We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12 434)
Filter reviews
12 434 results
Traveller rating
8 752
2 580
733
235
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8 752
2 580
733
235
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ratatouille veranda bar main pool anna banana entertainment staff silver sands preferred club el patio world cafe juan jose room service seaside grill barracuda bar our honeymoon infinity pool other resorts ocean front
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 12 434 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This was our 9th stay at Secrets Silversands so going in we knew what to "expect" but always enjoy seeing how things have changed, either for the better or sometimes worse. We've stayed at many Secrets properties but find Silversands to be one of our favorites due to the combination of pricing, fun atmosphere and an amazing staff. The majority of those expectations were met or exceeded this trip with a few minor blemishes.

We arrived early in the morning so our room was not yes available. This is to be expected when arriving before 3pm so we were prepared and able to enjoy the grounds until time for check in. We were immediately greeted with smiling faces, cold towels and champagne which is always a nice touch. Josselynn (Jesselynn, apologies as my wife and I couldn't recall your name) at check in was very friendly and helpful. We extended our stay ahead of time so we had multiple reservations bundled but everything still went perfectly. Alejandra with the online booking department was great to work with. (You'll see a trend of mentioning names in my review for a very good reason... the people at Secrets Silversands are what make this resort so amazing!)

As always, the rooms here are spacious and comfortable. Some of the TV channels didn't work but it wasn't a big deal because we rarely watch television while on vacation and we did not report the issue otherwise I have no doubt it would have been corrected. Amenities and towels in the room were plentiful and housekeeping ensured our room was always spotless. Our mini fridge was restocked daily as well. Turn down service was hit or miss but again, not something we needed so we didn't bother to call about. Our room was a pool view room in building 4 and was easy to get to and from throughout the week.

The breakfast buffet here is quite good with plenty of selections available. The daily taco station was a nice addition and while at first I thought it was odd, by the end of our stay I was very much enjoying tacos for breakfast. :)

For lunch there are plenty of options from the indoor buffet to the multiple daily outdoor cookout options to the barefoot grill. Previously we had utilized the lunch buffet above the other options on most days but this time we found the daily outdoor cookouts to be very good. I'd love to see the pizza oven become a daily option by itself like at Maroma rather than just being used for a single day. A GREAT added bonus was the ice cream cart that was out every afternoon right when you found yourself thinking about a cool snack.

Drinks were all top shelf and as plentiful as you desired. It was great to see so many of the smiling faces that have made our previous trips so enjoyable. (Karen, Mercedes, David at the Barracuda bar, Felipe to name a few) This trip Monica made certain we were never without and remembered not only our favorites but also when we liked to enjoy them throughout the day. She is always hustling and smiling which is something we noticed and appreciated every time we stay here. Her efforts are very much appreciated. Francisco also took very good care of us for a couple of days. The pool side chairs were comfortable and shade was never an issue when we needed it. Gustavo, the pool concierge is a truly great addition to the resort! He was out every morning helping setup chairs and working all day keeping them available, cleaning sunglasses and hustling nonstop. Thank you Gustavo!

One area of improvement would be to add Don Julio tequila as an option at the bars (like some other Secrets resorts). It (in reposado form) was available in the evenings but you often had to find the one bar that was stocking in. During the day neither it or the blanco variety was an option. Not a big deal but a small area for improvement in my opinion.

If you've read any reviews you'll realize the ocean is rocky in most areas. There is a nice area to wade into that was created years ago but if you want to venture very far out I suggest bringing water shoes or walking north on the beach for a bit. The sand itself is nice to walk on, is not filled with shells and doesn't get overly hot. We were suprised to see how much erosion had occurred. (It's been a couple years since our last visit) Most of the erosion is on the preferred club beach area. While we were there they were working very hard to reclaim it by utilizing the sargassum that came in and managed to add a few feet of coastline back in a short amount of time. Yes, there was quite a bit of seaweed but that's been the case for the past couple of years up and down the coast and it varies day by day. Silversands certainly worked VERY hard at removing as much as possible through a combination of multiple workers and power equipment as their beach was the cleanest of all that we saw when walking. The volleyball court could use a bit more sand as once you get down a few inches it has some hard packed ground that was scraping up quite a few knees.

Yoga in the gazebo over the ocean is always fantastic. It's such a great place to relax and start your day. The guest professional instructor was top notch.

And our stay wouldn't be complete without mentioning the always energetic and fun Entertainment Team. They work nonstop to ensure your stay is fun filled and memorable. We knew Miguel from several previous visits so it was wonderful visiting with him again and participating in his events. He is a real gem! The same could be said of the always smiling Ana, whom we also knew from our previous trip(s). I participated in quite a few events so I was fortunate to have time to speak with all of them quite a bit and they are all fantastic human beings. Honestly fun and genuine and just great to be around. Charlie, Santiago, Mariana, Erick, Antonio, YOU ALL ROCK! An extra shoutout to my volleyball partner Dylan. You sir are the man! (Rumor has it his volleyball skills are eclipsed only by his table tennis skills) :) Thank you all sincerely for making our stay amazing once again!

The nightly entertainment shows were mixed. Early on we felt like there were some nice additions (the theme nights at the Barracuda) but not the traditional production shows we were used to and so the night life wasn't quite what it used to be. By the end of our stay though we were able to enjoy the Urban show, circus show and Mexican dancers but the highlight was once again The Rock Show with Quarzo the band. We've seen them countless times and they always put on a great performance. As wierd as it sounds, it's very much something we look forward to with every visit. The musical acts around the pool during the day and at the main bar in the evening were mixed but always enjoyed.

The food this trip was again very good. It's never been poor (or even average) in my opinion but this trip had some nice suprises. We tried the escargot at Bordeaux for the the first time anywhere and they were absolutely amazing. Thank you Miguel (from the entertainment team) for the recommendation! During previous trips we always loved the outdoor Mexican theme buffet night (which was again fantastic by the way) but the El Patio restaurant never topped our list of favorites. This trip it couldn't have been better and served our best meals of the entire stay. We went back a second evening and it was again fantastic. The service was also top notch. Kudos to the chefs and restaurant manager for the improvements!

Our flight did not leave until the late afternoon so after checking out at noon we were able to still enjoy the grounds then use the hospitality room (please reserve this with the concierge ahead of time) to shower and prepare for the trip home. This was just another example of the nice touches we experienced once again during our stay.

I would also like to thank the grounds keepers, security guards and everyone else who doesn't get mentioned in these reviews but who are part of making our stay so enjoyable. Your efforts are sincerely appreciated and do go noticed!

This brings me back full circle. There were a few items I noticed early on in our stay that could use improving (some wear and tear on the outdoor restaurants/building that previously would have been addressed right away, the missing Don Julio, etc). None were major issues but small things we hadn't previously noticed. By the end of our stay though I felt nothing but excitement to return and it was 100% because of the people who work at Silversands. EVERYONE is smiling and friendly and working to ensure you enjoy yourself! That gracious and positive environment is infectious in such a great way and it's exactly why Silversands remains one of our absolute favorite resorts anywhere and it's why we will definitely be back for a 10th stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank MistrHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahi A, Social Media Coordiator at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent getaway to our destination. It was a pleasure to have you at home, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.

We are very glad to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your kind comment and we have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterize our brand and resort.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This was a lovely resort where the staff really stand out more than anywhere I've been before! We were disappointed with the swim up room views and privacy which I've detailed below but still had a fantastic holiday overall.
ROOMS: We booked a Preferred Club Ocean View Swim Up Junior Suite. Room facilities were great, very clean, cleaned several times a day and got a daily minibar and chocolate top up which was nice, even a bottle of champagne on arrival. Loads of bits in the bathroom incase you forget anything.
The view is not like the photos, there is a building on one side with more of an infinity pool style view but we were on the opposite side. They offered to move us to a room on that side half way through the holiday but after seeing that everyone can just swim in front of your room and block your view with sun loungers we figured it was pointless. If you want somewhere with complete quiet and privacy then this isn't the resort for you. That being said, this was our only real disappointment with the holiday and everything else was fantastic, maybe one of the higher up rooms with a hot tub would be better.
FOOD - The food is where this resort beat any I have ever been too. Breakfast was in the buffet, or preferred club (or of course the free room service)! Lunch you can get from the buffet but there are several grills setup around the pool area in the day and you can get food from them too (fresh paella, tacos, meats etc) - it was always fantastic. Evening food was seriously good - unlike most all inclusives there wasn't a buffet dinner but instead about 7 fine dining restaurants. We tried all of them whilst there and they were all incredible - the Teppanyaki place is a fantastic experience that I would really recommend. No need to book for the restaurants either and no limits on how many you do etc, just pop along and if theres a queue they give you a buzzer so you can go off and get a drink while you wait. There is also 24 Hour Room Service included for free, there's a great menu available so you're not going to go hungry at this place. One thing to note - all evening restaurants are smart dress with no shorts for men. Not a bad thing, but make sure you take enough smart clothes with you!
STAFF: As seen in other reviews, the staff here are just out of this world friendly. Tips aren't expected, but we were happy to give them due to the fantastic service. A special mention to Mar at World Cafe who remembered our names at breakfast and Leonardo at the Pool Drinks area who made sure we didn't get dehydrated ;) Luis on check-in was great too, doing his best London accent with us whilst showing us around the resort to get our bearings.
WEATHER: I was panicked as the weather was showing rain / storms for the whole week we were there before travelling, but we didn't see a spot of rain the whole week and barely any cloud. So if you're checking the weather before you go and see that - don't panic!
PREFERRED CLUB: We only really went for this as it ensured the best rooms with view but I don't think there was much difference (certainly for the services we used). We didn't eat in the Preferred Club or drink in there at all, and the staff around the resort don't know if you're preferred club so you don't get special treatment (although we honestly could not have been treated better anyway - staff were just amazing). If you get flyers through your door everyday saying VIP services, and you have vouchers to activate etc - they're just trying to sell you a time share and you'll probably end up in a 1 hour meeting. We knew to avoid this but it's always worth mentioning - I really hate that resorts do this as we all work so hard for our holidays and no one wants to spend an hour of them being sold time share!
SPA: We received a voucher upon check-in for a free day pass to the spa, maybe one of the preferred club perks! We used it on our last day and the spa is honestly a mini paradise! The facilities in the changing rooms are amazing too, plenty of toiletries and hair dryers etc. The day pass is usually $35 each and includes use of the outdoor pool, steam room, sauna, hot tub, waterbeds etc. Was a really nice way to spend an afternoon. We had also received a $100 spa voucher that I wanted to use, we approached the spa concierge in the lobby but found them overly pushy and try to sell us things we weren't interested in and offering big discounts if we booked right away etc. It completely turned us off and we didn't book anything or use the voucher (felt they didn't want us to use it to be honest). But if you are thinking of booking spa treatments, don't book them in advance and pay list price. They literally discount everything while you are there, we were barely at the desk 2 minutes and he was offering us 50% off any couples treatments etc.
BEACH: As mentioned in other reviews there's lots of seaweed yes, but doesn't stop you dipping your feet in to cool down and the beach itself is still beautiful sand with comfy sunbeds and waiter service. If you're looking for snorkelling then it's a no go I guess but not much they can do, they've got a tractor going up and down the beach clearing as much as they can but I doubt theres anything more they can do.
Overall a fab resort, the main pool area has a lot of noise / music / people in the day, we prefer the quiet life so stuck to the quieter pools (of which there are plenty). If I could suggest one thing it would be to restrict the ocean view swim up pools to the rooms connected to them, so it offers a bit more privacy and better view.

Room Tip: Ocean View Swim up suites not private as anyone can use the pools
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank icedj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahi A, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Iced J:

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure to be your hosts during your recent getaway to Secrets Silversands.

We appreciate the time that you have invested in writing a review about your stay with us.

We truly hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in the future so that we can offer you the truly remarkable experience that you deserve. Please, do not hesitate to contact us personally prior to your arrival, we will be pleased to assist you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel hotel and facilities were excellent the restaurants were also excellent and the staff were very good
A few of the staff deserve a special mention
Angel ( bellboy)
Berniece ( Concierge)
Flepie and Delmy (poolside drinks waiters)
Unfortunately my wife had an accident which resulted in a trip to hospital
One member of the staff deserves a mention Alberto for being the most unhelpful uncaring staff member there
On balance I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank colinballard118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahi A, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your time to share your experience in Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancún.

We're so glad that you had a remarkable staying with us and please make sure that your comments will be shared with all the team.

Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The entertainment staff was the best thing about the week
anna, marianna, ivan, charlie, santiego, alfonso, dylan they are the best.
Can't wait to go back.
The wait staff around the pool area very friendly and helpful.
Room was very clean and large

Room Tip: ground floor swim out pool
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mike999990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahi A, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest:

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your kind comment here and have shared it with our team.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We have just arrived home from our 3rd visit to secrets silversand and it was even better than the previous times. All of the staff remembered us and greeted us with hugs and smiles. We were there to celebrate my birthday and our 30th wedding anniversary. Our room was decorated with balloons and a heart of roses on our bed! The attention to details throughout the resort is like nothing I have ever seen...they never stop cleaning, gardening and general over all maintenance all day. What brings us back is the entertainment team led by Ana ❤️ she is the best! Charlie, Dylan, Alfonzo always get everyone involved in actives but only if you want to join in. Sergio, the manager at the seaside grill out door resturant made sure my birthday and anniversary dinner were special. The wait staff by the pool and the pool concierges were amazing. This will not be our last trip to silversand!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank carol2016198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahi A, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed overview of your stay. Our guests’ feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to improve our standards of service.

We're so happy that you had a great 30th wedding anniversary.

We would certainly be glad to have you back for another wonderful stay. Please, should you need assistance before your next visit, feel free to contact us.

We look forward to having you back at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancún, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews