We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
In Africa and Beyond
Mauritius

Wonderful lodge for family getaways

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Feb 2024
Stunning boutique lodge overlooking a waterhole with hippos and crocodiles. The rooms were spacious and we loved the outdoor swings. The staff went out of their way to make our stay extra-special and the food and wildlife sightings were great too. Leaving was the most difficult part of our stay.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 05 Mar 2024
Dear InAfricaAndBeyond, thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your safari experience at Mabula Game Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Mabula Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp  - Main Area
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
6.3 km from Mabula Game Lodge
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
9.8 km from Mabula Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Agoda.com
R 861
Multiple ways to pay
    1.8 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Zebu Spa
    Booking.com
    R 1 926
    R 1 493
    • Priceline
    • StayForLong
    • Vio.com
    4.0 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Hotel and golf course
    Booking.com
    R 3 364
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
      R 2 738
    • Lol.travel
    3.8 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 9 169
    • Hotels.com
      R 8 840
    • Priceline
    8.7 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    R 4 299
    • Hotels.com
      R 4 299
    • Expedia.com
      R 4 299
    • Tripadvisor
      R 4 299
    10.4 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Hotels.com
    R 8 032
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      R 7 980
    • Expedia.com
      R 8 032
    • Tripadvisor
      R 8 032
    13.6 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    Booking.com
    R 10 220
    • Expedia.com
      R 9 248
    • Hotels.com
      R 9 248
    • Vio.com
    13.6 km from Mabula Game Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Mabula Private Game Reserve
    Reviews (1 382)
    Filter reviews
    1 382 results
    Traveller rating
    733
    422
    139
    45
    43
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    733
    422
    139
    45
    43
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews game lodge self catering the reserve sunset hill safari experience food was great great safari lunch and dinner wild animals early morning wonderful experience quad biking out of this world drive guide accommodation ranger
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    26 - 31 of 1 382 reviews
    Reviewed 8 February 2024

    I really enjoyed this Holiday and I was there for the Lions but got so much enjoyment seeing the other Animals on the reserves. I had Job as my guide and he did a great job of getting us where we needed to be at any time the Animals were spotted and In a safe way. We got to see 4 of the Big 5 as the Leopards are very Illusive and we got to see other Animals like the Donkeys with PJ's and Pumba's, Wildebeest, Impala etc.
    Food was plentiful but a little repetitive at times and food could be a little cold depending on time getting there and how busy it was for fresh replenishment. The main reception and Restaurant were very nice and the Room I had was very spacious and had a patio area with 2 chairs and a table however some sun loungers would have been great there as well. There is a wonderful Fish pond with a stunning waterfall backdrop. There is a pool with Bar, The pool is not deep but looked refreshing (I did not want to do my Hippo Impression in front of people) Baboons do come on site so keep doors locked when not in your room. Staff are always Friendly and will go out there way to do what they can for you.
    There are extra's you can do Like Cheetah Tracking, Horse Riding and Quad Biking all are currently R620 each. Your locked into the lodge for the duration unless you can arrange things to do off site but you need to arrange this yourself, I do recommend you research what you can do locally before you travel to S.A. I will however recommend Adventure With Elephants (Google Them) Click on contact Us on the website and copy/paste the reservations email address and send an email direct from your email address instead of the contact form as you will get a quicker response, They will come and get you and bring you back for a fee but you need to tell them the amount of people and when arranged then you will need to let Mabula lodge know what time they will be there so they can tell security. Rooms are cleaned Daily and you can have clothing cleaned and pressed and is chargeable per item.

    Accommodation 9/10 based on my room
    Lodge and grounds 9/10
    Food in my opinion 7.5/10
    Game Drives 9/10
    Choice of activities on site 7/10
    Choice of activities off site 0/10
    Staff 9/10

    Over all I would absolutely return and would recommend, but if you want see away from the lodge in between the drives then research and make arrangements :-)

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    3  Thank BrettLeoD
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Dear BrettLeoD, thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

    Kind regards,
    The Mabula Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 February 2024

    Just left and decided for once this deserved me writing a review with some little tips thrown in also. Absolutely amazing from start to finish. We traveled with Newmarket Holidays and it was organised perfectly. Larisa was our guest manager at the lodge and was literally like an on hand concierge. She would find us to tell us information, she was there to meet us when we got back from game drives and was just all round so attentive, we have never felt so looked after when on holiday before. The room we had room 8 was gorgeous. A huge terrace outside that the animals would frequently come past that wander around the hotel grounds. It was clean and pretty luxurious and although I’m not a hotel snob we do like a nice hotel and this certainly was up there. The food, the drinks, the staff and all the hotels facilities were amazing and everyone was so friendly. On our game drives we had Job as our safari expert and his knowledge is amazing. His driving skills were also impressive and we felt so safe that he would get us up close but out of a sticky situation if it was needed. The animals at Mabula are varied and plenty and I feel so blessed to have now been able to see so many that I would never have dreamed of encountering. We ended up getting quite connected with everyone on our trip, especially those we went in the jeep with each day and had such a laugh whilst sharing such and amazing experience together. Little tips, clothing: around the hotel wear anything in any colours you want, no need for Safari chic when at the hotel. On game drives black is fine but you get hot, no white as you stick out too much but sands, greens, stones etc are all good. If you are doing a bush walk you need long trousers, leggings etc. Weather: even if the weather is warm early morning it does feel colder than you would think. A jacket or long sleeve shirt I would recommend. Tips: not required at all however if you want to tip having some rand in notes is a good idea. You can tip on card but they don’t get it until the end of the month plus it means you can’t give it direct to say thank you. They do not expect tips though we just really felt we wanted to give a bit of something to thank people specifically. All inclusive: check which drinks are included, you get a list and loads are but it’s worth checking as you sign for everything even the included ones so it just ensures your not caught out. Any extras are cheap however so not too much of a issue if you fancy a cocktail for example. Above all else have an amazing time, we had such a great time but I know these tips would have helped us a little. Thank you to all at Mabula

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    7  Thank Rebecca H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Dear O8207CWrebeccah, thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your full safari experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back soon.

    Kind regards,
    The Mabula Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 February 2024

    The lodge itself was good, if maybe not as luxurious as some pictures suggest. The staff are great though and animal life even around the lodge area is wonderful. The reserve is a special place with beautiful locations and stunning wildlife. Our trip was arranged through SAGA who were the worst aspect of the trip as their communication was sadly lacking. As an example, no-one at SAGA seemed to know that it's not possible to get an airline code from them to pre-book seats or meals on what are very long overnight flights from UK to SA. This is because everyone has the same 'group code'. Food was ok, very meat based of course but if you come here to see animals, it is very special.

    Room tip: Smart dress for dinner is not required. If you are gluten free or don't eat meat maybe take some extra food with you.
    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank 740MarkR740
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

    Dear 740MarkR740, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back.

    Kind regards,
    The Mabula Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 January 2024

    Very good experience. Room staff anf food are excellent. Rangers are very kindly and efficient. You can find in a jeep a blanqet for the external temperature that in the morning is low. Good experience!

    Date of stay: January 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank rcande881722
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

    Dear rcande881722, thank you for your lovely review. We love that you enjoyed your Mabula Game Lodge safari experience and look forward to welcoming you back.

    Kind regards,
    The Mabula Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 January 2024

    Loved the stay, just when you thought you have experienced the best then expectations kept being exceeded! Loved the Game drive and yes, the ice cream bicycle that showed up during the drive for our treat was amazing! Definitely loved it!

    Date of stay: January 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank GAAMONGWE B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

    Dear GAAMONGWE B, thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your safari experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

    Kind regards,
    The Mabula Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews