We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarrassing and poor customer service”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Toddington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Cotswold Inn serving home-made food and Donnington ales.The Pheasant Inn is situated in the small village of Toddington, in the heart of the countryside. Surrounded with country views and wildlife it is the perfect place for long walks or rest and relaxation. We are also located next door to the GWR railway and must visit for families and railway buffs!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today whilst eating at the Pheasant Inn, Toddington we were sat next to a pleasant family who we got talking to, who were eating out whilst visiting the area for a holiday. We are local to the area, and on occasion have visited this pub for food; however after today we will not be returning based on the embarrassing and unnecessary stand off made by the ‘land lady’ and chef; over a salty pie of all things!
One of the group sat next to us had made a very polite, quiet and justified complaint about a pie, which she did not eat as it was too salty, simply asking for it to be removed from the bill. Instead of discreetly tending to this, it led to a very public and embarrassing, loud stand off in front of the whole place.
In the food trade it is not advisable to provoke paying customers who have every right to complain. This just confirmed for us that that staff are rude, uncaring and arrogant to the point that they will publicly shout down customers who have the courage to find fault with poor food and even worse customer service. Avoid, there are much better places to eat! We will not be back.

2  Thank cotswolder72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PheasantOwner, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Writing a response pretending to be a third party is very imaginative I'll give you that. Shame tables around you were regulars on this occasion!
For the purpose of others reading this false review... yes we did have an issue with a customer but due to their behaviour towards staff these 2 individuals were asked to leave not to return to the premises. We do not tolerate abusive behaviour even if you are a customer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Saturday night. Pub crammed full and tables being turned. Staff so busy that they lacked personal attention. All very off-pat. We were pointed to our table, were not told to order at the bar and still don't know if there were any specials. Asked for some table water but told we had to get this from the bar!
Very noisey environment and table placement was awkward as if we had been crammed in.
Notice on table warns that food may take upto 40 mins when busy. Ours took 50 minutes and when chased was met with a very rehearsed response.
Food, when it came was good. Hot, generous and good value.
First time visit. Pub was just too busy and we felt they couldn't cope effectively with the numbers. We left feeling we had had a good meal but had not had any personal attention. Won't be rushing back.

1  Thank themoles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PheasantOwner, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

We pride ourselves on our freshly cooked homemade food in a friendly pub environment. This is reflected by our many reviews commenting on our friendly staff and service and we are very proud of this. Might I suggest opting for a fine dining restaurant if it is one to one table service you were after. Surely, a busy pub is a good one?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We always come here for food it's our first priority! They always find us a table and look after us so well. Can't rate this place enough xx

Thank 12 356 780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We arrive do late due to the train being late but we were welcomed and seated straight away. The food was excellent and good portions.
And despite how busy the pub was all the staff had a smile and nothing seemed too much trouble.
And I could see many other great plates of good being delivered in a similar manner.
A great way to end our day out.
Highly recommended

Thank mil427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

decided to take friends after a good meal and service last time so booked a table and on arriving found out that they hadn't wrote the booking down so no table had been reserved for us which found very embarrassing they did make the effort to find a table for us and the food was good but put us off booking a table there again so not been since

1  Thank mickm0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PheasantOwner, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

I can assure you we rarely have issues with bookings. I can only assume you had the wrong "pheasant Inn" as there was no other booking taken on a different day/week with your details.
Nonetheless you didn't wait for a table as I went out of my way to move tables around to fit you in (on a saturday night!) so I find it surprising how this would influence your decision not to come again. I would like to think that all our customers, new and regular would agree we are very accommodating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 
Temple Guiting, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing