We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
66
72
33
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
72
33
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt pans one night swimming pool excellent food outdoor bathroom overnight trip planet baobab water pressure nice spot nice pool and bar self driving accommodation options an oasis makgadikgadi pans two single beds comfortable chairs no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Lodge with great charm, the staff was kind, and the ambiance was relaxed and quiet. The swimming pool was great to have a break during the trip. The room was a private cabin with its own open air bathroom, very cozy, and it was clean. The Wifi worked more or less, as usual for Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etokritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed one night in the lodge and booked one overnight trip to the pans with a visit to the meerkats. The lodge offers nice places to sit and relax during the day or enjoy a cool swim in the pool. The overnight trip was the actual highlight sleeping directly under the stars in a cosy and surprisingly warm bed with dinner and breakfast included and enjoyed around a fire while looking at the sunset and sunrise. A really memorable experience highly recommended to any visitor of Gweta.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NadoryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It is exceptionally good value.
The food is excellent.
Nice ambient bar and pool with EXCELLENT Wifi - the best we encountered in a hotel / lodge in Southern Africa.
Staff an absolute delight, so helpful and can't do enough. 
Plug points next to our room and car park so were able to plug our car fridge in.
This is a family run & owned lodge. It is currently being run by James and his charming and helpful partner Shayna . They are fantastic, caring and personal and so interested in where we went and gave great local advice too (say going to Bains or Chapmans Boababs)
The lodge also run their own game vehicles and tours.
Will certainly stop off here again when we next visit Botswana. I recommend

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Gweta Lodge Sat-Wed in August, including a night on the salt pan. The lodge itself is very comfortable and the food is good, especially the soup in the evenings which is home made and superb (pun intended). Special thanks have to go to James and Bailey, who made our trip to the pan feel absolutely unique. It was marvellous and nothing was too much trouble throughout our entire stay at Gweta. The overnight trip to the pan was very competitively priced and far less than another lodge nearby. The family I was with have been on the pan before, with the other company, and rated Gweta Lodge far higher on all counts. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Gweta Lodge has friendly service, helpful staff great food and very close to the Makgadikgadi NP & pans. Nice pool for hot summer times and very friendly guides to take you around. And don't forget the good Wi-Fi in the bar :)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elle122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews