We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay, lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rustic Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

792AnnaC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stay, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were a group of 3 friends so this was perfect for us. It would have been ok for 4 but 2 would have to share a double. The cottage was really cosy and very well appointed with a great shower. Nice pub less than 5 minutes walk and good access to Derbyshire walks. Overall really pleased with our stay. Only drawback was that the key box was hard to find when arriving in the dark.

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thanks for the great feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Eastleigh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

A lovely cottage ideal for 4 with two dogs. We had the snow so once we got into the village we walked most places which was easy to do. Bakewell is only 40 mins walk in thick snow! A cosy and warm cottage with good Wi-Fi and very comfy sofas and a great view from the dining room and lounge. Dogs and teenagers appreciated the peace and quiet. Very welcoming village and Monsal Head is well worth a trip. Easy to book and great communications the whole way through.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel , decor and location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thanks for the great review and please do visit us again soon......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing home from home cottage in a beautiful countryside location”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Rustic Barn from Friday evening to Sunday, the cottage is located in a beautiful village with stunning walks a couple of minutes walk. There are plenty of places to explore a short distance away including Monsal Head.
The cottage is cosy and everything you want in the rural Peak District including wifi and freeview so wife could keep up with the X Factor.
The furniture is all rustic as the name of the cottage suggests and sitting outside in the evening in the court yard you can lose yourself in the peace and tranquility.
A must visit to Youlgreave George pub, the food is amazing.
The bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable and we had one of the best nights sleep.
We will definitely be booking this cottage again and bringing our two children with us, most definitely for our summer holidays.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy and the location of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for a great review and look forward to seeing you again soon. I agree by the way. The food in the George is fantastic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djcj
Ohope, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Be prepared to take the essentials.....”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned home after a week at Rustic Barn with our daughter, son in law and 'gran'. The cottage was clean and warm with good quality furniture and very comfortable. It was also very quiet apart form one night when we were disturbed by a taxi unloading in the courtyard in the early hours. All appliances were in good working order and the wifi worked as well. It was a good base for walking and we even managed a day at Alton Towers. The pub in the village was a definite plus after our walks.

Bathrooms were good but could be improved on with towel rails and clothes hooks. The jacuzzi style bath wasn't working so could only be used as a normal bath. The shower had good pressure but quite narrow and could do with a new screen as it was difficult to prevent water spilling on to the bathroom floor.

In our opinion the property is a little cramped for 5 adults.

The kitchen is well fitted with a large fridge freezer but really only big enough for 1 person to work in and the dining area just seats 5 but not comfortably having 2 chairs and a bench seat for the remaining 3 people. There was only sufficient crockery and cutlery for 5 so we ended up using the plentiful supply of plastic child plates, bowls and cutlery when we had a guest visit.

The lounge seating is comfortable for 4 people but would benefit from the addition of an armchair instead of the wooden rocking chair.

The main bedroom is large but just wish the mattress had been more comfortable and the bed a bit bigger. The second bedroom is adequate but a bit cramped and the single bedroom is very small.

You can't park your car in the courtyard except for unloading and then it was a bit of a walk to the front door with bags etc. The car parking is behind 2 cottages across the road and first impressions were of a dog kennel and dog muck but we were assured that everyone parks there.

There isn't really anywhere to sit outside except for a couple of garden chairs and table. We didn't have the weather for relaxing outside so it wasn't a problem to us. There is nowhere to hang out clothes but we used the washer dryer so managed ok.

All in all it was good value for what we paid but we were disappointed to have been left no basic provisions like washing powder, dishwasher tabs, hand wash, coffee, pepper etc. This was our first experience of this type of holiday but we had expected the basic essentials for a first night to be provided. We also had to provide our own towels.

Some of the photos on web sites advertising this property are a bit misleading particularly the view from the kitchen window. One photo I have seen must have been taken from the roof because it couldn't have been taken from the window in the blocked off door at the rear of the kitchen which does look out across the road to a field gate at the rear of the property but not from the angle in the photo.

Sent from my iPad

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lacking basic kitchen and bathroom essentials
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again soon and will take a look at some of the suggestions you made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minou468
Lesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at Rustic Barn”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property is comfortable enough despite lacking a few "finishing touches" like towel rail in the bathrooms or anything to hang your towels or clothes on. The kitchen and dining room are quite small and more suitable for a family of 4 (young children) rather than 4 adults. Having said that, we managed fine. The location is the best feature, pleasant courtyard which was quiet when we were there and the village is delightful, lovely houses and a pub/hotel with great views. We had a lovely walk by the river. Bakewell is only 2 or 3 miles away, convenient for shopping. We did not meet the owner but we could have rung him/her if needed.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Thank you for your feedback. There is a towel rail in the downstairs bathroom but not currently in the upstairs one which we will look into. The kitchen/dining room is being extended slightly in October but I will add that you had 6 people staying in the cottage and we only recommend a maximum of 5 including children. Saying that, we are a family of 6 and all manage comfortably. I'm glad you enjoyed Over Haddon and the surrounding area. You are right it is beautiful. I will also add, that where possible, as we did for you, we will allow guests access to the cottage as early as possible on the day of arrival and as late as possible when leaving. This isn't always possible especially when we have a change over on the same day but we always try to be as flexible as we can. We hope to see you back in Over Haddon soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.