We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer and burger✅”
Review of Banana Jam Cafe

Banana Jam Cafe
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 January 2023 via mobile

Extensive beer menu with a number of interesting IPAs brewed on the premium and good burgers are available plus what looks like a very good vegetarian option.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2022

One of the few restaurants open on a Sunday evening, and it was very good. It's also home of the Afro Caribbean Brewing Company, who brew a very wide variety of beers! While the food wasn't especially Caribbean, it was tasty and filling -- the Chicken & Chorizo Jambalaya was particularly good. The Double Citrus was perhaps too citrussy, while the Jungle Paradise West Coast IPA was great.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yycyycyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2022

If you go to a Caribbean restaurant, I assume this is to eat Caribbean food... This is what I wanted, but there are actually not that many options. The general south African dishes took over the menu (burgers, calamari or Mussels...
Having said that, the cocktail menu is quite diverse, and not too expensive.
I liked the decor and the service. More music would be great for a more Caribbean atmosphere...

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Verototoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2020 via mobile

We were so disappointed in this Terrible restaurant! We all travel to the Caribbean frequently and living in America, we have so many Caribbean restaurants that are actually good down the street. First, this place is in the middle of nowhere, its tucked beside a shopping center and there were many homeless people right outside so it was unsafe for uber drop off and pick up. Coming from America, smoking is frowned upon around other people because second hand smoke is just as harmful to people around you. We are aware that it is the culture here and I have asthma so we asked to sit inside away from the open windows by the smokers outside. They proceeded to sit us right by the open windows and we asked to move but they said no. The service was bad and we asked for water 3 times to our waiter without receiving it. We also asked the hostesses and did not receive water until after our food arrived.

So on to the food. We were super disappointed and confused why the menu did not consist of oxtails. Why would a Caribbean resturant not have oxtails? I decided to order the jerk chicken which I thought was hard to mess up. My friends ordered the beef patties and jambalaya, one friend also ordered jerk chicken with me. Literally all of our food was inedible. I don’t know how someone could make jerk chicken nasty but Banana Jam did it. The beef patties tasted like dirt and the Jambalaya was a disgrace to creole food. We were so excited to try this place and were left with disappointment after disappointment. I don’t know why the hell their are any positive reviews.

Date of visit: February 2020
4  Thank X610EFlindsaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2019 via mobile

great food, super choice of beers. Also the service was great, and the guy knows everything about the diffent beers!

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank wheely72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Banana Jam Cafe also viewed

 
Claremont, Cape Town
 

Been to Banana Jam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.