We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning colonial house and period designed interior, with staff who care for your welfare and happy stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 8 January 2016

If you are looking for a stay which is not only hidden in a beautiful lush garden setting with secret gardens, clipped hedges, fragrantly scented shrubs and flowers, water features, two swimming pools, a conservatory for your private use, professional staff who not only work well in their team but who genuinely respond to your every needs with such friendliness and compassion that you will forget that you have only just met them! Privacy, companionship and socialising with 'like minded visitors' go hand in hand to make this little gem of tranquility and hospitality which I sincerely recommend for anyone's stay in Cape Town. Transport and accessibility are also not a problem.

Room Tip: Request your preference for satisfaction as it is personal to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Challenge888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2016

Highlands was built 115 years ago, and a stay there provides one with a glimpse into its exquisite colonial past. Although well maintained, this grand old lady does show a few cracks here and there: a chipped gable, the odd broken roof tile, but they mostly just add to the charm. Our room (Room 1) was spacious and airy, and the bathroom very bright. (I noticed the electrical connection to the television in our room was just taped on, which is a bit of a fire concern.) The bed was large and comfortable, with plump down pillows. Sound from other guests did travel through into our room, but it wasn't excessive and didn't keep us awake.

Although all staff members were friendly, special mention must be made of Monica, who served our breakfasts. She went out of her way to see to our needs, always with a cheerful smile. We didn't have dinner there, but the breakfasts were tasty, and Jane provided an absolute smorgasbord on Christmas day.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rossj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

I visited the Highlands earlier this month with my dad. He was traveling to Cape Town on business, and I had always wanted to visit, so tagged along for this trip. This was my first visit to Cape Town and first stay at the Highlands, but my dad had stayed there in the past.
The staff are all very service oriented, and wonderful. Everyone smiles and is helpful. The property is lovely. The gardens are beautiful and there are two pools. The location is not far from Cape Town attractions. The breakfast table was set out every morning with a variety of foods, and we could order eggs and bacon in addition.

I would definitely recommend the Highlands.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T7268KEjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This is such a gorgeous place to stay in Cape Town. Big beautifully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms, elegant living rooms and a stunning garden. The staff are incredibly helpful, and even set up an area for my husband to have a business meeting one day last week. It is situated in a fashionable and convenient part of Cape Town and we simply loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GEMJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Had a good stay at Highlands. The room and bed are large and comfortable. I had a terrace which was a nice touch. It is a house, so sound proofing is not great within the house, but I wasn't disturbed during the night, so it wasn't a problem. If you want to explore the area I would suggest a car. There was no chef on the week I stayed which wasn't a problem, we knew in advance, so I can't comment on the food. Overall as far as the room and service goes it was good.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annasJ5713FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
2,1 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1 379 reviews
2,7 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
454 reviews
9 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,2 km away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
202 reviews
2,1 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
210 reviews
9,2 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: R1 752 - R3 505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing