We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7 549)
Filter reviews
7 549 results
Traveller rating
3 669
2 516
847
304
213
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 669
2 516
847
304
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum clubmurphy bedcliff jumpinfinity pooltime shareplatinum serviceplatinum roombedroom suitekids clubconvention centerwater shoesboogie boardsitalian restaurantfamily vacationfire showmain poolswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 7 549 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed here for 10 days with two different rooms. kids ages 11,11, 10 and 9
they where never bored and loved the food and resort. We highly recommend this resort for families. We also loved the dolphins and did that one day.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank z10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBringas, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear guest

It is amazing to learn that you had a wonderful family vacation at El Cid, and that your kids had a fantastic experience! It make us feel rewarded to read your comments, because our priority is to create memorable vacation experiences, and it is great to read that we were succesful with you and your family. Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Hope to see you again very soon!!

Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is a really pretty resort with great pools and good food. However, my family travelled to the Carribbean for its beautiful beaches and blue water. You will not find that at this resort. Even if the seaweed had not been a problem, this beach is so tiny and rocky you can't play or swim in it. I read the reviews before i went and i hoped that people had been exaggerating. They werent. Do not travel here if your kids are wanting to play in a pretty beach.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBringas, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Kristen

First of all, let me express our most sincere gratitude for your recent stay, and for sharing your toughts on this site. Thank you for recognizing our facilities and quality of the food and service. As you could see, we are experiencing a natural phenomenom that is currently affecting the whole coast, and it even affects the beach by erosion. It is all part of the same, and we are very awared of it, and talking action about it. Our priority is always to offer the best vacation experience, and we feel proud to say that regarding service and facilities, our guests are having a great time during their vacation with us.

It would be fantastic to have another opportunity to see you again anytime.

Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

El CID was great! We really enjoyed our stay there, the only down side was the beach. It was really dirty and the water looked very muddy. The pictures listed on their website show crystal blue water, but its not that way. Other than that we loved it, hotel was very nice, rooms and property well kept and clean. Several restaurants to choose from and their food is DELICIOUS! We give EL CID a 4.5 and this is because we were really looking forward to spending days with the kiddos at the beach and we couldn't.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vdelara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBringas, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear guest

On behalf of all the staff at El Cid, I would like to express our gratitude for your preference, your recent stay and your comments on this site. It is fantastic to read that you had a great experience, and that our staff and facilities fulfilled your expectations. It would be awesome to see you again anytime soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The Hotel, service and restaurants were very good but the swimming from the beach was not good the waters are very murky. I had to take a snorkel tour to experience to crystal clear waters which was fun but not much freedom and the time in the water was way too short.

Room Tip: The person who cared for our room did a fantastic job was friendly and courteous. yes she got a big tip but no improvements needed.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mikeclif2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBringas, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Mike

It is great to learn that you had a satisfactory experience on your recent stay at El Cid; I would like to add that we are currently experiencing a seasonal phenomenom that affects the whole coast, but at El Cid we are constantly cleaning the beach in order to keep it enjoyable for our guests. Our priority is to provide a great service and make your vacation an unforgettable positive experience!

It would be great to have the pleasure to serve you again in a near future.

Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed here in June 2018 and it was a wonderful experience. We did upgrade to the Platinum level. Not sure if it was worth it or not. We did have a "butler" but it was just more of a concierge. You have a dedicated line to call but it's just calling to the operator as most of the time we had to get transferred to the Platinum people. We did take advantage of the Platinum lounges as they always had food out (cookies, choc. covered strawberries, little sandwiches, etc) plus they have a better variety of top shelf drinks. The wine is the same as the rest of the resort, not good. But my kids went in and got cookies every night after dinner. We loved the pool! Cliff dive and the slide was awesome. Went down many times. The pool staff was wonderful they had a ton of activities. The pool is huge which was nice, very busy but never felt overcrowded due to the size. We brought our own thermos cups (Yeti, hydro flask) and they had no problem mixing our drinks in those which kept them nice and cold. I would recommend picking your chairs at the pool early to get a spot you want. We went down before breakfast and claimed our spots with towels. The food was ok. What you'd expect from an all-inclusive. The pizza was awful! I honestly don't know how you mess up pizza but they did it constantly. They do have a few gluten-free options and ask at every restaurant if you have food allergies. Our main complaint is that the spa closes at 7 pm. Many nights we would have liked to go into the spa after dinner but it gets halfway drained and it's not hot. If they kept the spa open till 10 like the pool that would have been great. Also. they charge $60/week for wi-fi on 1 device. Which is outrageous! I can't remember the last time I paid for wi-fi at a hotel. Most people don't have an international calling plan (luckily we did) so you need wi-fi so you can use a texting app to communicate with others. We needed to text to get a hold of our teenagers that were at the resort with us. I think charging for wi-fi, especially that much, is ridiculous. All in all is was a great trip and would recommend.

Room Tip: There are some ground level rooms where you can walk out the slider right too the pool
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBringas, Gerente at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Amy

We appreciate your kind comments. I would like to tell you that we feel honored to read that you and your family had a great time on your recent vacation at El Cid. Thank you for your feedback regarding those details where we can improve in order to make your experience even better. It would be fantastic to see you again very soon.

Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews