We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SolihullRichard
Dorridge, United Kingdom

Excellent lodge close to South Luangwa

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Sept 2023
The younger family members camped in an area restricted by electric fencing to keep put any predators, and the almost resident hippos and elephants, whereas I stayed in a very comfortable chalet with a considerable amount of living space. Full mosquito netting in place, and guides to walk you around the site in the dark to avoid any unwanted encounters. Good choice for breakfast and other meals, and game viewing options into South Luangwa the nearby national park. River frontage - and Frank the hippo ambles across the site back to his pool each morning. Raised pool to restrict usage to humans and a small gym. Take cash as power outages can impact on card acceptance
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
.
R 8 399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 8 402
0.6 km from Track And Trail River Camp
Tented River View
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.0 km from Track And Trail River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 8 306
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Track And Trail River Camp
R 2 850
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 850
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 505
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Track And Trail River Camp
Breakfast included
Pool
R 3 327
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 327
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 349
  • Tripadvisor
    R 3 327
1.9 km from Track And Trail River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 8 310
Multiple ways to pay
    3.4 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 37 471
    • Agoda.com
      R 37 487
    • eDreams
      R 37 471
    10.8 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Kakumbi
    Reviews (282)
    Filter reviews
    282 results
    Traveller rating
    225
    44
    7
    5
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    225
    44
    7
    5
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews river camp south luangwa game drives photographic safari national park wild dogs safari experience outdoor gym chi chi five star fantastic experience land cruiser dining area view of the river leopard sightings bird life many thanks
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 282 reviews
    Reviewed 26 September 2023

    It was the first time in Africa for us and we are really happy that we chose to stay here. We saw everyday beautiful things with good explanation from our guides The food was really good and everything was perfect .Highly recommended The staff was excellent Thank everybody for the trip of our life
    Tova and Leenaert

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank leenaert B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 August 2023

    What a great experience and excellent lodge!
    The furnishing in 'my' cottage was so cosy, I immediately felt at home. Also a great thanks to all the people working at the lodge: all friendly and happy. The food is delicious; a nice swimming pool with a super view.
    I did a photography safari with a group and this was really awesome. We saw a lot of animals, even close, and made a lot of nice pictures. Leopards (yes more then one), lions, hyena, elephants, baboons, zebra's, hippos, wild dogs (we even went hunting with them), giraf, a lot of beautiful birds...too much to mention.
    Great drivers/spotters (wow, how could they spot this) and also the photography tips of Peter are really helpful.
    A place I will definitely visit again and would recommend to everybody!

    Room tip: Enjoy the view at the pool. Go for a walk at the lodge to discover the baboons, birds and bushbocks and maybe see a hippo or some elephants.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Petra v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 August 2023

    The camping facilities were situated on grass with each site having it's own braai, washing up facility and electricity power points. There are a couple of thatched structures for shade as well as a few trees. The ablution facilities were clean and they also offered a place to wash clothes. The lodge is situated on the edge of the Luangwa river with breathtaking views across the water from various areas including their elevated pool and loungers from where you can sit and watch the hippos and crocs right in front of you as well as the breathtaking sunsets at night. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. The Zambezi bream is highly recommended. We also went on an afternoon/evening game drive into the South Luangwa National Park which was a highlight. We saw lots of interesting game and were also privileged to see a leopard in a tree. Our ranger was very knowledgeable not only about the flora and fauna but also on his general knowledge of the country which was wonderful as we were able to learn more about Zambia. Peter and Chi Chi were outstanding hosts and went above and beyond to help us when we had an emergency to deal with. We had a look at the chalets situated on the edge of the river and have decided that we will definitely go back and stay in one of them.

    Room tip: The chalets are excellent value for money and their position is absolutely stunning.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank AnneG432
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

    Thank you Chi Chi and Peter for a fabulous stay at Track and Trail. You’re awesome hosts. Stunning chalets on the river under massive acacia albidas right near the entrance to the park. Food delicious. Team super friendly and helpful.
    Loads of animals right in the camp. Glad the baby elephant that fell through the septic tank survived!
    Your game guides are excellent. Thank you Vic and Enoch. Stunning sightings of leopard and lion every day. I like the afternoon/night drive combo it works beautifully.
    Plus good ethical processes in this place -staying here to supports the local community. We’ll be back!

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank MJvonH
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 August 2023

    In Trak and Trail Rivercamp you have beautiful lodges with great host and hostess and friendly and helpful staff. The cook conjures up delicious dishes on the table. The owner knows a lot about both nature and photography and tells enthusiastically about this. When you take a safari with him or one of his guides, it's garanteed you have a fantastic day with several animals en birds. It is highly recommended.
    Erna & Alida

    Room tip: A very good stay with great safaris!
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Alida W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews