We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing would like to go again”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Villefagnan, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gina D
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing would like to go again”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Alison & Rob were really welcoming and friendly. Lovely location and accommodation was excellent. Fire pit was an added plus, our son loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire pit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We really enjoyed getting to know you and having you to stay. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Warm regards
Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithlove...
Bordon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay for a relaxed holiday in unspoiled French countryside”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a delightful week in this charming gite. It was spotlessly clean and Ali made sure we had everything we needed. The garden and wild flower area was spectacular, when we went and there were even some bee orchids in flower. Although in was May we had very good weather and enjoyed the lovely heated pool. This is real rural France and we saw hares, hoopoe birds and even a red squirrel visited the garden.

Ali and Rob were on hand to suggest places to visit. We enjoyed the towns of Ruffec, Verteuil, La Rochelle and recommend a visit to Remy Martin in Cognac.

We can thoroughly recommend this for a relaxing holiday and we plan to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the countryside
Liked least: We went via Dunkirk but if we had gone via Caen, we would have saved 4 hours of travelling.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we are thrilled that you had a great holiday and wish to return next year. Regards Ali & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wikidphil
1 review
“"A perfect place to stay "”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for a short break in the beginning of October.. Not really doing alot of research before hand we were unsure of what to expect.. On arrival we were
greeted very warmly by Alison and rob... We could not quite believe what this place offered.. Everything for everyone one!! Pool area fantastic... Eating areas for bbq's.. Quiet area for reading / chilling... And even a area for a log fire / music / bbq for an evening of relaxing ..the gite was spotless and complete with everything we needed! ..also close to amenities and some lovely restaurants. We Can't waiting for another visit to this lovely place x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
We thank you so much for your review and are so pleased you all had such a great break.
We hope to see you again.
Warm regards
Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kel R
Newent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful gites, wonderful owners”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week in Wisteria gite and a week in Forsythia gite over the summer holidays. The accommodation in both gites is stylish, comfortable and exceptionally clean.
Wisteria gite:
There is a fixed stair gate in Wisteria gite - and a comfortable twin bedded room - and there is a travel cot available too. Alison and Rob (the wonderful owners) can provide lots of good toys, books and games to suit young children and older ones too. The master bedroom is really special - a very idyllic room. The shower room is small but perfectly formed with a good powerful hot shower. The kitchen is well equipped including a couple of good sharp knives which I rate highly in a let!
Forsythia Gite:
This is a slightly bigger gite with 2 separate rooms upstairs with doors opening onto a small landing. There is no fixed stairgate here but the corridor from the bedrooms to the bathroom does not go near the stairs, so this didn't cause us a problem. Very young children might struggle with the open tread of the staircase though - we were fine with ours (aged 6 and 3). Shower hot, kitchen we'll equipped.
The pool is brilliant - we weren't blessed with the hottest weather but even so we used the pool every day and it remained a steady 22/24degC in the water. (Typically the weather for August is more like late 20s/early 30s btw). There are plenty of swimming aids for kids and pool toys which was brilliant.
The grounds are lovely - a beautiful garden with lots of flowers and wildlife interest - plus a hammock in the orchard for lazing around.
Fire pit is fantastic for star gazing.
Loads to do in the area - friendly locals too.
Rob and Alison - thank you for being fantastic, helpful hosts x

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your great and informative review, we are pleased that you and your family had a lovely holiday and hope to see you again.
Warm regards,
Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drifter11...
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing holiday, beautiful gite, pool and grounds, fantastic weather, great location, amazing owners 5/5”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and had an excellent holiday. The gite, pool area and garden were lovely, very well kept, clean and had everything we needed for a weeks break in sunny France. The gite was of traditional french character and had all the facilities we needed for a great stay. The owners Alison and Rob made sure we had the best possible stay and I can't thank them enough. They recommended places to visit and made us feel very welcome. I cannot fault in any way, a great place for couples and families and by far one of the best holidays we've had. I would certainly recommend to all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review, we're so pleased you had a great holiday and hope to see you again.
kind regards
Alison & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing