We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views, amazing area”

Review of Casa Palmera

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / Breakfast Room Kitchen / Breakfast Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Kitchen / Breakfast Room
Kitchen / Breakfast Room
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Pool
Pool / Terrace
Upper Terrace
1st Floor Bathroom
Rear Elevation of House
Front of House and Driveway
Pool
Entrance hall
Entrance Area
Gazebo with stone table and seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Province of Almeria, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
tedhat
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing views, amazing area”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This house has been an absolutely fantastic place to stay for two weeks; when we arrived, having been met by Roy and Sharon, we were just stunned by the fabulous location and the views from so many vantage points at the property. The house itself is very well kitted out (with the most comfortable sofas ever in the upstairs sitting room) and, luckily, has air con in all the bedrooms plus some other rooms (and you do need it here in the summer!). Wifi works well and there is a TV and DVD for the occasional programme or film if needed. However, it is the outside space that does it for me - the pool is great - really good depth at one end and steps down at the other. All sorts of fruit trees (I didn't have to buy any lemons plus there is also a pomegranate tree!) and plenty of spaces to sit and watch the views and the skies. As well as Roy and Sharon, we met Chris and Maria who also help to look after the house and pool - both couples were lovely and helpful.

The roads around here are in really good condition. The final couple of miles are a bit more stony but we had no difficulty at all getting around the area as, after 5 or 10 minutes, you can get onto fast roads up and down the coast. We visited Almeria a couple of times (good to visit - lots of shops!), Garrucha (larger coastal resort with lots of restaurants), Mojaca (we went there lots of times - about 30 mins' easy drive - amazing tapas) Lubrin (great market on Weds morning) but our favourite place was Agua Amarga. Just loved it there - was almost like being somewhere like Greece - whitewashed coastal village - just beautiful and about 35 mins' drive. We also headed to Tabernas Desert - the only European desert. Just an incredible place to visit for a day - actually, we went in the middle of the afternoon and spent the whole time through to sunset there. There is a Repsol service station on the N92 with lots of parking (near the junction with the N340a) which I had, oddly, read about as a good place from which to try to head into the desert (you can't really drive through unless hiring a 4x4). This was a great tip and one I would repeat if we go back. We didn't bother going to the theme parks there but drove past them and can well understand why the desert was chosen as the location for so many films.

This part of Spain has been a real eye-opener for us - it is so unspoilt and we have just been stunned by the area. We would definitely come back and would recommend Casa Palmera without any hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigator...
2 reviews
“Tranquil, 4-bed house in isolated community.”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very comfortable stay: 2 twin bedrooms & 2 doubles, all with air-con. Beds all comfortable. Upstairs lounge also with air-con. Washing machine, dish washer, American style fridge freezer, coffee percolator, toastie machine, gas oven & hob, large TV with DVD player. 2 showers, 2 toilets, but neither are en-suite.

Pool is lovely. Good size for family. There are a few pool toys at the property: woggles, balls etcs. Pool depth is 1.2m - 2.0m. Nothing overlooks the pools, so nice and private.

The BBQ has a knack to it. Check out the instructions in the black folder that is a guide for visitors.

We went in late July, but if you went later in August I bet the lemons on the lemon tree would be properly ripe.

The couple who manage the property are just 15 minutes drive away and are super helpful, going above and behind what we would normally have expected (advice on medical centres and helping print off our boarding passes for our return).

Property is boarded by olive and almond trees. The local shepherds graze their goats around these trees.

Beautiful views of surrounding mountains.

Try the Thursday market at Sorbas which has lots of stalls used by locals (we didn't see a single tourist). Apples the size of melons and melons the size of planets. Restaurants and cafe in the old town also good. Churros & chocolate!!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbg1606
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal rural holiday rental”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here with family and extended family in July. For a period of 3 or 4 days there were 10 of us staying here, but there are 4 bedrooms and another room has a small fold up bed so there was plenty of space. Even with 10 people there are different terraces, seats and sun loungers to sit around so it never felt crowded. All bedrooms are air-conditioned, so that ensures a good nights sleep. We had none of the issues mentioned in some other reviews. Yes, the water pressure is a bit low at times, but this is rural Spain, and you're close to a desert, so what do you expect? The kitchen was more than adequate for a holiday let, with plenty of clean pots and pans, work surfaces and a large range style, gas cooker. The BBQ was spotlessly clean. The owners agents (Chris and Maria) were very helpful and responded quickly and sorted out any queries we had.
We found best local beaches between Mojacar and Carboneras, about 25 minutes drive. Sandy beaches, with great waves and sun-loungers to hire. Mojacar Pueblo is a bit of a tourist trap, but still worth the visit for the views alone. We also went to Garrucha a few times. Loads of fish restaurants along the promenade and the place has a nice relaxed family atmosphere. Not a whole lot of English spoken, so a few words of Spanish will help!
There's not much in Cariatiz (the local village). Two bars, which seem to open sporadically, but we didn't try them. There is a smallish Dia Supermercado in Sorbas, about 15 minutes drive which is open to about 9 pm, except Sunday (closed all day). Larger supermarkets in Vera and Mojacar.
In summary if you want pubs, clubs and bright lights go somewhere else. If you're looking for a quiet, rural based holiday in clean spacious accommodation this will probably fit the bill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
manuel200...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Can be very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Overall nice, spacious house with beautiful views
Things that weren't ok at arrival and the time it took to repair it as well as the owners reaction:
The pool water was turbid ( 3 days)
Outside pool shower: not enough pressure of the water to take a shower (unsolved)
American fridge was broken ( 4 days)
Very low pressure of the water in the kitchen (unsolved)
Too old and rusty pans to cook in ( 2 days)
BBQ was not cleaned ( 2 days )
2 of the 4 single beds: 2 or 3 planks were missing ( we did not mentioned this because we did not need the beds and maybe it started to be too much)
The mangers on side were very helpful and friendly.
Contacting the owner, most problems were solved.
He did not recognize this price was, given the above mentioned problems, highly overrated. He allowed us staying 2 more nights, one for free, the second one we should pay, which we did not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Dear Evy, thank you for your review this is the first time that we have had any negative feedback in respect of the house and in response to the points that you raise I would like to confirm the following:
- due to the hot weather there was a lot of sun lotion evident in the pool from the family that visited immediately prior to your stay, I understand that this was resolved almost immediately.
- the pressure on the outside pool shower was low during your stay due to an issue with water pressure locally, this has now been rectified.
- there was a problem with the American fridge in the kitchen, this was replaced with a brand new American fridge the day after the defect was reported. There is a second fridge/freezer within the kitchen that was fully working at all times during your stay.
- I note your comments regarding the pots and pans in the kitchen, we have always found these to be adequate during our stays with friends and family but we have now increased the number. We were unaware at the time that you booked that you would be holding a large family gathering at the house during your stay.
- the barbecue should have been cleaned prior to your stay, I apologise for this not being done, we have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again.
- with regard to the slats on the beds, the bases to the beds have been upgraded but at the time when you booked (for two adults and two children) we were unaware that you would require 6 beds to be in operation. The beds in 3 of the rooms were not missing slats. We did not receive a query from you in respect of the slats during your visit or we would have dealt with this also.

This is our family house and we attempt to always maintain this in the condition that we would hope to find it in when our family visits. We also attempt to offer value in respect of rental rate for the accommodation and facilities available and will always attempt to address any issues in respect of the house as urgently as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing