We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
The Ash
Melville, South Africa

Budget Friendly with Perks

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2024
Very nice and budget friendly hotel. The outside facade does not match the service we received inside. Luckily they are busy renovating so we can't wait to see the much needed facelift.
We changed from being Business guests to conference goers due to some difficulties elsewhere, but we were accommodated and welcomed with open arms. THANKS to Leeroy, Antoinette and all the other staff members. WE APPRECIATE YOU.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in front. The rooms at the back have a nasty smell due to older carpets.
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
parking was big for our vito. Thank you.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
1.8 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Daisy suite, en suite bathroom
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Logo
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
8.6 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
Get rewarded with One Key
    2.6 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
    Room service
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.8 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
    • Lol.travel
    3.3 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    3.6 km from Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
    View more hotels in Pinetown
    Reviews (316)
    Filter reviews
    316 results
    Traveller rating
    82
    128
    68
    22
    16
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    82
    128
    68
    22
    16
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 316 reviews
    Reviewed 8 November 2023

    This is earliest the worst hotel in the premier group I’ve ever stayed in the rickety old stairs I have to climb to the 2nd floor smell musty and everything is always late I including the coffee and the oily eggs at breakfast. Then the staff stand around like they have no idea when they’re doing

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Terri1234567
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

    One of the worst hotels I’ve stayed at. Wouldn’t rate it as a hotel!
    1. No taxis to local restaurants
    2. Ironing facilities in a room you have to go to and iron your own clothes, not private
    3. Breakfast mediocre. Arrived late despite indicating the night before arrival time for breakfast. Yogurt was watery. Cranberry juice poor quality
    4. No hot water. Was moved to another room to shower. Water pressure poor.
    5. Staff responsive to issues but manager’s attitude was flippant. Seemed like these are common problems not worthy of any apology

    At R1,530 (£65) a night, not worth the stay!

    Room tip: Avoid booking here. In a semi industrial busy area
    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank diner404
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 February 2020

    I've been visiting Splendid Inn for business travel for the past 2 years, staying an average of 1 - 2 weeks at a go. Overall, the stay is OK until day 4-5. at that point you start noticing certain patterns:
    1. Day of arrival is always a mess, due to the slow check in. And the fact that we usually arrive as a group (about 33 people), with only 2 receptionists on duty, assisting with manual check in. Maybe check in is facter with smaller groups. but there i a need to improve the check in system.
    2. The ROOMS: well, they are spacious. However, because all rooms have carpets, some rooms to have a stench due to either mould or dampness. Becarefull when selecting a room.
    3. AIRCONDITIONERS in Rooms: you cant adjust the settings of the airconditioners. all you can do is to switch them on and off.
    4. The hotel does not have a lift to take you to the next floor, so if you are a heavy packer, note that all luggage will need to be carried up the stairs.
    5. Restaurant: On arrival the food is always amazing, however, over time the food becomes a routine. Some chefs do their best to cater to the different needs of guests, while other impose their preference on you. Depending on day guests being hosted at the conference venues, that also affect the type of lunch you recieve. The restuarant can do better by widening options for guests, such as providing starters and more vegetable dish options. The food becomes monotonous after 3-4 days as there is little creativity that goes into meal preps. it is also important to note that in our last visit, we did have 2-3 days of decent food, as management was being hosted during the period, we even had cheese platters, soup and a variety of fresh bread rolls :) Oh.....Did i mention they make the meanest croissants for breakfast?!?!?
    6. Noise at the Pool Area: The pool area is right next to Reception, and there are incidents where there would be groups socialising at the pool area until late hours in the night. Management should come up with ways to control access to the pool area after 18H00, because when a group is making noise then the entire hotel is deprived from having a quiet place to relax in.
    7. LOCATION: The hotel is conviniently located, right in front of a shopping centre, and close to UKZN, Pavilion Mall and the city. And if you have acces to a car, you will happy that most places are easily accessible, with most being approximately 20KM away (e.g. Durban, Durban North, Westville, Kloof). And the area where the hotel is located is quiet and peaceful.
    8. HOUSEKEEPING: Where to start? This area needs serios improvement. all the housekeeping does is to straighten the bed, put back towels in place and ...... maybe refil toilet rolls. I think that i might just need to bring along my own all purpose cleaner during my next visit. So it would be nice if a toilet brush will be provided in the rooms.
    9. HOSPITALITY: The hotel staff is very friendly especially Nandi, Sis Mpumi, Rasta, Bab Charles, Bab Jabu, Lee-Ann, and some Chefs (just forgot their names). and also the ladies that serve as waiters in the restuarant. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. They are always ready to assist guests, and alway give feedback on things asked.
    10. WIFI: Slowesr WiFi ever. very frusrating

    Despite everything, the stay at the hotel is pleasant and caters for business travel. main areas of improvement are the Hosekeeping and restuarant. Besides, i think that Splendid Inn is probably the best hotel to stay in when visiting Pinetown.

    Room tip: rooms away from stairs are best. less noise.
    Date of stay: February 2020
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MatshidishoL
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

    What's great is the fact that the pool is now clean and you can swim. The restuarant staff is still efficient and friendly. The food is okay but can do with some creativity from the chef's side (a 2 weeks stay with the same food on the menu) can be boring. However, during my previous visit the kitchen staff tried to accommodate my dietary requirements. The hotel really needs to improve how they handle group check-in, there current system is a nightmare. I honestly give up on the housekeeping staff at this place.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank P_Molefe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 August 2019

    We spend some time at the hotel this past weekend to get a feel of what to expect for a large international sporting event. My advise to anyone is to stay away. The rooms are well fitted with good quality furnishings. On arrival we were handed our room key, and only once the receptionist saw us carrying our luggage did she offer us a porter. I was quoted three different rates for our stay. I paid for the accommodation, and when we arrived I was told we had paid R100.00 short. At around 12.30 in the morning a bunch of locals arrived and began having a part in the couryard below our room. No effort was made by hotel staff or security to remore these poeple or quiet them down, in the morning when we left, they were still there, and the attitude of the staff was one of "we don't care". This is not what I paid R1360.00 for, nor can I bring guests from all over the world to. As a result of the expierce we had at this hotel, we have decided not to take the event there. Please management make your staff aware that you have lost a world recognised event. To any travellers or tourists, I would reccomend that you go somewhere else.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Thank Larina M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews