We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting”

De Grendel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Plattekloof
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: De Grendel Wine Estate is home to the award-winning De Grendel Restaurant where the Graaff family’s passion for winemaking extends to the philosophy they employ at the estate’s restaurant: the use of in-season and locally sourced fresh produce, and a menu that is updated regularly, reflecting the unique culinary heritage of the Cape and created with complementary De Grendel wines in mind.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We only did the the wine tasting and had a snack platter. But the wines are excellent and the staff very friendly and informative. Must do for sure!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Freedom743837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Extremely impressive all around experience..
Food was as good as it gets
Service was impeccable
The view is extraordinary
Will definitely be back

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank travelerNYC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2020 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch at De Grendel to celebrate family birthdays. Opted for 3 course set menu and what a treat!
Unpretentious fine dining. Varied menu, superb quality and beautifully presented.
Staff friendly, helpful and very knowledgable.
We visited on a cloudy day, but on a sunny day you will have an amazing view towards Cape Town.
Can't wait to return.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank chuck-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2020 via mobile

Quite a long drive up to the restaurant. We had the option of selecting a 6.00pm slot or the 8.00pm option, and decided on 8.00pm. The reason was that the kitchen would be able to space their load. We arrived at 7.45pm and found the restaurant already full, but our table was reserved. It is a set menu system with generous options per course. The variety was well selected and I think there was something for everyone. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent. However, as we were the last to arrive, despite the 8.00pm slot we were left waiting for 40 minutes before anything arrived, which was too long and a disappointment. It also made our evening very long. Service was attentive but full of excuses. Also there was only one male/female cloakroom nearby which was continually occupied and we were not directed to a larger cloakroom along the passage, which we only discovered when leaving.

Date of visit: May 2020
3  Thank Aeraille
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

We had lunch here on a Thursday and had a table in the conservatory area with fabulous views of the estate and Table Mountain. The location is lovely and the surroundings of the restaurant are very nice.

We had the Tuesday-Thursday set menu which was excellent value. There were good choices and the food quality was absolutely fantastic. It was perfectly presented and completely and utterly delicious. In particular the clam starter, the duck and the Valrhona chocolate mousse were wonderful. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and Justice was extremely efficient, helpful and friendly. We had a great bottle of wine - Koetshuis Sauvignon Blanc 2019. It is one of the best meals I have ever had.

The rest of the public areas, the reception, toilets etc were all nice and when you walked to the restaurant you could see the cellars where the wine was created. The gardens were nice and there was plenty of parking.

I would love to come back here one day for another delightful lunch. I strongly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed De Grendel Restaurant also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to De Grendel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.