We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 089)
Filter reviews
1 089 results
Traveller rating
530
373
119
35
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
530
373
119
35
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge self catering the reserve safari experience south africa great safari early morning lunch and dinner tennis courts a great experience quad biking african bush bela bela out of this world guide lions drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 1 089 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Would def go back again. Great service, friendly staff and great safari experience. The lodge had great rooms and a variety selection of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. Great fun in the evenings as well as on the game drives.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pranisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Pranisha M -
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that our team took great care of you. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Had a great time kind courtesy of our group which decided on a weekend retreat and team building exercise. Loved the ambiance. A good introduction to South African Safari. The lodges are excellent and the game views to die for. Far from the hustle of the city, you will find the air fresh and game divine. Wouldn't mind a second trip one day soon!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JGadzirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear JGadzirai -
Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE. GREAT SAFARI GUIDES, FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD FOOD. IT was a wonderful vacation for us.. We had sighting of all five Animals in the park of the Lodge. Our Game Drive Guide MS. SHARON and the Chef MR. AZAD made our Game Drive and Stay Experience Memorable.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deepaksS7005DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear deepaksS7005DM -
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience, especially the meals and the game drives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The lodge has the feel of a safari movie. The center area is very nicely decorated and the grounds are open with animals wandering through the area.

Each room has an external entrance that leads onto walkways that go through the entire grounds. The rooms are comfortable with high ceilings, comfortable beds, seating chairs, and wifi. The showers have the overhead rainfall type heads which I personally don't like, but my husband loved it.

The food was buffet style in a communal dining area. It was good, but not outstanding.

The best part of the location was the access to the preserve which surrounds it. On the drives, we saw all of the big 5, but more importantly, we saw lots of the lesser animals which were fantastic for photographers.

We were on a Vantage Tours trip and this was the selected hotel for our group. As a result, I can't comment on costs or reservations since those were all managed by the tour company. The game drives from the hotel were outstanding!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brssjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Brssjunk -
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular the game drives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I would enlist the things that I liked and disliked and rest is for you to decide

Liked

1: Away from the city in a lonely location.
2: Very huge property.
3: Free roaming deers, Impalas and beavers around the room.
4: Feel of actually staying in the Jungle.
5: Huge enclosure for lions where they have to hunt on their own.
6: The staff members Tristine and Marisha who took us for game drives were very sweet comforting and carrying. They made their best efforts to make our trip memorable.
7:Closely saw a few wild animals.
Disliked
1: The food served was totally Non Indian types. Though being a non vegetarian I could not enjoy the non veg served here.
2: Too less animals in a big game reserve like this.
3: Out of the 4 game drives that we did we could see lions only once and no elephants. Even Buffalo we could see only one that too hidden in the bushes. Our idea of choosing this game reserve over Kruger national park was to see more animals in a short span of time, but I think we should have rather gone to Kruger. At least there we would have not got disappointed seeing less animals as it is a proper jungle and not a game reserve. Infact pillanesberg park close to Sun city has more animals that Mabula.
I don't think that the management has added animals for a long time now. Fortunately we stayed at Bottlierskop Game lodge near Mosselbay where we could see a lot of animals. It's new and small but we were more satisfied here.
Honestly I am not against anybody but if I am putting my hard earned money and traveling 6000kms to see animals then I think I am not wrong in getting disappointed if I don't get to see them.
But Tristine and Marish , you guys tried your best it's only that luck was not on our side.
Good lock guys may God bless you with more animals and people don't return disappointed.
All the best.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DrVasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear DrVasan –
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. While we are happy that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, we would like to address the negative points that you raised. Regarding the range of meals available, our buffet menu has been carefully designed to appeal to as many different tastes and dietary requirements as possible including Indian and vegetarian. We’re sorry to hear that you could not find dishes that appealed to you – our chefs are on hand at every meal to assist with any special requests or concerns.
In terms of your wildlife experience, it’s important to remember that Mabula Private Game Reserve is a some 12 000 hectares and within this the wildlife is free ranging. Non-territorial animals such as elephants and buffaloes can and do wander freely throughout the reserve and although our guides are all highly skilled and experienced, we unfortunately cannot guarantee sightings. We do however guarantee that all of our guides make every effort to give every Mabula guest the best possible wildlife experience.
Our reserve management team carefully monitor the populations of each species at Mabula, and make restocking decisions (where necessary) according to our long-term conservation plan, so as to maintain balanced numbers of the different species, and to respect the ecological carrying capacity of the reserve (that is, how many animals it can support).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews