We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is the one place for peace and quality”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen / Lounge with traditional fitted units & original stone fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / Lounge with traditional fitted units & original stone fireplace
Recently renovated with traditional style kitchen and decor together with the latest mod-cons La Nichoir
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Kitchen / Lounge with traditional fitted units & original stone fireplace
Recently renovated with traditional style kitchen and decor together with the latest mod-cons
La Nichoir
Large open double bedroom with en-suite shower room & views out over the vineyards
Queen bed with high quality bedroom furniture & period features
Large modern en-suite shower room with spacious lighted cabinet
Part tiled en-suite shower room with feature biscuit brick wall
Contempory shower room with quality bathroom furnishing
Comfort and style inside La Nichoir with up-to-date entertainment & connectivity
Bedroom with beautiful views across the valley
Large private garden
Sunrise and breakfast at the Gite
Sunrise over the valley at La Calevie
Views from the vineyards above La Fonnestalve de Clos
La Nichoir faces the morning sun and makes a perfect place to take your breakfast coffee
Set in some of the most breathtaking French countryside
Stunning views from La Nichoir
View from the river boat at Bergerac
Bergerac old town with its winding cobbled streets and bustling cafes & bars
Enjoy the Purple Perigord. La Nichoir is surrounded by over 30 wine estates and chateaux's
Welcome et Bienvenue a 'La Nichoir'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pomport, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
james h
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the one place for peace and quality”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Second time we have stayed at La Nichoir and we enjoyed the 'Gite' , the company of
Andy's Mum and Dad, who looked after us on this occasion. Great place for peace and quiet and in perfect position to visit towns and villages in the Bergerac area. We hope
to return next year !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area with excellent views
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
It was really great to have you back. Thank you for your kind review and hopefully we will be there to see you next time. All the very best. Andy & Kitsana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEOZ
Maleny, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Memories of a excellent stay in a Beautiful part of Rural France.”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We wanted the best of rural France for our stay and we got it.
Andy and Kitsana were excellent hosts.
They are always available to give suggestions for day trips or restuarants to go to.
Anyone wanting great location to all Bergerac and its surrounds has to offer could only be pleased to stay at this wonderful gite..
We look forward to returning again one day,no doubt more gites will be developed by then.
So much better than your cold hotels,that is why you choose a gite style holiday.La Nichoir was a great experience to start this method of accommodation.
We felt like we got into the core of local living as we purchased local produce and used the well equipped kitchen to prepare food to accompany the fine local wines.
Markets are all around this area.All of this was well explained by Andy to maximize our stay.
This was one of the best holidays we have had ......Thanks to Andy ,Kitsana and family.
Great hosts in a great location.They are as helpful as you want them to be.
I write this to encourage any Australian travellers to give this style of holiday a go....
It is more than a holiday ....it becomes a most memorable adventure.
This was a part of a 4 week holiday driving and staying in like accommodation in rural France.
We are very pleased we choose this style of stay.......complete freedom in the real rural France.....not hotel foyers and fleeting visits.Too many individual highlights to mention.Every moment was a highlight......just waking up a deciding what is the next adventure while looking out over the beautiful surrounds enjoying your coffee in your own part of their property.
It was beyond our expectation and a lifelong memory of the rural surrounds of the beautiful Bergerac region.Thank you again Andy and Kitsana for sharing your vision and dream with us as you complete the rebuild of those other fabulous parts of your property.Keep up the good work of hosting so many very satisfied guests as your many reviews attest to.
I write this as we reflect on our year of travel and look forward to more adventures in 2015.
It is our hope that we return to rural France in 2016 ......Gite style living will be the only way.
Thanks to our La Nichoir experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service,location,comfortable accommodation at a good price,rural living with much to see
Liked least: Absolutely no negatives,not staying longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. You guys are what makes it all worth while. Happy New Year to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato1953
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not recommended, but has potential”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Thinking positively, this property has
*an attractive kitchen-diner with sofa
*a charming location among vineyards near Bergerac
*a stylish shower room with a good shower
*secure off-road parking.
And we were given a warm welcome by the owner's helpful and friendly parents!

Unfortunately, the negative factors outweighed the positive:-
*The property has a strong, musty smell - particularly in the bedroom
*The mattress on the bed was rather 'crunchy' and not very comfortable
*The bedroom is dark and gloomy, and largely furnished with dated G-Plan units
*Though much of the garden is pleasant, it is also partly disfigured by spoil heaps. (The owner is creating more accommodation in adjacent buildings, so the site is inevitably work in progress.)
*The property lacks a dishwasher and a washing machine
*The owner is a poor communicator. Our emails requesting location and access details were ignored for weeks, even though we stated that we were leaving for France well before our rental began. We had to contact TripAdvisor/Holiday Lettings (who advised us that the owner had read all our emails) before he responded.
* We were without wifi access for half of our stay, though to be fair such problems can occur anywhere.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location among vineyards
Liked least: The strong musty smell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you for your comments after your stay at La Nichoir. We are obviously very disappointed with the rating we have received which we feel doesn't represent our accommodation.
We would like to respond to the points you have made so that future guests can make an informed choice.
Firstly, we would like to point out that La Nichoir is a rural cottage set in one of the most beautiful Perigordian regions. Sometimes, local farmers spray the fields and treat the land but this is a natural part of this way of life. We have never witnessed any kind of odour relating to the property and have never had any comments to that effect.

As you can see from the photos, the bedroom is large with a tall window facing NE and high ceiling. There is a chandelier and 2 table lamps. We do not understand why you would describe this as dark and gloomy. The G-Plan furniture is a matching set which has been handed down through 3 generations. This is visible from the photos.
The Gite was recently renovated in a way to retain the rustic charm. In your own words the kitchen diner is "attractive", the shower room is "stylish" and that the location is "charming".We have a new mattress (2013) which is a memory foam and pocket sprung hybrid. We have only ever received glowing comments until now.

The property is set in about 5 acres of grounds. The Gite has it's own dedicated garden which is completely unspoilt. The areas to which you refer are on the other side of the complex. We are in the process of renovating the other property but we have always done this is in a sympathetic way. We usually find our guests are interested in the developments around the complex and we love to give a tour of the place in it's entirety if people are interested. It is a shame that you have only seen the negatives in the landscape when there are true gems all around the property. In addition, the Gite has it's own private access, therefore, if guests so wish, they needn't see any of the development areas.
I am a little upset by the comments about the Wifi as we did our utmost to accommodate you when we had problems following a storm. In your own review you mention how warm the welcome was from my parents and that wifi problems can occur anywhere. My parents offered for you to setup your computer anytime at our property so that you could connect to our router. I think it is unfair to make a complaint about this, especially since we were able to get your wifi running again after a couple of days. Sometimes these things happen (especially in the Countryside) and we feel we did our best to rectify the situation as quickly as possible.

Finally, I would like to add that I contacted you 2 weeks before your trip with our Welcome Pack and directions. I am sorry you felt that we had not communicated with you adequately and I do accept that we didn't respond to one of your emails for over 1 week. This was due to our own move back from France to the UK. As soon as we were back online I did make contact well before your departure date.

It is sad that we are having to write this response after such a fantastic 2 years and having met so many super people. As anyone can see, we have had nothing but great reviews on TripAdvisor prior to this and the pages of reviews at the Gite paint a wholly different picture.

We don't totally discount the comments made by this guest but we do feel that a majority of the comments are unfounded and do not accurately represent La Nichoir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judejay20...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from our break at La Nichoir. The owners Andy and Kitsana (not forgetting their beautiful children ) gave us a very warm welcome and could not have been more helpful without being intrusive. I highly recommend Kitsanas cooking. We also enjoyed fresh eggs from the family hens. The area is outstandingly beautiful, and La Nichoir perfectly placed for a relaxing break amid beautiful countryside. The Gite is well equipped and comfortable, a joyful retreat from hectic lives and welcoming after a days exploring the wonders of Dordogne. We will definitely return and highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you so much guys! It doesn't get any better than that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nina24681...
1 review
“Could not have done more to make it a great hiliday”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Set in beautiful surroundings the gite is very well equipped.
The owners were very very helpful and certainly ensured we were happy.
Lots of pretty villages to visit and stroll through.
If you are looking for the perfect place to relax this is it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing