We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss Revisited”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Pool with a view
Pergola, front entrance
Suriya room 4 poster bed
Suriya room ensuite
Strathisla Sunset
Local waterhole
Knuckles range
Historic Kandy town
Pinnewala elephant orphanage
Giant sleeping Buddha, Polonnaruwa
Langur mother and baby
Elephant riding in Kandelama Lake
Castlereagh Lake
Local temple
Local 'weigh in' of tea
Dambulla Rock Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
kalinski8
Kandy District, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Bliss Revisited”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were welcomed very warmly by owners Peter and Mozelle at their romantic, sympathetically-restored Plantation Home to a wonderful Lunch on the terrace overlooking 25 acres of exotic gardens with far-reaching views to jungle, mountains and valleys. Jaykumar the manager runs the estate efficiently, and his lovely wife Pria cooks delicious food sourced from the estate or from local farmers. The fine house is tastefully furnished with Sri Lankan antiques and the high-cieling bedrooms have 4-poster beds. We were having a reunion lunch with old friends from Mount Lavinia, and were enjoying ourselves so much, they missed their train to Colombo! A blessing, really, as we could linger over delicious desserts on the terrace, enjoy the view , the swimming-pool, and the soon-to-be-opened new Yoga Spa, discreetly hidden in the beautiful grounds. I have been here before and never want to leave, and always want to return, for longer. Heaven !

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Hi Kris
Many thanks for your kind words. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves. I wish you happy and safe travels in your remaining travels and please know you are always welcome back at Strathisla Bungalow.
Best regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie G
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic jewel of a find!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I can not recommend Strathisla enough. Peter and Moselle are wonderful hosts! Priya's cooking is amazing and JKo is a fantastic tour guide. It's off the beaten track which is what makes it so special. However, there are plenty of adventures to be had close by! We had 3 young children with us and they just loved it! We will be back x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Hi Kellie
Thank you so much for your very kind words and most gratifying to hear you all enjoyed yourself so much.
You will be warmly welcomed back anytime ; until then , from all the team at Strathisla we wish you happy and safe travels ahead.
Warmest regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intrepid...
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb Tea Estate Accommodation in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is BY FAR the best place we stayed at in all of Sri Lanka and BY FAR where we had the best food in all of Sri Lanka. I would strongly recommend staying here. This is a beautifully restored tea estate bungalow accommodation just outside Matale Sri Lanka. Set amongst the hills and tea estates, with breathtaking views, it is just magical to be at this serene and beautiful location. The food cooked by Priya is delicious and the best food we had in the whole of Sri Lanka. Freshly cooked to your liking and extremely delicious. JKo, the manager of the property bent over backwards to make sure our stay was exceptional and his hospitality was very much appreciated. He took us on a very fascinating and informative walk around the tea estate and local villages where we learnt about the local spices and fruit that go into the beautiful cuisine of Sri Lanka. The living areas are wonderfully restored with comfortable and tastefully selected furniture and décor. Hosts Peter and Mozelle are a wealth of knowledge of the local area and surrounds and we are extremely grateful for their hospitality. I strongly recommend staying here. It is a true gem in a paradise location. Thankyou so much for making our visit to Sri Lanka so wonderfully memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Hi Intrepid Pixie
Many thanks for the wonderful review and great to hear you enjoyed yourselves so much.
It was our absolute pleasure to host you and your dad.
From all of us here at Strath, we wish you both the safest and happiest travels in the future.
You are welcome back anytime!
All the best and warmest regards
Peter, Mozelle, Paddy n Scaletta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilln422
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely people, stunning location, delicious food and very comfortable. A true oasis.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A wonderful stay - only downside was that it was so short. We even had a. Interesting and informative walk and exploration of the local area organised by the charming owners. Would definitely visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Hi Gillian
Many thanks for your kind words; we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
From all the team at Strathisla, happy travels and please come again!
Best regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianna82
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My family and I stayed at Strathisla in May 2016 where we had the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. The hosts were incredible and provided us with a wonderful atmosphere and incredible food which we believe was the best we had on the whole island. The estate and surroundings are full of history. We found ourselves relaxing whilst taking in the culture and tranquility that the island has to offer. I would definitely recommend for anyone who wants to experience the real Sri Lanka, full of culture, history and beautiful nature. I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Hi Brianna
From all the team at Strathisla Bungalow thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
You are welcome back anytime!
Best regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing