We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
66
72
33
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
72
33
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt pans one night swimming pool excellent food outdoor bathroom overnight trip planet baobab water pressure nice spot nice pool and bar self driving accommodation options an oasis makgadikgadi pans two single beds comfortable chairs no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The managers and owners are absolutely amazing. Very nice, kind and helpful!
The staff are very friendly. Feels like a family..
The price is fair, great rooms, pool, WiFi, bar and restaurant, close to the bus station and supermarkets.
A good, pleasant and beautiful place to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AmozaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We arrived at Gweta Lodge intending on staying for one night but ended up staying for four. The owners James and Shayna made us feel so welcome and looked after us so well that we found it rather difficult to leave. We had stopped into Planet Baobab first but finding them to be overly expensive, popped into Gweta Lodge and were so glad we did. Why?
1. The friendliest welcome: James, Shayna, all their staff and even their pets treated us so well. They were so warm, genuine, provided helpful advice and nothing was ever too much trouble. We have met loads of friendly people in our southern africa travels but these guys took it to a new level.
2. The lodge is a proper little oasis: The main lodge is built around a pool and garden with plenty of sun lounges, an open air bar, fire pit and couches to enjoy it from. After bouncing around the dusty roads of Botswana, it was awesome to laze around the pool just chilling out. We especially loved the thatched, open air bar which makes you feel like you could have stepped back in time a little (in the best way). Adding to this, the camping area has everything you need from hot showers, electricity, braai stands etc. Oh, and there is good, free wifi as well. Some might think that being located actually in Gweta village (versus out in the countryside) is a downside but we thought it was great as you get to appreciate a different side of Botswana life. And, when you’re lazing around the pool you feel like you’re miles from anywhere anyway!
3. Get the inside word on the local area: James’s (the owner) family has been in the area for years so they have a wealth of local knowledge and are more than happy to share it. Whether it’s taking a safari drive down the Boteti River to see 1000’s of zebra and wildebeest, camping in the Baobab Forest or charging out onto the Mkgadikgadi salt pans to find Kubu Island, James and Shayna can sort you out with one of their tours of just the right advice if you’re self driving.
4. Price: At P80/person/night for camping, Gweta Lodge was almost half the price of Planet Baobab (P150/person/night). While to be fair, we didn’t stick around to see what you got for that price at Planet Baobab, as above, we were so happy with what we got at Gweta Lodge.
Lonely Planet and others will direct you to Planet Baobab first but in our opinion if you’re looking for the friendliest oasis in Botswana, you want to be heading to Gweta Lodge. It’s not often that you leave a lodge / hotel feeling like you have made true friends but that’s how we feel about Gweta Lodge. Once again, thanks James and Shayna!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We did not stay at Gweta Lodge but we did book their half day trip to see the Meerkats and ride the quad bikes on the pans. Shayna and James were so welcoming and friendly and 10/10 to Shayna for her assistance with booking the excursion.

This is an activity that shouldnt be missed!

Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ilaladeputygm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We had a great experience in the Gweta Lodge. The owners are so nice, and the night we spent in the salt pans was one of the best experiences I ever had! The pool was really good, and also the food was good!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Very nice place to stay. We were with 5 girls and had the best time. Also, it is a must do to visit (and sleep at) the salt pans which you can arrange at the lodge. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lodges were simple but they have everything you need. Also there is a lot of space to relax outside and at the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Siri2_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews