We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
284
138
80
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
138
80
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool chalets sri lanka pigeon island an open kitchen huge room modern hotel a la carte wonderful hotel fantastic beach main building sitting area seafood off season direct access hotel beach house keeping set menu
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Like all the other hotels in Triincomalee, the Anilana is a Beach Hotel. That means no desk for the computer, no Ethernet cables, no business lounge. yes it is on a beautiful beach, has two very nice pools and there are monkeys around. But the rooms are great, the food is great the staff is great and I enjoyed my time here. Watch out for high season..... nearly all rooms in the area are taken late summer.

Room Tip: There are pool side rooms (best if you want to move back and forth to the pools or beach. There are more rooms in the main building
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank craigallenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for choosing Anilana Nilaveli for your vacation; we read your feedback with great pleasure. The appreciation of our guests for the little things that the team does makes all the hard work worthwhile. We do hope you will continue to enjoy our Sri Lankan flavors, and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

From the moment of arrival,first imressions do count,easy check-in and pleasant, warm and courteous staff all around which ofcouse one will experience in most hotels in srilanka.Apart from the few things (facilities ) negative which was experienced during the early hours of the stay was taken care of by the management during the latter part.The studio type accommodation which was allcocated for the reservation was very spacious,well furnished and clean.A special comment should be made of Indrajith the gentleman in charge of the hotel property who was very supportive and and also of Roy who went beyond our expectations with an excellent hospitable character been very attentive at all times (full house during a longweekend) and attending to all guests needs while we were witnessing one or two staff (higher grade I presume) ordering other minor staff to do certain things, these two gents,which names been mentioned above blended with the minor staff and attended to the requirements of the moment,something that we value and appreciate.humble gestures in the hospitality trade is needed tremendously as its always a team effort that brings good vibes.

Room Tip: Beach View is recommended
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SumaliH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for visiting Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide such a positive review. Both Indrajith and Roy are very committed to providing warm and friendly hospitality as is the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you at one of our sister hotels.

Thank you

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We had a perfect stay at Anilana! Spend 3 nights (actually 2 but we loved the place so extended our stay) there during our honeymoon trip through sri lanka.
We arrived at lunch and just booked at the same day (30 min earlier) as our actual booked hotel in nilaveli was not what it looked like...so we got a huge discount (70% off and upgrad to sea view room!). The room was amazing! Amazing and huge comfy bed, very clean, good AC, really luxury - and very important for us: no insects in the room. Food was fine and always big dishes.
The lobby was decorated very fancy and we loved the wooden furniture. The staff was extremly kind and pool area beautiful. we loved the calm beach! It‘s the perfect hotel for spending some relaxing days. You have to know that there is nothing right next to it except another hotel. But we loved it that way!
Can highly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chuliaaa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for choosing Anilana Nilaveli for your vacation, we were indeed delighted that you reached out to Anilana during your honeymoon trip. We appreciate that you have taken time to write such lovely review about the hotel and the efforts the team put into making it special.

We do wish you both the very best in the future and look forward to welcoming you once again.

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Relaxing on the nice beach was the highlight of my trip to Sri Lanka. Stayed 3 nights at Lux Suite. Overall enjoyed my stay. 5 stars - pool and beach. 3 stars - facility
Pros:
2 big pools. Almost there were no one in the pools. Just for ourselves.
Powder sand, calm beach. It was very peaceful.
Meal: Great breakfast. Generally good food. Some hit and miss.
Cons:
Lux Suite: Second floor room. Tree blocks the ocean view.
Huge room but furniture layout, decor seems being done by amateur. Sofa and chairs was dirty with stains.
Huge bathroom: Light was broken. Should have been checked by house keeping.
Staff: Nice people. They are serious and hard worker. It is a compliment. But this is a beach resort. I think more casual and smile would fit better here.
Flies and mosquito at dining area.

This could be a great 5 star hotel. If I were the owner, I would ask a good hotel management company to turn this potential gem into a real nice resort hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for the helpful comments, which we have taken very seriously.

We appreciate this very much.

Regards
Anilana


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Beautiful property and friendly staff. The service level for me was definitely lacking, even though there is a pretty huge staff. Getting people to be a bit more proactive would be great. I think this will end up being a great property, just not quite there yet!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your review, we have taken your comments relating to staff to heart and appreciate your point of view.

Thank you.

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews