We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Too good to miss!”
other travellers have booked this property
Boathouse Cottage with autumn colours. Garden furniture provided to enjoy Al Fresco
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse Cottage with autumn colours. Garden furniture provided to enjoy Al Fresco
Living Room. Warm and comfy place to relax with wood fired multifuel stove. Fabulous views of Tweed Comforting warmth from the stove. Beautiful ceramic tile flooring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Boathouse Cottage with autumn colours. Garden furniture provided to enjoy Al Fresco
Living Room. Warm and comfy place to relax with wood fired multifuel stove. Fabulous views of Tweed
Comforting warmth from the stove. Beautiful ceramic tile flooring
Just two easy steps from the front door porch and kitchen area down to the Living Room
Dining room and kitchen seen from the stairs. A wonderful open and spacious room
Spacious Kitchen and Dining area with beautiful ceramic tiled floor as viewed from the window
Kitchen and dining room seen as you enter. Ceramic tiled floor.
Ground floor twin bedroom seen from the window
Ground Floor Shower Room with underfloor heating for added comfort. Shower room is  next to bedroom
Ground floor twin bedroom with walk-in wardrobe/dressing room
Master Bedroom, comfy beds. Fabulous views from here. Some times you can see otters in the river.
The view from Master bedroom window.
Boathouse Cottage, seen from Scottish side of river Tweed
Plenty of parking space and easy access to the front door
Bench by front door. A sheltered spot to enjoy the morning sunshine. A private place.
Boathouse Cottage garden in summer, space to relax and enjoy
Boathouse Cottage - aerial view looking downstream towards Norham Bridge
Aerial view of the front of Boathouse Cottage; a glimpse of the river on the right of picture
Norham Bridge 3/4 mile downstream from Boathouse Cottage. England/Scotland Border is half-way across
A February walk on the Scottish side of the river with a distant view of the Boathouse Cottage
River Tweed shortly upstream of Boathouse Cottage. Even in winter there are beautiful walks
A glimpse of the viaduct over the Ruchey Burn, ten minutes walk from Boathouse Cottage
The Ruchey Burn shortly before it joins the Tweed
The old Railway Viaduct across the Ruchey Burn. An impressive structure best viewed in winter
Magnificent sycamore tree top of the cliff near Boathouse Cottage
View from bedroom window on a sunny afternoon
The Old Bridge in Berwick-upon-Tweed. Berwick has many interesting places to see
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Norham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate O
1 review
“Too good to miss!”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Peaceful location with stunning views. Very well appointed cottage. Thoroughly enjoyed our family break with our pet dogs. Lovely owners. Would love to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2018
Thanks Kate. We are happy that you and your lovely dogs enjoyed our Boathouse Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath O
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Say”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We booked the cottage to be near family, over the new year, who live in the village. The cottage was so welcoming, with all needs met. Kitchen was great to use and we managed to seat 12 for a new year meal!

Our dog loved that his walk was on his doorstep and that the wood stove in the living room was amazingly efficient at giving out heat.

The owners came a few times to check everything was in order but were very unobtrusive - a perfect combination.

We will book again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2018
Thanks, we look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort and tranquility”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Boathouse Cottage over the half term holiday with our children. Upon arrival we found the house lit up, very warm and a lovely box of most welcoming biscuits. The owner made a polite and brief call later that evening to check that everything was to our liking and if we needed anything - this was very courteous.

The cottage is spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. A plentiful supply of fresh towels and blankets were provided. The grounds are very well maintained and the garage is very useful for putting your muddy boots after a good walk!

The views and the immediate setting are just perfect. The property sits right on the Tweed and there is wildlife in abundance from every window. There are many walks you can do straight from the cottage - along the Tweed, around Norham and through the neighbouring woods.

The Borders provide an almost endless list of places to visit and walks. Cove Bay, about ten miles north of Eyemouth is a true hidden gem.

The owners are very helpful and on hand, without being intrusive whatsoever, at all times. The visitors book is a real goldmine of further tips and advice on what to do in the area.

The village of Norham is a pleasant five minutes walk where you can get a newspaper, a butchers, a baker (croissants on a Saturday - don't miss out) and two pubs - what more do you want!

Unreservedly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thanks Nick. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we may see you here again in the future. Many of our visitors are amazed at the wide variation of exciting things there are to discover in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janedJ361...
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wonderful cottage in a great location - dogs loved the walks along the river straight from the garden. Also short ,easy walk into village with good facilities including friendly pub serving very acceptable pub grub. Cottage is spacious, comfortable & well-equipped. Very peaceful - enjoyed watching barn owl hunting nearby. Owners very helpful ( including lending me waterproof trousers on wet day), but not intrusive. Plenty to do in the area which is unspoilt & uncrowded.We all left feeling relaxed.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their visit. We would be very happy to welcome them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture50...
1 review
“Great, comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Excellent accommodation - very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The situation is lovely - in walking distance of the nearby village which has a very interesting history and buildings of interest plus a small number of excellent shops.
Berwick-upon-Tweed is nearby plus many other places to visit. It is an area we keep returning too as there is so much to offer....

Bit unlucky with the weather but we still had a very enjoyable week.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing