We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun inexpensive locales restaurant”
Review of El Merkadito

El Merkadito
Ranked #29 of 158 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had lunch at this local restaurant situated right on the beach. The atmosphere is wonderful with very friendly staff and delicious food. We had wonderful fish tacos and burgers at a very inexpensive price. Our server was very pleasant and professional. We will definitely return the next time we are in Rivieras Maya.

Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your comment Patrick. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1 127 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Loved this place. The seafood was fabulous and very reasonable. View was amazing. Very casual place in town. Will go back every year.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chicagofamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience. we are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Packed with people, which tells you the restaurant has a great reputation. Our fishes dishes were a bit overcooked and the hamburger one of us ordered was really overcooked. Service was slow, but probably because of the standing-room-only crowd.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to post a comment, your opinion is very valuable and help us to improve, we hope you come back soon for a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

What can I say about this placed other than we went TWICE in one week! The first time we were referred by the taxi driver. The entrance is very deceiving as it looks more like someone's kitchen than a restaurant. BUT, once you walked past that into the dining area, which is RIGHT ON THE BEACH, you feel like you died an went to heaven! Their house special ceviche' was OUT OF THIS WORLD! Even if you have never had ceviche' you owe it to yourself to try this! We had the grouper and the sea bass as our main entrees, both of which were fantastic! Portions were great, service was outstanding and drinks were just what you would expect from a beach restaurant! Their margaritas are THE BEST we've had in some time! All that food, with at least three drinks (4 for me!) came to less than $70 USD INCLUDING the tip!
If we are ever in the area again we will definitely go back! Don't miss this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SNP1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for preference. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The Good: The food was fantastic, perfectly done, truly "fresh vegetables". Location is great, right on the beach.
The Bad: Nothing really.
The Ugly: Nothing.
Verdict: We'll be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cyd'sTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Depto. Marketing at El Merkadito, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your visit. We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Merkadito also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Merkadito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing