We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
284
138
80
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
138
80
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool chalets sri lanka pigeon island an open kitchen huge room modern hotel a la carte wonderful hotel fantastic beach main building sitting area pool side seafood off season direct access hotel beach house keeping
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

From the moment of arrival,first imressions do count,easy check-in and pleasant, warm and courteous staff all around which ofcouse one will experience in most hotels in srilanka.Apart from the few things (facilities ) negative which was experienced during the early hours of the stay was taken care of by the management during the latter part.The studio type accommodation which was allcocated for the reservation was very spacious,well furnished and clean.A special comment should be made of Indrajith the gentleman in charge of the hotel property who was very supportive and and also of Roy who went beyond our expectations with an excellent hospitable character been very attentive at all times (full house during a longweekend) and attending to all guests needs while we were witnessing one or two staff (higher grade I presume) ordering other minor staff to do certain things, these two gents,which names been mentioned above blended with the minor staff and attended to the requirements of the moment,something that we value and appreciate.humble gestures in the hospitality trade is needed tremendously as its always a team effort that brings good vibes.

Room Tip: Beach View is recommended
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SumaliH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for visiting Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide such a positive review. Both Indrajith and Roy are very committed to providing warm and friendly hospitality as is the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you at one of our sister hotels.

Thank you

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We had a perfect stay at Anilana! Spend 3 nights (actually 2 but we loved the place so extended our stay) there during our honeymoon trip through sri lanka.
We arrived at lunch and just booked at the same day (30 min earlier) as our actual booked hotel in nilaveli was not what it looked like...so we got a huge discount (70% off and upgrad to sea view room!). The room was amazing! Amazing and huge comfy bed, very clean, good AC, really luxury - and very important for us: no insects in the room. Food was fine and always big dishes.
The lobby was decorated very fancy and we loved the wooden furniture. The staff was extremly kind and pool area beautiful. we loved the calm beach! It‘s the perfect hotel for spending some relaxing days. You have to know that there is nothing right next to it except another hotel. But we loved it that way!
Can highly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chuliaaa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for choosing Anilana Nilaveli for your vacation, we were indeed delighted that you reached out to Anilana during your honeymoon trip. We appreciate that you have taken time to write such lovely review about the hotel and the efforts the team put into making it special.

We do wish you both the very best in the future and look forward to welcoming you once again.

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Relaxing on the nice beach was the highlight of my trip to Sri Lanka. Stayed 3 nights at Lux Suite. Overall enjoyed my stay. 5 stars - pool and beach. 3 stars - facility
Pros:
2 big pools. Almost there were no one in the pools. Just for ourselves.
Powder sand, calm beach. It was very peaceful.
Meal: Great breakfast. Generally good food. Some hit and miss.
Cons:
Lux Suite: Second floor room. Tree blocks the ocean view.
Huge room but furniture layout, decor seems being done by amateur. Sofa and chairs was dirty with stains.
Huge bathroom: Light was broken. Should have been checked by house keeping.
Staff: Nice people. They are serious and hard worker. It is a compliment. But this is a beach resort. I think more casual and smile would fit better here.
Flies and mosquito at dining area.

This could be a great 5 star hotel. If I were the owner, I would ask a good hotel management company to turn this potential gem into a real nice resort hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for the helpful comments, which we have taken very seriously.

We appreciate this very much.

Regards
Anilana


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Beautiful property and friendly staff. The service level for me was definitely lacking, even though there is a pretty huge staff. Getting people to be a bit more proactive would be great. I think this will end up being a great property, just not quite there yet!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffmR7005IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your review, we have taken your comments relating to staff to heart and appreciate your point of view.

Thank you.

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

A good location and a lovely long property, with two swimming pools. Ideal location to go to Pigeon Island. Food was superb. Restaurant staff was very friendly and obliging and made us feel welcome. However the rooms were not up to standard and were dirty and not maintained. Bathroom door was broken and ceiling had ugly black patch. Had to wait one hour while they tried to repair it and was only then told it was not possible and a new room was allocated. Towels were dirty. Furniture in room was dirty and badly maintained. Food that was brought was not what was ordered; sometimes parts of the order were missing. Not many vegetarian options. In general, even though its off-season, this hotel needs to maintain standards of a 4 star. Not sure if I would recommend it to local or foreign tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RuwanthiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShemaliS, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for providing us with feedback which we always treat seriously. We were very happy to receive such favourable comments about the hotel staff, although we were not so happy to hear your comments about the rooms, bathroom door & towels, which we take very seriously and we will be looking into.

We will certainly investigate the food that was not what was ordered.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews