We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service”

Wellington Hotel Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

No clearing of plates, forgotten orders, long wait for food and overall poor service. Ok food but could be better...................................

Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

sorry to see you were not happy with the service you received. If you would like to contact me at the pub we can discuss this further

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We visited for our Easter Sunday dinner, in the full knowledge that ‘The Welly’ is our pub of choice for good, hearty but top quality grub. And we weren’t disappointed. Admittedly it has been several months since our last visit and the pub is under new management.
But most definitely a positive change. The food was lovely as usual but the atmosphere is just lovely. You can sense it as soon as you go in.
Re food, we all had starters of pate, Stilton mushrooms and pate. Mum, Dad and hubby all had roasts and I had the nut roast. Mum and Dad had ice cream, hubby had cheesecake and I had the most delicious warm cookie bake with treacle toffee ice cream and white chocolate mousse. We couldn’t fault the copious fresh veg, the roasties and everything that you’d expect to find on a Sunday dinner.
Mark was an excellent host and made sure that everything was perfect, even bringing my Dad some white chocolate mousse after he’d tasted mine and said how delicious it was !!!
All in all, we are a very happy and a very pleasantly full family this afternoon and the new management will prove an asset to our go to pub.

Thank MrsH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovley review and i will pass your comments on to Mark. It really makes a difference when people go out of their way to post positves insted of using this platform to air their grevances. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We visited here whilst travelling the Northumberland area. Been to many chef and brewers as we often use Tesco vouchers.

When we sat down I told them we were using Tesco vouchers and from then in the service was terrible. The restaurants was quiet so don’t understand why It took so long for somebody to come and take our order. The food came quite quickly however we were going to order deserts but it took so long for someone to take our plates away we didn’t have time.

As the restaurant was so quiet i can only think we had this service because we were using Tesco vouchers. Never had this before in and chef and brewer the service has always been good.

The food however was very nice.

Thank ManchesterMegmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Im sorry that the service you received wasn't up to our usual standards. Unfortunately we had some maintainence issues which impacted our ability to give our usual high level of service. However I am glad you enjoyed your meal and can assure you that in no way was your expierence impaced by the fact you were paying with Tesco vouchers as this is not a cost to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I gave my e-mail address some time ago and took advantage of a discount offer received as a result. We had rump steaks that were cooked as we asked, the chips were fresh and crispy. We kept away from the toilet area where there is an unpleasant smell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We have an ongoing problem with drainage from time to time and i can only apologise for this. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We had been put off going back to the Wellington due to recent negative reviews. However we received an offer and an emailadvising that it was under new management. So we went for dinner this week. We were given a very warm welcome and great attention during our meal. The food was delicious and we stayed for dessert. Would definitely recommend a visit. Well done to the new management.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktdale, General Manager at Wellington Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovley review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellington Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Heddon-on-the-Wall, Northumberland
East Wallhouses, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Prudhoe, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Wellington Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing