We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place to relax and explore.”
other travellers have booked this property
One of a Kind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of a Kind
Paradise Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
One of a Kind
Paradise
Living Room
Washroom
Relaxing deck with BBQ
Nook looking into theKitchen and dining room
Pantry
Kitchen
View from the Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Nook, access to the deck.
Master Bedroom.
View of the Guesthouse from the Beach nearby.
View of Cape Blomidon from the beach. Also, the highest tides in the world.
View from the 'Lookoff' nearby, its quite the sight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Canning, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Compass66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to relax and explore.”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights here over Thanksgiving and loved every minute. The place was warm, cozy and had everything we needed. The beach in front of us provided much to explore and hardly a person in sight. Our two dogs and four year old grandchild were in their glory. We loved touring the area, the wineries and various shops. The landlord was very informative and gave us some great tips. A great place for family to gather. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being with our sons, their families and their dogs. Not having to worry about keeping everything perfect at all times. Very relaxing place.
Liked least: Their was nothing that we did not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashforque...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely quiet place by the sea”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We found this to be a beautiful and relaxing place to stay with young children (ours are aged 2 and 5). The property is clean and well maintained but really homely, so you quickly feel comfortable. Roger, the very affable owner, lives 50 yards away if you have any queries. We got super-lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy the beach, and the shallow, very swimmable, stretch of nearby sea in the amazing Minas Basin, every day. The views of the shifting tidal waters are incredible to watch and in the shallowest spots the water can get surprisingly warm. There are virtually no ripples, let alone waves, so it was a very safe place for children to splash and (learn to) swim. The beach is only 2mins walk away and really quiet - most days we were the only people there. It's reached by a 100yards of (virtually traffic free) dirt track and then a short path over some grassy marsh, so it tends to get very view visitors from outside the several nearby properties. (The beach is not sand, it should be noted, but a kind of soft and slightly muddy fine shale.) MilCreek Guesthouse also has a nice deck and a lawn (with a shady maple tree) which offers another great play area, plus there are some really handy kids toys and games stored in the property. You can use the fire pit in the evenings. And compared to Cape Breton, the other part of Nova Scotia that we know, there were hardly any bugs here at all, which was wonderful, probably in part due to the sea breeze. The whole area is off the beaten track, in a thoroughly nice way. Canning, the nearest village (5mins drive), has a characterful artsy feel and a really good local grocery supermarket. Port Williams (15mins away) is a little larger and has a really good riverside pub in a regenerating industrial area, with an excellent microbrewery adjacent. Wolfville (30mins away) boasts an impressive Saturday farmers market and a delightful Main Street of interesting eateries and cafes, clearly boosted by the student population from Acadia university. You can get amazing views of the Minas Basin and the start of the Annapolis valley from the Lookoff (about 5mins drive). There is also Blomidon winery nearby (10mins drive), where you can sit on the deck and sip your way through their selection. It basically felt like a perfect location for us. We would definitely go back. And there are no doubt many things in the area that we didn't discover, because it was so nice being lazy at the Guesthouse and on the beach.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevandDav...
Wainwright, Canada
1 review
“Rustic cottage that met our needs for our outdoor backyard wedding”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house gave guests plenty of space.
The inclusion of extra bedding and linen, washer and dryer and plentiful cutlery and kitchenware allowed us a lot of flexibility when planning for our wedding.
Owners, Roger and Donna, were extremely pleasant, helpful, and creative, during
Our stay and our backyard wedding.

Addition of an upstairs bathroom would have been helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size of home and property
Liked least: Upstairs and downstairs steep staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hello2000
MD
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Loved our second trip back to this home- such a beautiful location. This is near the water, farmlands, and Blomidon- great place for a family to explore. The house has all the things needed- and extras like toys, books, etc. Also has some nice conveniences for a family like a bathtub and a separate shower stall, dishwasher, washer and dryer, nice backyard, grill, etc. the house itself has several rooms downstairs to use so you can have a little space if you need it to relax. Roger, the host is a great person and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D
1 review
“Amazing Weekend!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a lovely place! Had a girls getaway this weekend and we can't say enough about this cottage. The beds will comfortably sleep 6 and there is tons of space for air mattresses. Lots and lots of blankets, bedding, towels etc. Everything we needed over the weekend we found in the house. The area is gorgeous as is the cottage itself. We were able to visit the Port Pub and Bistro in Port Williams as well many wineries in the area! (Check out the Magic Winery Bus in Wolfville!). Roger checked in with us on the first day of our stay to tell us about the place and make sure we had everything we needed. He is a wonderful host! He assured us we could get in touch with him if we needed anything! He also popped on our last day to let us know that no one was arriving that day and that we could take our time :) We had the best weekend here and I would absolutely stay here again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing