We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Food!”

The Crown Whitchurch
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT as of 14/02/2017 Everyone is welcome to come visit us for drinks or food. We have done some renovation to the inside of the pub and in the near future we willl be refurbishing other areas of the crown. Our accommodation will be reopen in march as we have some ongoing work in them at the moment. Please do check Out our Facebook page for all the latest information
Restaurant details
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT as of 14/02/2017 Everyone is welcome to come visit us for drinks or food. We have done some renovation to the inside of the pub and in the near future we willl be refurbishing other areas of the crown. Our accommodation will be reopen in march as we have some ongoing work in them at the moment. Please do check Out our Facebook page for all the latest information
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Authentic Indian Food, dine in or takeaway, the food is very good! If you are a fish eater the Jal Fish comes highly recommended....spicy so not for the faint hearted

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank desertbelleDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2018

the restaurant is situated in a pub and we had an indian meal and an english meal.whilst the food was okay,i wouldn't recommend it as a "must visit"

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mobyhumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Popped in for lunch recently, sat on the patio with lovely views over the River Wye. Ordered a fish and chips which was average and a cream tea but the scone was stale, it arrived warm as if they had tried to freshen it up but that didn't work. Disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank sharoncarpenter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Came again with friends. We all had something different off the menu and each of us said how tasty the dishes were. Not overly spiced and cooked with care. Portions were large so we were glad that we had opted to go straight to the mains. Certainly no room for desserts.
Excellent service and attention. Good beers and nice selection of gins finished the evening off nicely.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Thought we'd give the new Indian restaurant a try. Was empty other than us and lack of atmosphere probably didn't help the experience. The food was quite good, and fairly tasty, but other than to ask for our order, we were hardly spoken to. It's a shame the bar is run separately, as staff there even more surly. My first glass of wine smelled of old dishcloths and had to be replaced. Unlikely to return.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sparky0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Whitchurch also viewed

 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Crown Whitchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing