We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location top quality accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
Newton Halt South, Christon Bank Nr Newton by the Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location top quality accommodation”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous bank holiday weekend at the cottage which is ideally located near the beach. This cottage is immaculate throughout and tastefully decorated. We spent our weekend walking along the beautiful white sands which stretches for miles and enjoyed fantastic food at the Joiners Arms and drinks at the Ship Inn (both dog friendly). The cottage is easy to find and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Can't wait to return in the winter to use the lovely log burner and all the facilities. Cannot recommend this accommodation enough and the price we found to be very reasonable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for Newton Halt South. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of the local attractions in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the North East and Northumberland in the future.

Kind regards,

Cottages in Northumberland Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Summer holiday 2016”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
10
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. It was perfect for me and my children. The location is great for accessing beaches and other tourist attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Newton Halt South and we look forward to welcoming you back to the North East and Northumberland in the future.

Kind regards,

Cottages in Northumberland Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jude20162...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning, best cottage we have stayed in the UK!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
10
people found this review helpful

We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. It is the the best cottage we have stayed in in the UK. The property was immaculately clean, well equipped and provided a very relaxing, light and airy environment to be in. Perfect for a holiday. All bedding and towels were of a high standard and in ample supply. The beds were very comfortable as were the sofas. All in all It was a pleasure to come home to the cottage after a busy day of sightseeing with tired, hungry children with the added bonus of free wifi . We had the pleasure of a baby bunny sitting in the garden most early mornings and evenings to amuse the children. Unlike the previous review we did not hear noises from the occupied adjoining property and found the cottage to be as described on the website. Although there is a train-track and level crossing nearby we did not find the noise intrusive. The agents we booked through provided a great service without being intrusive, checking in with us that all was well during our stay. We particularly loved the Beach House feel of the property and would love to stay again to make use of the wood-burner in the colder months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, decor
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for Newton Halt South. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of the local attractions in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the North East and Northumberland in the future.

Kind regards,

Cottages in Northumberland Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible - not child friendly, trains roaring past 24/7 - woken up throughout the night by fright trains roaring past,”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked Newton Halt South through Cottages in Northumberland over the phone after looking at the Tripadvisor review online which in June 2016 stated the property had a washing machine, dvd player, parking bays and a shared shed for guest use. Prior to arriving I was told there was no washing machine which was a huge problem with 4 children. None of the staff were able to tell me how often the trains ran but I now now it is ALL THE TIME. On arrival I could not find a parking bay, parking is at the side of the house which is fairly narrow. I was told our 2nd car could be parked in front of the property, however, its a private road and the owner who is building a house on the road, told me to move or risk car being damaged. Straight away I saw although clean the property was very dusty - had advised about my son having asthma so annoyed. This is actually one bungalow converted into two. There are no corridors so noise inside and from the adjoined and connecting door (not told about beforehand) an issue. The trains are very loud and constant. Big fright trains moving at speed, plus an alarm at the crossing made sleep difficult for everyone. Cooking was a challenge as there were only 3 catering sized pans which were hard to use, I was burnt several times. The toaster did not work, would not pop up and I burnt my arm as not cool wall. This was replaced by the housekeeper and she also brought a dvd when I advised there was none in the property - have a screen shot of the facilities listed at the time of booking. She was not able to connect as did not have the correct leads, so unable to watch dvd's we had brought along. Its a very tight kitchen area and not well stocked I had to ask for a potato peeler. The back is shocking - unsecured and full of rubbish and other items dangerous to children and animals. The shed we were told was not available 2 days before arrival so had to leave our bikes behind. The shed is in a very bad state - have photos. The cottage company were not helpful, and at times rude. They denied the list of facilities originally listed just amended them on their website. There was not guestbook so could not leave feedback BUT I did email and complain about the poor finish, lack of dvd, kitchen items, unsecured back, and noise of non-stop trains. The family next door Newton Halt North, told me they were worried for their dogs safety due to notices about being shot if not controlled across the road. Fencing gaps also allowed the dog to escape. They were a lovely family who left a day early due to the noise and lack of facilities. We will never book this cottage again or use the company. It was awful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: The lack of space, noise from trains and terrible bedding - rough, cheap, not washed before use. NO washing maching or dvd
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your feedback it enables us to ensure the best possible standards for our clients.

The storage shed, (which the booking party had been informed would not be available) is now completed and ready for storage of surf boards wet suits bikes etc.

The usual country code (dogs on leads on farmland public right of ways) applies generally throughout Northumberland. However The huge beaches at Embelton, 1.5 miles and Newton by the Sea, 2 miles from the cottage have no such advise.

As expected, the Housekeeper replaced any missing, or reportedly faulty items as soon as requested. Also purchasing a DVD player (although due to provision of new 46 inch SMART TV) one had not been provided or advertised on the agents website.

Contact numbers for cleaning services are clearly provided in the cottage and any problems will be addressed immediately by the cleaning company once contacted if clients are unhappy with dust etc.

The booking party was aware that no washing machine was available/advertised, at the cottage before booking.

All beds, mattresses and bedding are around 3 months old and all bedding is matching (seaside blue and white stripe ) and 100 percent pure cotton.

Newton Halt, Station cottages are clearly advertised by the booking agent as beside the railway. Normal service 6.00 am to 11.00 pm.
The booking party was well aware of this before booking. This fact is realistically reflected in the reasonable weekly rate for a property of this quality in the Embleton, Newton, Craster, area.

Thank you once again for your feed back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony m
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“new holiday rental in northumberland”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

stayed at newton halt south for a weekend. the accommodation has recently been refurbished to a high standard ,just a short drive away from the wonderful beaches of Northumberland. There is a small shop and a pub close by ,then 10 minutes away is newton by the sea which has some great pubs that serve good food the hotel there even do take away fish & chips (really good) not far from sea houses and Alnwick that has the renowned gardens well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: able to take our dog
Liked least: as pointed out in the discription close to the railway line but not a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for Newton Halt South . We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of the local attractions in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the North East and Northumberland in the future. Kind regards, Cottages in Northumberland Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$657
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing