We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extraordinarily Lovely Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun... Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun...
Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Artwork alongside the double doors - one of the owner's own mosaics.
The owners coastal themed silk paintings and appliqued cushions add Cornish flavour
Comfort in style. High quality Jonh Lewis cotton sheets and duvet covers. Melin Tregwynt blanket.
Relax, put your feet up, and watch TV.  WiFi available.
Settle back into the hand-made cushions...
...and read a book or two.
New, well equipped modern kitchen with granite work surfaces, electric oven, induction hob.
Shaker style shelf storage
Cornish studio pottery mugs.  We source things locally wherever possible.
Essential supplies readily to hand
Dualit toaster and fast boil kettle. Unique, hand made, original fused glass splashback.
Shaker style dining.
Home made bread and Cornish Yarg cheese go VERY well with a glass of wine
Bathroom, with more original artwork, has a toilet, sink and shower. Quality toiletries provided.
Pebble mosaic provides a coastal twist.
Take it easy in the Cornish sun...
...and enjoy a cool drink in the garden.
The spectacular West Penwith Coast near Land's End, only 10 minutes drive away.
Porth Nanven - Cot Valley, one of West Penwith's hidden gems.  A haven for Choughs and seals.
Sennen Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Noelle P
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My friend and I rented this little cottage for a 4-day getaway to Cornwall and couldn't have been more delighted with it. It's meticulously clean, well designed and has lots of personal touches as design elements. Some of the owner's silk paintings hang on the walls, one of her mosaic designs is on the outside wall while stoneware mugs and slate coasters are ready for your use and are clearly from Cornwall. It's very beautiful and peaceful, and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. I'd say they really were the star of our stay. Rick even helped me reverse out of the driveway! Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing owners and their coffee mugs.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
We are delighted that you had a good stay here in the Cot Valley. The tranquillity is precisely why we chose to live here. The nearby coves, beaches and cliffs and the quality of the light are what inspires Cornish artists and potters, and Chris is no exception. The silk paintings are influenced by the colours and textures of rocks, sand, seaweed and flowers. I'm pleased you appreciated the art work, but sorry that we ran out of time to fit in a silk-painting session or two for you. I'm sure if you come again we can sort that out. The mugs are Cornish "studio pottery" by various potters in the Leach (St Ives) style. P.S. Your reversing was impeccable - well done!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sk1232015
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply idyllic!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Can't recommend this place enough! Such a wonderfully relaxing space with lovely personal touches, such as the artwork and homemade bread. Rick and Chris are such warm and hospitable hosts and have thought every single detail through - the end result is stunning. Looking forward to visiting again to enjoy the Barn and explore more of this beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. You are right, it is such a tranquil spot. That is why we love living here too. The home-made bread seems to be making a big impression as several guests have commented on it (or maybe they are just being polite and don't want to upset the cook!). Chris's artwork is also much admired and adds a splash of colour to the place, both inside and out. I'm glad you liked it. Do come and see us again, we'd love to see you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astenBost...
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly perfect!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A truly perfect place: beautiful location just outside St. Just (in a lush, shallow valley in the midst of characteristic West Penwith landscape, (pre)historic sites nearby), surrounded by pretty gardens, cozy apartment in a converted barn, tastefully appointed with great attention to detail, most kind and knowledgeable owners who make you feel welcome from the first moment (the loaf of homemade bread and Cornish cheese were extra treats).
Ideal for exploring West Penwith (we particularly liked the ready-to-go daysack & map).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
We are so lucky to live where we do and are delighted to be able to offer the opportunity for others to share it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here, and glad that you had chance to walk some of the stunning coastal path and take in some of the historic sites of the area. As you say, there is so much to do in this corner of Cornwall, whatever your age and whatever your interests. Thank you for your kind comments about the accommodation. Glad the daysack came in handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan8...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was gorgeous. Rick & Chris are extremely helpful and will do anything to make your stay even more comfortable. Nothing is to hard for them.
We were welcomed with home made bread and locally sourced cheese and butter which is a a lovely touch. The barn is located in stunning scenery, so peaceful and extremely private. Not far from St Just, Lands End, Penzance and a nice drive to St Ives. Perfect if you want to cycle around the local area. We would love to stay here again, it is such a lovely, well thought out holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
It was a privilege to have you here for your honeymoon. We enjoyed your cheerful company and we are delighted that the barn, the area, and the weather lived up to expectations. I'm glad you managed to sample the delights of Lil's chippy, and cycle that stunning coast road from St Just to St Ives. It will be a pleasure to see you down here again. You will always be welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, stylish cottage offering everything you need in great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Rick and Chris were the best hosts you could wish for - I exchanged several emails with Rick straight after we booked and he gave me great advice on activities and places to visit and offered to accommodate all of our needs. The cottage is decorated in such a lovely style and all the fixtures and fittings were of really high quality. It was lovely and remote but in a great location to explore West Cornwall. Thank you for helping us to have such a relaxing break!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
I'm pleased that you had a good break here in wild west, and glad that the 'local knowledge' helped you to plan and enjoy your time. We were only too happy to help. Thank you for your kind comments about the barn. When the busy season eases, Chris and I are going to have a few days off and stay there ourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing