We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bringan
Uppsala, Sweden

Good safari, good value for money

Review of Sable Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Nov 2016
The place is nicely set up, the environment beautiful and the standard of the rooms etc excellent.
The gamedrives are exciting and at least our guide, Tristan, was very helpful and informative. We really enjoyed his good knowledge about the animals and the habitat, thank you Tristan.
The food is good but the ques can be quite long at times.
Do not stay for Shorter than two nights and do the gamedrives early in the morning.
We went horseriding and came close to many animals, among them Rhinos. Just do it.
The polaren is nice and so is the pool but the colour of the water was green and did not look so inviting
Thank you Mabula for a wonderful experience
Date of stay: October 2016
Room Tip: Choos a room close to the reception, some are quite far away.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp  - Main Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
42.1 km from Sable Lodge
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
45.5 km from Sable Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 449
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
32.5 km from Sable Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 7 656
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 656
53.5 km from Sable Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 370
  • Priceline
53.5 km from Sable Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 4 958
R 4 092
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 092
31.0 km from Sable Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 128
  • Booking.com
21.5 km from Sable Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Mabula Private Game Reserve
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
1
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 August 2016

What must we do to change the attitude of the able-bodied towards the disabled. I went to Mabula Game Resort on the 12th August 16 only to arrive at the resort with major accessibility problems - steps to get in the unit, steps down to the lounge and steps up to the bedrooms and this after I travelled 280 kilometres. Eventually I was given a unit with only a small step to enter but I could not enter the bedrooms with the result that I had to sleep in the lounge - no privacy. What a shame - such a nice resort. The resorts must do more effort to switch people around to accommodate the disabled in the accessible units. Foreign visitors will not accept such a service, why must SA be treated differently!

Disabled greetings

Leon Labuschagne

Room tip: Make sure accessible units are available
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 395gjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This lodge should not be rented out at all. It is in a total state of disrepair. You arrive at the entrance staircase to a welcome of a half broken off step....No soap in the bathrooms, not enough towels. No service from the staff. A completely unroadworthy game drive vehicle with no canopy!
This lodge is completely misrepresented on the web site.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AvrilB134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Sable lodge consists of a central lodge for eating, swimming, BBQ (Braai) and 4 double bedroom lodges with maid service and one daily game drive included. The staff are lovely and friendly, the bedroom lodges are all double en suite rooms with tea, coffee and fridge facilities plus hairdryer btw. There are a lot of small maintenance issues that need addressing but we were asked to make a list of anything we found as they are closing for a maintenance period this year so all those minor niggles should be fixed. We got a 2 1/2-3 hour game drive everyday, John, our guide was very knowledgeable and happy to go look and generally find the animals we were looking for. As you are actually within the game reserve, you get all sorts of animals wandering through, warthogs, porcupine and elephants! luckily the elephants came through overnight and whilst they dug up our water pipe, didnt do much other damage!! Loved it and would go back there without a second thought. Mabula Game reserve is home to the Big 5, we saw lions, elephant, water buffalo, zebra, water buck, impala, hippos, warthogs, rhino amongst others :)

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.