review
“A lovely homely home from home.”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Overall, a wonderful break away in Apple cottage. You are made to feel very welcome and we felt like we could just move in straight away!
The spa membership is a nice bonus too, well worth the visit.
My only criticism would have to be that personally, I wasn't keen on the master bedroom 'suite' I think it could have been better laid out rather than compromised. And although the hot tub was great, we enjoyed watching the sun go down and the bats come out swooping around us.. I wasn't keen on dodging the slugs and snails on the way back across the garden/decking to the house. But then, it's that time of year when we visited... I personally would have the tub nearer the house.
But these are purely personal preferences and in no way reflect the quality and friendliness of woodland retreats.
We're already looking to book again next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review Nathan. We are pleased to hear you had a great time and we would love to see you back again next year. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Apple Cottage. We were welcomed by Ed and given a tour, then left to enjoy our stay with the assurance of assistance, if needed, we did not require any. The kitchen was very well equipped. The cottage is as lovely as the photo's suggest, we found it to be very clean and the hot tub ready to go. The hot tub was the highlight of the trip for our teenage sons. As was the lovely Sedum Spa, just 15 mins drive from the cottage. The cottage was ideally located for visiting Wells, Cheddar, Clarks Village etc. For golfers The Mendip is a lovely golf course, my husband and son were impressed with the course and the friendliness of the members, great recommendation of Woodlands Retreats, along with the lovely farm shop within walking distance of the cottage. I found the whole booking process simple and the company very professional to deal with. We were blessed with wonderful weather during our stay, which of course always helps! I would recommend without hesitation. Our sons are nagging us to book again, so that says it all really!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Main bedroom only had double bed, seemed small as we have a larger size at home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for your fantastic review Sarah. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and it's great to hear that you had good weather for Golf. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing