We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 11 926
Expedia.com
R 12 442
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
R 12 373
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 358)
Filter reviews
1 358 results
Traveller rating
711
420
139
45
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
711
420
139
45
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge self catering the reserve sunset hill safari experience food was great great safari lunch and dinner wild animals early morning wonderful experience quad biking out of this world drive guide accommodation ranger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1 358 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2023

FABULOUS!!! Mabula was everything and more. From the moment we stepped out of our bus, we felt welcome. The room was large and beautiful. The food was good with a large variety. The animals were the best part! Our guide was Tiaan. He was the BEST!!! He knew everything about the animals and he made our game drives so much fun! He wanted us to see as much as possible and that's what we did. I highly recommend staying at Mabula.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JandJtraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Dear JandJtraveltheworld, thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Mabula Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2023

Very good safari week. Food was good, staff were good, the safari guides were excellent especially Mashudu. Rooms were clean and the grounds were always being cleaned. I am in two minds about the way the animals in the reserve were managed. I can see why the number of elephants are kept to 5 or 6 as they are so destructive with the trees, I saw what they did in Kenya when unchecked, but giving them contraceptives to prevent more births gives the "safari" aspect a bit of a contrived feel. Better than culling I suppose. If this is the first safari holiday you have ever done it is good.

Room tip: Take a jumper and coat for the early morning starts as it is cold in an open jeep before and at sunrise.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank underwater_is_best1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear underwater_is_best1, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Mabula Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

We had a wonderful time at Mabula Lodge, having booked through Saga we arrived and were greeted by smiling faces and lovely lemon water hand greeting. After getting to our room our suitcases arrived as if by magic as we had not had to say which were our cases, very impressive. After a 4.30am start we did our first of many SAFARI drives with Adelaide and saw just about every animal there was to see and thanks to Adelaides knowledge we came away a lot wiser about the local flora and fauna.The food was excellent especially the freshly cooked eggs and home made bread we had at breakfast. Lizzy was on hand everyday touching base with us to check we were enjoying our stay and keeping us informed of cocktail parties etc. Sitting by the pond and watching all the birds and occasional monkey and other animal visitors was really relaxing between safaris. We booked the night time SAFARI hoping to see the nocturnal animals and although We didn't see everything we did see a bushbaby or two and an Aardwolf several Jackals and a Brown Hyena.We would definitely book again. Overall this was one of the best holidays we have had and we have lots of really good photos to show our friends.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Trail624267
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear Trail624267, thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled you and your group enjoyed your experience at Mabula Game Lodge and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
The Mabula Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

Loved our visit to Mabula Lodge. Our safari guide Mashudu, was knowledgeable, ever enthusiastic and entertaining- a fantastic experience. We ticked off all the animals we were hoping to see, only the leopard eluded us. Lovely to have tea or coffee on the veld each morning and wine, drinks and snacks in the evening watching the sun go down, incredible experience. Thank you Mash!
Great range of food at the Lodge at each meal, thoroughly spoiled for choice. That’s without the available afternoon snacks which we just couldn’t fit it!
Room was spacious, fridge in room. (Noticed earlier reviews said no fridge- there are now) Comfy bed and air con as standard.
If you get the opportunity to go on Safari, Mabula Lodge is a great place to go.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Janeyw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear Janeyw1234, thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your Mabula Game Lodge experience and hope to welcome you back soon in search of that elusive leopard.

Kind regards,
The Mabula Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Where to start, the food was faultless, so much choice for meat eaters and veggies, with atleast 2/3 options for each, and then the quality of food was 10/10 personally I didn’t have one bad meal and neither did my partner.

Staff are always happy to help right from the monitor you get there, getting off our transfer and our bags are just left on the bus and transferred to our rooms for us, as we are taken for a welcome meeting and a drink. They are always walking around asking if you would like a drink and bringing it to your table. Very polite and always asking if you have had a good day.

The drives were brilliant this was our first safari and it didn’t disappoint, we got to see 4 of the big 5 with the leopard being the only one we didn’t. But also seen everything else you could think of on an African safari. Our guide Adelaide was very good and knowledgeable, we were very glad we had her for the week.

The hotel was brilliant always very clean and had a great atmosphere, pool was cold but was great when the temperature was so hot outside of it and was great to cool yourself down, with a swim up bar also. Plenty of space to sit and sunbathe. Sometimes we had to wait a short period of time for a bed but there are tables to sit at also.

Overall we were very happy with our trip and couldn’t fault a thing, would 100% recommend staying here to anyone and will hopefully return ourselves in the future. Thank you Mabula 😁😁

Room tip: Pool is busy up until dinner time very easy to get a spot after
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Darylrogers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley Knight, Marketing at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Dear Darylrogers100, thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed your safari experience at Mabula Game Lodge and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
The Mabula Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews