We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for two”

De Grendel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Plattekloof
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: De Grendel Wine Estate is home to the award-winning De Grendel Restaurant where the Graaff family’s passion for winemaking extends to the philosophy they employ at the estate’s restaurant: the use of in-season and locally sourced fresh produce, and a menu that is updated regularly, reflecting the unique culinary heritage of the Cape and created with complementary De Grendel wines in mind.
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

A fabulous three course meal in beautiful surroundings with knowledgeable and attentive staff. The whole dining experience was first class.

Thank R8179UImikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGRestaurant, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great dining experience with us. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.
Kind regards, The De Grendel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

De Grendel has a winter special for lunch during the week,which includes wine pairing. The service was excellent and the food too. The portions were generous and the wine was superb. The views of table mountain makes this venue great on a sunny day. One can do wine tasting too and they do have cheese platters if you just want something lite.
Was a truly tasteful experience and I will recommend it as a great place with great food.

1  Thank Springbokkieno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGRestaurant, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for the beautiful review, we are glad to hear that you had a awesome experience with us. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards, The De Grendel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I was there in early June on a photography tour as the estate was so beautiful, we arrived and decided to go to the restaurant for a coffee first before our photo tour. The first fellow took our order and went back in only to have lady come out and tell us we could not have the drinks we ordered as we must order food in order to have the drinks. Her attitude was bad so we said forget it and left the estate totally disgusted. Will never recommend this estate and the way they treat a Canadian photographer!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGRestaurant, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to voice your bad experience at De Grendel. On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience. We gladly accommodate photographers who would like to document our beautiful farm but because of obvious security reasons, this documentation needs to be approved by senior management in advance, more importantly it allows us the opportunity to help the documentation by arranging an extensive informative tour of the estate.

Once again we would like to apologize for your very disappointing experience. We only serve lunch and dinner at our restaurant, we do not serve drinks only at the restaurant. We are very proud of our restaurant, all our staff are well trained and for you to feel that one of our staff members treated you with disrespect is unacceptable, we will investigate this and make sure that this does not happen again. We hope that you will visit us soon again in the near future to change this experience into a positive one.
Kindest Regards, The De Grendel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is rated one of the top restaurants with a cuisine of flavours and dishes to tantalize your taste buds. All beautifully presented and each dish paired with the accompanying wine recommended for that dish. A must try and ..... you will not be disappointed.. enjoy each delectable dish and display inviting to the eyes and taste buds to feast on

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vallerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGRestaurant, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much for this awesome review, we are thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us. We are looking forward to many more visits from you.
Best Regards, The De Grendel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit and am once again blown away! The food is an experience. Flavours, presentation and tastes are so carefully considered which makes this a very special treat. The staff are knowledgeable and the service is top notch. I can highly recommend this restaurant to anybody who enjoys food. The view overlooking the mountain and city adds to the ambience of this awesome place. Go there, you won’t regret it!!

1  Thank MelSauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Grendel Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to De Grendel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing