We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, calm, good food and beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Strathisla Tea estate Guesthouse poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strathisla Tea estate Guesthouse poolside
Strathisla tea estate bungalow Strathisla - Matale tea estate Sri lanka
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Strathisla Tea estate Guesthouse poolside
Strathisla tea estate bungalow
Strathisla - Matale tea estate Sri lanka
Strathisla verandah
Strathisla tea estate bungalow interior
Strathisla bungalow - view from front entrance
Suriya room 4 poster bed
Salmal room
Suriya room ensuite
Tea estate tour, Strathisla estate Sri Lanka
Strathisla Sunset
Local waterhole
Knuckles range
Historic Kandy town
Pinnewala elephant orphanage
Giant sleeping Buddha, Polonnaruwa
Langur mother and baby
Elephant riding in Kandelama Lake
Castlereagh Lake
Local temple
Local 'weigh in' of tea
Dambulla Rock Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
stefan s
1 review
“Quiet, calm, good food and beautiful”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for two days in middle of march 2016. We liked it a lot. Friendly and helpful staff.
Nice surroundings and we went on a walk around the area which was really interesting. Worth doing whilst being there. It is located a bit away from both Matale and Kandy so its worth having a driver and car.
There is a swimmingpool which was appreciated by our children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Hi Stefan
Many thanks for the kind words and safe travels to you and all your family
Best regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L
1 review
“Fantastic oasis with great hosts”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed 2 nights in the tea estate and only wished we would have stayed longer. It is a little remote but worth the trip with splendid views, genuine character and very friendly, service minded hosts. It was a very personal experience and the food was some of the best on our trip, hearty home cooking - we recommend going vegetarian.

Highly recommended for an escape to the country away from hustle and bustle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L
Hyeres, France
1 review
“Exactly as hoped for.”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Strathisla Guest House is the perfect place to stay whether you're looking for tranquillity or a central base. A beautiful house full of old world charm, superb views of the surrounding countryside, inviting swimming pool, great food and extremely friendly hosts. We'd certainly chose to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The situation.
Liked least: The time taken to get to Kandy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Hi Martin
Many thanks for your kinds words.
It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to the day when you can return to Strathilsa Bungalow. (hopefully the road will be completed by then :-)
Best regards
Jkumar, Priya and Peter
(
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aU8721SH
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Strathisla should not be missed!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a lovely holiday week at this incredible villa- all 12 of us, grandparents, grandkids... the whole lot ! From the minute we arrived, to the time that we left, we were so well taken care of by our host family. Food was fantastic- the best we had during our whole time in Sri Lanka.This was definitely the high point of our Sri Lankan trip. Don't miss it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention and care we received while we were there.
Liked least: Nothing to add here!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Hi Ana
Many thanks for the wonderful review; we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.
From all the team at Strathisla we wish you happy travels ahead.
Best regards
Priya, Jko and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiga_11
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery, fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our family spent 5 nights here and truly enjoyed everything about it. Kumar is a very congenial host who ensures that guests are comfortable, well informed and happy. Priya his wife is an amazing cook and we enjoyed her food immensely - she was even able to accommodate our very fussy 11 year old with fish fingers and pasta. We especially enjoyed the chicken and vegetable curries. The other staff also ensured that we were well supplied with tea and coffee throughout the day.
We had plans prior to arriving of doing day trips around the area but we found it hard some days to leave the beautiful estate.
Our room was large and comfortable and easily accommodated our family of 4. Highly recommended
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The wide verandah and views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Hi Tracie, many thanks for you very kind words; I know Jko and Priya and their 2 kids enjoyed having you stay with us.
All the best with the rest of your travels and you are welcome back any time
Warmest regards from all the team at Strathisla
Priya, Jko, Shailee and Hareen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing