We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ansiao, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Snodlande...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

It's difficult to find fault with either the accommodation or the host of this charming bungalow on the crest of a hill in rural Portugal. However, you won't believe this is a real review unless I do, so in December and January, when the nights dropped below zero but the house was snug and warm, there was a fair amount of condensation in the bathroom and kitchen, but that's nothing to the positives.

The bungalow itself is part of a larger quinta where the owner's parents live, but it has its own gates and driveway and our privacy was respected. The house is a single story modern build, licenced as a holiday let, with a large lounge/diner, two bedrooms, a kitchen and bathroom.

The kitchen is fully equipped with stove, dishwasher, washing machine, coffee machine and everything else you would want if you're not going to try any of the delicious restaurants in the area (and if you're not, why are you in Portugal?).

The bathroom has a sink, shower, loo and bidet. The main room has cable TV and a hifi.

The lounge has a couch, chairs, dining table and (as we were there midwinter) a very efficient pellet stove.

But it's all the little extras that make you feel welcome. Ourico supplies various folders with things to do, places to see and eat and market days in the various towns. He even supplies a Tomtom with the places pre-registered in it. There's wifi, a series of DVDs and books in English and Portuguese and even some games. His English is perfect and he's keen to help further if there's anything else you need.

The village is small and quiet. There are no local cafe or shops, so you will need a car (though if you're up for it, there's a fantastic restaurant, cafe adeil luis in vale florido a two mile walk away)

As we were there over Christmas and New Year we even got a mini Christmas tree on the table and some Christmas goodies.

Not the place for night clubbers, but I can't recommend this charming village treat for those that want to immerse themselves in Portuguese countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you for your words! We're always happy when guests enjoy our property (and the area) and decide to reward us with such a brilliant review. We'll keep working to maintain the level all our guests deserve, and your feedback is very important to make us aware of what can be improved. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and you're always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla V
1 review
“Amazing place, good time to relax”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

During the five days that we was in Cantinho do Outeiro property we could rest, relax and have fun in the pool with our children's and on the many rivers that we can found around the local areas. Many places to see and visit that can be fine to walk when you have small children's with you. The property have everything that you need to cook and relax and because they have private areas you can let the children´s have fun without so much worries.
A place that surely we will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Obrigado pelos comentários! Ficamos contentes que tenham gostado do alojamento e da região. Quando quiserem visitar novamente estaremos à disposição. Obrigado.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleydoll
Central Portugal, Portugal
1 review
“Beautiful piece of rural Portugal, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Our stay was a long term winter rental for 7 months, as we had decided to pack up and leave the UK for good!

Eurico was very helpful right from the start, with excellent communication skills and with good knowledge of the area. His parents live close by the property and showed real Portuguese hospitality. They were all on hand to deal with any minor problems, which were always dealt with quickly and efficiently.

The Cantinho was perfect for my husband and I and our two dogs; it was nicely furnished and very well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Our dogs enjoyed all the local walks, there were plenty to chose from. The added bonus was the use of a GPS, which was very useful. Eurico had obviously spent a lot of time and effort making files with local information - all the local attractions (with the GPS coordinates) and restaurant recommendations. We highly recommend the Caracol restaurant, which is just a few minutes drive away, 3 course meal with bread, wine and coffee for €7!

A great place to stay and we would highly recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No negatives!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear you all enjoyed being here as much as we enjoyed welcoming you. So far you've been the guests that stayed longer and we really got used to see you around and feel like you're part of the family :) Thanks for all your kind words and happy to hear you made use of the reccomendations, gps, etc... Caracol as you mentioned is a real bargain and even better it happens to be one of the best restaurants around! Thank you once more for everything and hope you keep enjoying our beautiful country. Missing M & O a lot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling thoroughly relaxed.
Liked least: I can't think of any negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words about us and our cottage. We really enjoyed having you around and we just hope we have the chance to welcoming you again! I'll try to update the information with distance in meters rather than time... I'm aware Portuguese are used to travel very fast! It's words like yours that make everything worth! Thank you very much for everything!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tim H
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We recently stayed here with friends and found it to be a perfect place to use as a base when sightseeing or looking for property.
The cottage itself is relatively small but easily provides enough privacy for two couples sharing and is excellently equipped.
Everything in it looks like new and it is really nicely furnished.
The owner, Eurico, has provided loads of local information and is always happy to help.
A really great place which I would happily use again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing. It was perfect for what we wanted
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you for your very positive review! We're happy that you enjoyed staying in our accommodation. The house is indeed perfect for two couples as you said. It's always a pleasure to present the more info as possible about our beautiful area; we're always adding more and more as there is so many things to discover. Thank you very much for everything and really looking forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing