We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
42
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hosts beds region wineries stellenbosch guesthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Beautiful setting in an ideal location. Our accommodation was very clean and homely and we had everything we needed. The views were stunning. Our hosts Ben & Charlotte made us feel very welcome and Charlotte made us a great breakfast. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely return

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Just the most beautiful place to relax and unwind. Great time to visit in the autumn with all the colours and the quietness. Love the bird life, not to mention the wineries and brilliant restaurants so close. A place which definitely calls for a revisit. Ben and Charlotte are so welcoming.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NitaWalshe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I are Americans and we enjoyed our two night stay at Sanddrif in the Pool Cottage. We enjoyed Charlotte's and Ben's hospitality. The rooms and gardens were beautiful. The views of Stellenbosch from Sanddrif were spectacular. The breakfast was excellent. Charlotte's recommendations of good restaurants and vineyards were all excellent.

I am a native of California. I felt that Stellenbosch reminded me a lot of Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez. Santa Ynez is a wine region south of Napa that produces a lot of very good Pinto Noir wines. My wife and I happened to run into the wife of the wine maker at Waterford. She has been to Santa Ynez and agreed with my assessment of Stellenbosch. For those who have not been to Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez, these are two beautiful coastal regions that are two hours to three hours north of Los Angeles, California.

The vegetation in Stellenbosch is similar and often the same to that found in South California. They have eucalyptus trees, palm trees, bougainvillea flowering plants, agapanthus, etc. The vegetation looks like the chaparral vegetation found in South California.

Our only regret about Sanddrif is that we did not stay here longer.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed for the second time at Sanddrif guest farm. It is located a few kilometers outside of Stellenbosch. We had a nice bedroom with seperate entrance and ensuite bathroom , TV , AC, and a little private patio under trees which I loved. There is a large swimming pool at the main house where the family of our hostess lives. Great breakfasts, everything is clean, great matresses, and no traffic as it is situated off the main road in a large private garden. Close to Stellenbosch , golfcourses and many restaurants and vinyards. Charlotte gives great advice where to go, were to eat, etc. We enjoy staying there for a longer time and will be back next year

Room tip: We loved our room in the building next to the main house
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews