We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place that hugs all the senses”
other travellers have booked this property
Craobh Haven Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craobh Haven Cottage
View from the cottage Inside Islay Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Craobh Haven Cottage
View from the cottage
Inside Islay Cottage
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Inside Islay Cottage
Cottage window and view
The cottages from across the bay
Sunset over Craobh Haven
A comment from visitors
Another comment from our visitors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dream7944...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place that hugs all the senses”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

One of the best holidays we have had. Matthew was easy to contact in advance. Jura Cottage was warm and inviting for us all including two dogs (we took our own dog cage). With breathtaking views and the sea just a few yards away. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. The first evening we walked out onto the nearby path reaching into the bay- saw a seal. The wild flowers including orchids and other beauties were in profusion. There is plenty to do in the area such as boat trips for whale watching and seeing the whirlpool, lovely gardens and fantastic fresh food in nearby pubs. Craobh Haven village and marina are interesting even for landlubbers like us. But also the cottage is the perfect place just to sit and watch the bay from the window and enjoy a wee drink.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JimP1970
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning views from a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed in Islay Cottage last week and would definitely go back. From the warm welcome as we arrived we knew this would be an excellent experience.

As self-catering cottages go, we have rarely encountered a better equipped property, but have *never* had as lovely a view from the sitting room. You can spend hours watching the light change, and if you’re lucky you will be able to watch a variety of local wildlife in the harbour. Once you retire for the evening, the beds are very comfortable indeed.

The local pub offers good seafood and a wide choice of drinks and is close by, so you don’t feel that you need to cook every night.

Take the opportunity to explore locally and be rewarded by stunning views down the Sound of Jura.

Excellent location and I must commend the owners for the clarity and warmth of the communication, before and after the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
575caroli...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“27°!”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Although from Scotland, and spending childhood family holidays in Tighnabruaich, I have never ventured into this area. On arrival, my daughter and I were so impressed with the amazing view, Marina and location. Discovering Islay holiday home only added to our delight and satisfaction at choosing the right location, and the right house. Opening the curtains on (all) the sunny mornings was uplifting as were the sunsets.
We island hopped from Seil, delightful, and the slightly scary ferry to Luing, another great, remote location. My daughter ventured out on the Rib from Seil and saw pods of Dolphins and Porpoises.
Mull too was a great day trip, Tobermory worth a visit.
The weather was superb. Every day hotter than the last, reaching 27°. A beautiful house in a stunning location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
So glad you enjoyed the cottage and the area. Thank you for sharing all the things you did during your week (most of which can be done in the rain too - for a 'different' experience!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander764...
1 review
“A piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I have been travelling to Craobh Haven and Ardfern for many years and never tire of the area. The cottage is perfectly situated in Craobh Haven to take in the breathtaking views especially from upstairs. It is so well equipped and cosy especially when the fire is on. We were lucky with the weather and walked with our dog mostly just locally - around the village there are lovely short walks and there is a great walk over to Ardfern with lunch in the Crafty Kitchen a must. Although we did not do it this time Arduaine Gardens and Kilmartin Museum are great for an afternoon out. The local pub is friendly and the food is good. The shop in Ardfern is well stocked with good local produce as well. But mostly what to enjoy is the peace, the views and the air in this lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing