We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful warm welcome to a property that is...”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional Breton stone built countryside village property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional Breton stone built countryside village property
Lots of bird life and bird feeders to front and rear of property Rear garden with BBQ and furniture not over looked by any houses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Traditional Breton stone built countryside village property
Lots of bird life and bird feeders to front and rear of property
Rear garden with BBQ and furniture not over looked by any houses
Step free access to patio with nice view of front garden
Wet room & toilet with disabled facilities - new towels
Airy bedroom with view of the back garden and bird feeder - comfy orthapaedic bed, new bed linens
Fully equipped kitchenette/dining area - combined living space with relaxation area
Relxation area - comfy leather sofa for relaxing in front of tv with UK freeview channels or dvds
Resident tame Ouessant sheep Milly and Tilly
Henri the new arrival - also a Ouessant
Resident cat Bella
View from the village bar terrace
View of the church and surrounding countryside in Locarn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mael-Carhaix, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dazza_and...
Essex England
2 reviews
“Wonderful warm welcome to a property that is accessible for disabled people - a rare find”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wendy and Lee welcomed us with a lovely glass of wine and it continued in that vein by going out of their way to help, pass on interesting local information and enable you to enjoy the area and learn about France; in fact it was an integral part of our eventual move to France.
The accommodation is excellent for a mobility scooter user such as myself, with plenty of room to use indoors too when needed - the bathroom (wetroom) is accessible for a wheelchair user but is tastefully decorated so it does not feel clinical as many wetrooms can.
The area is wonderful too but bring enough money to sample all the delicious food!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely to have you and your husband to stay and we are thrilled that you decided to make the move to Brittany. I am also really pleased that the accommodation met your needs as this is of great importance to us. Good luck with your new life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdeGrandi...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome - Relaxed and very comfortable.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wendy and Lee went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We didn't stay in the disabled friendly gite but in the brand new one upstairs. Masses of room, fabulous views and really comfortable. Bedroom was huge with an ace shower. My partner is a dedicated bath man but he was converted! Very near lots of interesting places to visit and in a quiet and pretty village. The purpose of our trip was viewing properties as we are relocating to the area. if anyone else is thinking of doing this then stay with Wendy and Lee. They were a source of an incredible amount of useful information and very patiently didn't mind being asked questions. We both thoroughly recommend this gite.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for your very complimentary review. I am so glad that you both enjoyed your stay and had a good time. The guest experience is of great importantance to us. My husband and I were very pleased to meet you both and were more than happy to "have our brains picked" for advice and information regarding buying property and moving to France. We hope to meet you again in the future and wish you luck with your plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsTG65
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Views, peace and quiet, nature, home from home. France (Brittany) at its best.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 10 days in August 2015 with our two sons aged 8 and 13. The accommodation is excellent and the hosts are both welcoming and knowledgeable. They went over and above the call of duty, for which we are very grateful. Our youngest son was very poorly upon arrival and the owner Wendy accompanied me to a local pharmacy to assist with translation to ensure the correct medication was purchased. The gite is well placed for local walks, cycling, places of interest and day trips to the coast. Wendy and Lee are excellent hosts, knowledgeable, friendly, unobtrusive but on hand if required. We have not seen or experienced all we wanted to in this very beautiful area of France and will definitely be back for more in 2016. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plerguer, France
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No light on one side of the bed
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review and it was a pleasure having you to stay. I am so glad to hear that you slept well and pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation. We look forward to hopefully having you to stay again with Gwenn for the next sheepdog trials if they are on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David P
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, relaxed & peaceful stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From my initial contact, through the holiday and following on after, the communications have been prompt, pleasant and helpful. We had a lovely welcome to a beautifully kept comfortable gite. Wendy & Lee are great hosts, very friendly & helpful, with a lot of useful local knowledge and suggestions for what to do. This is an area of Brittany we had not visited before so the advice was very helpful. This is such a lovely & comfortable place to stay on holiday with so much to do nearby without spoiling the rural nature of the area. A true gem! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for your very complimentary review, very much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you both. It gives us great pleasure when we see guests enjoying themselves and the accommodation. We look forward to meeting you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing