We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loss of confidence...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We made a quite bad experience with this hotel, which calls itself a 5-star hotel. We only stayed there for a night, in the gable room. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with a nice garden. The interior is not very clean and the SPA was not working when we were there.

The problem we had, was with the cabs they arranged for us. We could have called cab companies by ourselves but trusted in the 5-star hotel. The first time was for dinner - the cab arrived 25 minutes to late, the car was nearly falling apart and quite disgusting in the interior.
We then asked them to cancel the cab from the same company (cabs-on-call) for the next morning when we would be going to the airport and asked them to call "unicab" which we trust a lot more. The next morning to our surprise it was again the cab from the same company "cabs-on-call" but the condition of the car was a lot better so we thought they had talked to them.
The driver drove a lot to quickly and after 10minutes the car broke down on the highway - because he didn't have any fuel anymore. The cab driver then tried to stop all kinds of cars for us - we asked him to call a cab as it is for sure not secure to take some car stopping on the highway for us. He then said his phone was not working anymore (what a surprise) and we had to call "unicab" with our swiss phone.
In the end we were waiting on the highway for 40minutes, nearly missed our plane and the driver even wanted us to pay.

We don't understand why they insisted on "cabs-on-call" even when we asked them for another cab company. This is not what we would expect from a 5-star hotel. We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't take the gable room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laure N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_chicken2014, Manager at Highlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Laure

I am so sorry you both had to experience this bad service from Cabs on Call.
We will no longer be offering their services after your experiences.
Unicab was contacted and my colleague's call was logged but the driver got lost and didn't get to the hotel until much later. Apparently the Unicab driver contacted their depot twice asking for directions.
I cant explain why Cabs on Call arrived to pick you up because my colleague also cancelled this airport transfer with them, I can only think that this message was not communicated on their side.

I am hoping you received this Email from Cabs on Call below, I told them to email you directly.
I sincerely hope that you had a fabulous holiday apart from these experiences and if you decide to visit our shores again we would like to offer you a night's complimentary stay, including breakfast.

We hope we can make this up to you.

Kindest Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2015

We had a lovely stay quiet (except for the cat trying to get in the room at 2am).
Breakfast great and the lady serving the table was lovely and chatted away to my daughter. We were following a cricket tour so very handy for the school we had to go to. Also great for Newline cricket ground if you love cricket. Restaurant recommendation was spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicolep19702015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Property a bit tired I must say.Must have been grand once upon a time.Sassy was great on arrival.When I got back from dinner around 9pm it was a struggle to gain access to the property and the next morning I had to go searching in the kitchen to find someone to cook me some eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank simong226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

It was like staying in some bodies else's rather comfortable home in the country.nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The cooking was excellent and your needs were anticipated once the staff knew you. I shall be recommending this rather special Hotel to all friends visiting Cape Town

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Although I did not stay at the hotel I attended my son's wedding there. The garden setting was perfect, as was the reception room. The luncheon was delicious and the service first class. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue for a small wedding. The bedroom for the bride and groom was huge and looked extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Surreysaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
2,1 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1 379 reviews
2,7 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
454 reviews
9 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,2 km away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
202 reviews
2,1 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
210 reviews
9,2 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: R1 752 - R3 505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing