We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cornwall at its Very Best”
other travellers have booked this property
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun... Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun...
Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Artwork alongside the double doors - one of the owner's own mosaics.
The owners coastal themed silk paintings and appliqued cushions add Cornish flavour
Comfort in style. High quality Jonh Lewis cotton sheets and duvet covers. Melin Tregwynt blanket.
Relax, put your feet up, and watch TV.  WiFi available.
Settle back into the hand-made cushions...
...and read a book or two.
New, well equipped modern kitchen with granite work surfaces, electric oven, induction hob.
Shaker style shelf storage
Cornish studio pottery mugs.  We source things locally wherever possible.
Essential supplies readily to hand
Dualit toaster and fast boil kettle. Unique, hand made, original fused glass splashback.
Shaker style dining.
Home made bread and Cornish Yarg cheese go VERY well with a glass of wine
Bathroom, with more original artwork, has a toilet, sink and shower. Quality toiletries provided.
Pebble mosaic provides a coastal twist.
Take it easy in the Cornish sun...
...and enjoy a cool drink in the garden.
The spectacular West Penwith Coast near Land's End, only 10 minutes drive away.
Porth Nanven - Cot Valley, one of West Penwith's hidden gems.  A haven for Choughs and seals.
Sennen Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil M
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cornwall at its Very Best”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As a last minute decision to get away for a few days to enjoy the beautiful views and beaches of Cornwall we decided to try a holiday rental instead of a hotel, in the hunt for tranquillity..did we find it..,most definitely YES...Crugkern barn is off the beaten track yet close to a small village so the balance is perfect for those wanting to get away from the madding crowds of the seaside attractions..Rick has done an amazing job with the whole design and built...equally Chris has decorated and carefully thought about each and every item and has not missed anything that you could possibly need to make you stay as comfortable and as relaxing as possible...
The garden was beautiful and everywhere you look there is a burst of colour and plenty of wildlife.. "I really enjoyed the tour"..at the back of the barn is a garden shed that accommodates a BBQ ,charcoal etc ..a table and chairs outside the barn and a couple of loungers in a private garden were perfect to be able to sit out after a long day sightseeing and beachcombing with a bottle of wine listening to the sound of silence with a little bird song thrown in.
The bed was very comfortable and the duvet and pillows like a big marshmallow very nice..
The wifi worked better than expected so we were able to keep up to date with the grown up children house sitting!!.. which is very reassuring.
The bathroom was light, warm and again had everything you need including lovely thick soft towels and toiletries.
The kitchen area has been very thoughtfully stocked and all decorated to a very high standard..Rick even made his own bread which was there waiting for us on arrival, along with a piece of Cornish cheese and butter, which we really enjoyed..Thank You
I can usually find fault when it comes to cleanliness but NOT on this occasion it was immaculate..
Rick and Chris are great hosts and couldn't do enough during our stay to help out with anything we might have needed..it was so nice to meet such lovely people that have thrown their heart and soul into making a beautiful little peace of Cornwall somewhere to call home while you stay..Fabulous

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: that i couldnt take it with me
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
I am glad your "leap of faith" in choosing a holiday rental rather than a hotel paid off, and you enjoyed the peace and quiet which Crugkern Barn offers. Thank you for your kind comments about the accommodation and facilities. Having used self-catering holiday rentals ourselves for many years, we thought carefully about what our guests may like and tried to combine all the best bits from places we have been in the past into one barn conversion. The home-made bread and Cornish "Yarg" cheese seem to be a great hit with our visitors. I'm glad you enjoyed them too.
It is helpful us living near the barn as it means we can be on hand to advise on places to go, things to do, and offer a bit of "local knowledge" to help guests plan their days if needed.
Do come and see us again - we'd love to see you. Rick and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark K
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place. Wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We hoped for a relaxing getaway away from the stresses of modern life. We weren't disappointed. As soon as we crossed the clear running stream that ran through the property they had us at 'hello.' Set in beautifully landscaped gardens, tending lovingly by Rick, the owner, with bird feeder attracting the moorland birds we couldn't have asked for a better setting to watch the natural world go by. The barn is thoughtfully set out by Rick and Chris who have taken great care in offering all the amenities they could think of, down to water drawn from a local well. Chris' artwork adorns the outside of the barn and gives it a unique flavour.
The coast path is a 20 minute walk away and equipped with OS map and rucksack provided by the owners it was easy to explore. Rick and Chris are experienced walkers and offered some great advice about where to walk and also some marvellous places to eat and drink along the coastal road.
If you are looking for sea and surf in a tranquil moorland setting. Crugkern barn may be a perfect fit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. Like you, we love the tranquility which the setting provides, and the range of opportunities which the local area offers. Walked the coast to St Ives yesterday, had lunch and an ice cream, and ambled back to the car. Super day. The garden is looking great at the moment, after a decent splash of overnight rain the other day and the bright sunshine now. Come and visit us again. We'd love to see you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksy42...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for anything more!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just arrived back home after what could be described as the most perfect few days getaway to beautiful Cornwall! Crugkern Barn is set in a stunning remote valley amongst gorgeous gardens with its own running stream.

Rick and Chris are the most wonderful hosts, and we arrived to freshly baked bread and local cheese, butter and milk which was just what we needed after our long car journey! The accommodation was immaculate and kitted out with luxurious towels, bedding and decor. Our hosts really did think of everything - a walking backpack with map, rug, picnic containers and coffee flask, a BBQ, a tub and hangers for our wetsuits, all the basic kitchen amenities... the list goes on.

The location of the barn is perfect if you'd like to explore the Cornish coast, we enjoyed some great walks and the local surf is only 10 minutes away. It is a 15 minute walk into the lovely village of St Just which has bus services to St Ives, Land's End and Penzance, stopping off at all the local attractions if you'd like a day off from the car.

We really couldn't have asked for anything more during our stay and recommend Crugkern Barn to anyone who fancies a peaceful getaway to Cornwall.

Thanks again to Rick and Chris for all their help!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Crugkern Barn and managed to make the most of what the area has to offer. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your cheerful company. Glad you enjoyed the bread and cheese!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat and getaway from the everyday.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

As a solo traveller I wanted somewhere peaceful and relaxing whilst visiting a friend in the local area for the weekend. Crugkern Barn was everything and more and finished to a very high standard. Loved the little touches from the original artwork to the handmade cushions. Many thanks to the owners for providing me with everything I needed. I shall be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
591diane
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A quiet corner of Cornwall, a peaceful and charming hide-a-way ideally located for the coast.”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Having stayed at Crugkern Barn we found it the perfect get away- with its unique charm and tasteful decoration we found it to be just perfect for the two of us.
Located in beautiful countryside with cliff-top walks near by.
Hosts were charming and very knowledgeable about local points of interest and suggested some breathtaking vantage points of the coast.
Thank you so much for a wonderful visit.
We hope to come back for another visit soon.
Diane and Ian Davies

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing