We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot, quiet and fun”
other travellers have booked this property
Main upstairs bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main upstairs bedroom
main bedroom with daybed/single bed Guest upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Main upstairs bedroom
main bedroom with daybed/single bed
Guest upstairs bedroom
guest bedroom front view
Kitchen/indoor dining
Living area
Swimming pool
Side view of the pool
Swimming pool
Pool and outdoor loungers
Front entrance to the house
Downstairs shower room & laundry
Outdoor dining
Back garden
Villefagnan
Village square
Swimming lake at Villefagnan
Short drive to Verteuil sur Charente with its gorgeous castle and cafes
Easy drive to Cognac, enjoy the shopping and distilleries
local sunflowers
stunning properties in the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Villefagnan, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot, quiet and fun”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2013

We (wife, me + 18 month old twins) spent a lovely ten days at Chez Sophie. It is located in a nice quiet village, with an Eddie Leclerc with a quality wine cellar a short drive away - what's not to like??
The house (this was pre pool) is nicely appointed, with linen and furniture very stylishly placed. As long as the bottom of the stairs is blocked, it is easily suitable for young children, the garden is enclosed and is an adventurous toddlers playground.
The village itself is quite, rural French - just the sort of place to visit for a relaxing break. It may have been the twins, but I found contact with the locals enjoyable, despite my horrendous attempts at Kiwi schoolboy French.
We drove from London - a car is necessary to explore.
WiFi/TV etc.., but no need to turn it on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience
Liked least: The lack of restaurants (only one nearby, albeit a nice one)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thanks for reviewing Chez Sophie, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday house in a friendly village - a perfect break!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful break at Chez Sophie. The house is very well equipped, beds very comfy, nicely decorated and everything has been thought of. We arrived v late Saturday to find a bottle of wine and other essential provisions, bread, cheese and ham. The pool was the perfect size for my husband and I and our (just) five year old son to enjoy each day. The owner and (v helpful) English speaking local manager made some excellent recommendations on places to visit and highlights for us were Verteuil sur Charente and Cognac. Most days though we just lazed around and wandered no further than the boulangerie. The local Superette had some excellent fish, cheese and wine so we ate very well without having to go far. All in all a fabulous holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
We are glad you loved Chez Sophie again. You are right we will continue to improve the house and furnishings as it is always good to have a fresh approach. Hope we see you again. Regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judith R
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"HOME FROM HOME"”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chez Sophie is a home from home, not just a holiday let. The house feels lived in and loved.

Decor and fittings are lovely and have a nice french feel. There is currently a swimming pool being built in the garden which will greatly add to the house's appeal, especially in the hot summer months.

The welcome pack and a bottle of wine were much appreciated and Sylvie who showed us round was warm and friendly.

The only down side for us was that we found the area itself a little quiet, but if its quiet and relaxation that you want you could do no better.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Glad you felt like you were at home. Regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leafyblue...
England UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just what we needed”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely stay at Chez Sophie in the last week of October. The house was very homely and the owner doesn't mind if you use things from the kitchen etc which is really helpful as she had lots of herbs and things which means you don't spend lots of extra money on a massive supermarket shop, just to throw it all away when you leave. Constant hot water was great and plenty of clean towels too. (Washing powder was provided too)
My mum thought there should be more clothes storage as the chest in her room had bedding in every draw and there was only a small wardrobe in my room. Free internet was provided, but no freeview -dvd's only. Not an issue for us, but some may want to watch Tv of an evening. The garden is safe and secure for young children and there is a playpark round the corner.

It turned a little chilly towards the end of our stay, but there were lots of logs for us to use and the house was warm. The village is bigger than it looks so i would recommend exploring, there are a several village shops, including a post office, butcher, baker and our version of 'The Corner Shop'. There is also a small English owned cafe/resturant. To be fair, food a bit boring, but lovely owner. Locals are really friendly.

Overall i would recommend Chez Sophie as it was a comfy home with all i needed and close to everything i needed- Poitier an hour away, La Rochelle 1 hr and 15mins. The manager lives in the village too and is a great help.

Thanks for letting us stay at your home Rosie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
glad you enjoyed yourselves. Many thanks regards Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing