We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
146
203
108
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
203
108
48
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pigeon island sri lanka tv channels sea view a la carte breakfast and dinner lovely pool diving school boat ride reception area the east coast rooms are large quiet place curries patrick beach trincomalee
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel where we stayed after a couple of weeks at much more basic ackommodation in Sri Lanka.

But, our experience of the hotel and straff was ruined at the end. They wanted to overcharge us for the transport to the airport, by calling us when we sat in the car and ask for 1500 LRK more than we agreed.. We had already prepaid the driver to the hotel (by their recommendation)...

Because of this basic lack of hospitality I would never recommend this place!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Stayed here on a recent visit to Sri Lanka.

The hotel is on the beach and great location. We decided to stay here as the hotel had a diving school attached to it, overall its a good hotel but could do with a little attention in areas.

The rooms were clean and tidy but in need of a little TLC in areas. It is due to undergo some renovations.

The staff in the restaurant area work hard and are always rushing around tending to guests.

Patrick introduced himself and was a great guy, always being attentive and taking time out to chat to guests, often seems walking around and correcting things that were out of place.

The addition of the diving school is what sealed the deal for us. The dive sights are a few minutes boat trip from the beach and some amazing marine life to be seen including 4 juvenile whale sharks on our way back in.

In summery a good location and great place to chill on the beach but in need of a little TLC.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chris54Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and had a really enjoyable stay.

Reading some of the reviews on here might put some people off but it really shouldn’t. The staff at the hotel get the things that matter right.

Fantastic food

Friendly staff

The food was fantastic. Before coming to this hotel we had stayed in a five star hotel in Sigiriya and we felt the food here topped that! There were two chefs barbecuing fresh food each evening for the buffet; prawns, calamari, fish, katthu roti, hoppers, fajitas! It was so fresh and absolutely delicious. The buffet had a really good mix of classic Sri Lankan food and some more European dishes. There was an abundance of fresh fruit and salads and in addition to the artistic and beautifully presented deserts there were delicious, homely, stodgy Sri Lankan puddings on offer too.

The staff at the hotel were also incredibly helpful and kind. We had a very early checkout and the staff at the hotel insisted that we take a breakfast with us- so when we arrived in the reception area at 5.45 in the morning we were presented with a huge box of goodies to enjoy on our eight hour train journey to Columbo.

Regarding the location some of the reviews comment that the hotel is quite isolated- which it is- but that could be just what you’re looking for. A short walk up the beach will take you past other hotels where you can stop in for lunch if you fancy a change.

If you’re looking for a more lively area on the east coast then perhaps Uppavelli is somewhere to explore. We visited the beach for the day here and there was a bit more of a buzz.

We found the WiFi worked only in reception but actually if you are looking for somewhere to switch off and escape then you have come to the right place...

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank EecR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

A beautiful and quiet beach, a nice pool, friendly staff and a pool bar with friendly service during the day, also offering a nice lunch, what else do you need? Indeed, nothing! Rooms are clean, airco works perfectly and a good place to have dinner, with live cooking. The fish was really nice!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank DerPieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We didn’t stay at the hotel, but decided to visit for an evening meal. The hotel has a lovely setting and a really nice feel to it. It was also good to be able to get a gin and tonic whilst waiting for a table. The hotel offers a buffet and a BBQ outside which had some amazing fresh fish on it. All of the dishes felt really fresh and didn’t feel mass-produced. There was an amazing variety of western and Sri Lankan food. Patrick, the hotel manager, was incredibly helpful and really made us feel welcome. A great place for dinner.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews