We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, eclectic spot in Obz”

A Touch of Madness Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Observatory
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Diner, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: This quirky & eclectic bar & restaurant is set in a unique Victorian house, in the center of bohemian Observatory in Cape Town. We offer a wide range of local craft beers and a good selection of wine by the glass. We serve delicious lunch and dinner - influenced by global street-food. Sip on a cappuccino in our sunny breakfast room, or enjoy a local craft beer with a burger on our veranda in the evening. Share a bottle of wine with friends in our intimate, leafy courtyard. If it's cold out, sit in a comfy armchair and relax by one of our two fireplaces with red wine and a book. We are passionate about environmental sustainability and offer vegetarian and vegan options.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Went for dinner last night - wouldn't rate the food as top-notch, but recommend going at least once to experience the vibe and feel of this once Victorian house. Decor is such a mix of really old, slightly out-of-date and somewhat funky! Staff were great - bartender super friendly and our water, Leslie, very on the ball. The bonus is that there was Irish music (live 5-person group) in the bar - and my guy is Irish so he was thrilled! The music added a great touch and the outdoor courtyard seating was spot-on for a summer's evening (they also have a few tables on the veranda as well as front area). Pricing is very reasonable and an added bonus is that you can BYOB & pay corkage.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Talana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atouchofmadness_obs, Owner at A Touch of Madness Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thanks for your review Talana, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

We landed in Cape Town on a Friday night ready to eat, so we looked at a few restaurant reviews from our AirBnB in Observatory and decided to visit A Touch of Madness based on the positive reviews. We were hoping for some authentic cuisine, but this place seemed like it would be a blast.

It was great to see the way South Africans approach "American-Style" BBQ and we enjoyed chatting with our server and seeing some of the interesting characters roaming around.

For menu items, I'd definitely recommend the chicken bunny chow- it was unlike anything I've ever eaten, and very tasty!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atouchofmadness_obs, Owner at A Touch of Madness Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your kind review Tessa and enjoy your stay in Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This so used to be an incredible place. It was eclectic, weird, interesting and a wee bit mad. As in the name. I remember winter nights in the dark, velvet clad room with the fireplace. Noisy whisky-fuelled evenings in the bar and gossipy afternoons out front. Now it feels like a domestos convention. White wood benches and Sarah Moon-esque artwork. Brilliant staff, hence the two stars.

1  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

A few years ago we visited ATOM for the first time. We could not fault them on anything, except their coffee. The ambiance, quaint. The food, epic. the dessert, homemade and delicious.

This evening we went there for our date night. The ambiance, more laidback than before but still fun. The food, flavorful, restoring the wonderful memory of our first visit sick a long time ago. The dessert, NO NO NO. Such a huge disappointment. If I wanted prepared dessert I would habe gone to SPUR, WIMPY, PANAROTTIS or the like. Such a let down to end the evening. Please, of please return to the former glory of the previous owner and make your own desserts. Put the spark back into ATOMS. Pretty please.

Thank Riccardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atouchofmadness_obs, Owner at A Touch of Madness Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Riccardo,
Thank you for your review, I'm so sorry you were disappointed by our desserts. I will chat to our chef to see if we have capacity to make our own dessert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Love this place. Great aromas as approach. Visited again recently and all our food was fantastic with large portions. We had bean nachos, chilli poppers and the falafel. Good service too. Nice courtyard. Decent vegetarian options.

Thank RoxanneCT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atouchofmadness_obs, Owner at A Touch of Madness Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thanks you for your review Roxanne, hope to see you again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Touch of Madness Restaurant also viewed

Observatory, Cape Town
Observatory, Cape Town
 
Observatory, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Observatory, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to A Touch of Madness Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing