We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite 'Rose'

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chigne, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Conor B
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I spent a week at La Huttiere and I can certainly say it was a week well spent. The ambience was peaceful and beautiful, the owner Howard was welcoming and helpful, if there was any requires. I recommend staying here and my family have already booked for next year. My children were occupied at all hours, with a pool, swing ball, swings, slide, full size table tennis, 20 acres of land and a wood walk which we walked everyday. Lastly the property is safe and away from the road.

Thank you for a lovely holiday which was better then expected, you were a lovely owner Howard and you really made us feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind remarks - glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
and we look forward to your next visit -
kindest regards
Howard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobmica
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and picturesque place.”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent half term with our family here. We spent quality time together taking long walks through the woods and bicycle rides. Went into quaint little french villages with lovely bars and restaurants where the locals were very friendly. My husband and son went fishing within a close vicinity of the gite. The gite was very clean and tidy and we received a warm welcome from the proprietor. Would highly recommend to anyone with families who wish to spend quality time with each other. We would not think twice about visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Pleased that all your family enjoyed your stay with us - you will be most welcome any time that you want to stay with us again
Many thanks for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjaneL...
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil, well equipped and generally lovely”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in August with our two children aged 5 and 9. I would highly recommend this gite to anyone really. The setting is extremely tranquil while still being just a short drive to shops and the wonderful town of Le Lude with its beautiful chateau.

The gite is one half of a converted barn, extremely comfortable with everything you might need, including towels, bed linens and every kitchen convenience. The weather was overcast when we were there but warm. Some nights were a little chilly so the electric heaters were welcome and very efficient. If you stay in winter there is a wood burning stove in the living area which I am sure would heat the place up nicely.

The living room furniture was really comfortable, unlike some gite's which look as though they have been furnished with rejects from a care home.

Howard thought of everything, there are games for the children, video's, DVD's, cd's, loads of local information leaflets and outdoor games, a small pool for kids to play in, a BBQ and lovely outdoor furniture. Loads of room for kids to safely run around, there is nowhere for them to go really so you can generally feel comfortable letting them roam the grounds. The private road to the outside world is very long so there's no danger - unless your kids are very determined, that they can wander off the property.

Two bedrooms each had their own bathrooms which was great. Showers were good and hot. The double bed probably needs a new mattress as it was a bit lumpy but the single beds were very good.

Wifi was fine although it would have been nice to use it while sitting outside. The access point is a bit weak so you can only really get a signal in the living room and upstairs to a lesser degree,

The gite has a 'quality' feel about it and it felt nice to be here. I could not recommend it highly enough either with kids or for a quiet holiday without.

TIP: There is a lovely municipal swimming pool a few miles away - if you want to use it, bring bathing caps! they won't let you in without and we could find nowhere that sold them!

Loved the Zoo, a bit pricey but worth it. Also loved the market at La Fleche, don't miss the paella they sell there. Amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summeront...
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“tranquillity”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

what an amazing little escape to the country side-- so quiet and peaceful-- just what we needed and what great hospitality from howard and Gloria-- thank you so much for such a lovely vacation - in one of the prettiest areas of france-- we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and hospitality
Liked least: beds were a little hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B
1 review
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A wonderful spot to base a holiday..a sanctuary to return to after visiting the many sites the area has to offer. Howard,the affable host is close by to offer assistance and advice,including the best selection of eggs you are likely to find anywhere. What becomes obvious,the longer you stay,is how beautifully positioned the bite is for excursions,short or long. The bite is extremely comfortable and we enjoyed cooking and feasting on the lovely local produce. The morning visit from the farm cat, the flowers and the birds created a memorable atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing