We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
589zita
Stockholm, Sweden

A relaxing and perfectly situated waterhole for hanging out in between safari-activities

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jul 2023via mobile
We stayed with our family in two of the huts looking out over the river, for 4 nights. It was absolutely amazing. Hippos and elephants came to graze regularly just at the balcony and everything worked smoothly. The bar has an even better view, it is a great place to just hang out and the menu and kitchen is really good. We had not too much time to enjoy it as it was our first time and we were busy with activities most of the time, under the super- knowledgeable guidance of Vic. He must be one of the best guides there is, knows everything and goes out of his way to show more of the area then we’d expected.
The pool was also very nice and there is a small gym. We had planned to self-cater for most of the meals but that was a bit awkward at first - the self catering hut being rather far away, expensive (60usd/day) and it’s access road occupied by a hippo most of the time. But this was solved smoothly and effectively by the owner and we were given a braaistand at the nearby campsite instead. Great solution for us. We thus enjoyed our stay very much and will visit again maybe for photography course.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Make sure you stay long enough to enjoy the beautiful lodge area with nice bar and restaurant, as...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 25 Jul 2023
Thanks a lot or taking the effort to give us a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you staying with us.
Cheers Chichi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
the beautiful pool area
    0.2 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    .
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    0.6 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Tented River View
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    7.0 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Priceline
    4.3 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    R 4 900
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 4 900
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 4 888
    1.9 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Kakumbi
    Reviews (282)
    Filter reviews
    282 results
    Traveller rating
    225
    44
    7
    5
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    225
    44
    7
    5
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews river camp south luangwa game drives photographic safari national park wild dogs safari experience outdoor gym chi chi five star fantastic experience land cruiser dining area view of the river leopard sightings bird life many thanks
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 282 reviews
    Reviewed 26 March 2023

    Outstanding service and experience!

    Our group of 7 had the pleasure of experiencing Track & Trail River camp through the recommendation from Ryan at Socially Responsible Safaris @srsafaris.

    From the time we arrived until we left the camp, we were treated exceptionally well. The warm greeting from owners Cece & Peter, to the staff smiles from Albert and others made us feel welcome and at home.

    The accommodations were spacious, clean and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The rooms have fans and big nets over the beds to protect you from mosquitoes along with an incredible view of the river. Listening to the hippos snacking on grass outside your cabin was such a special experience. “Pinch me am I dreaming?” was a constant comment from our group during our stay.

    The food is - WOW! We had a few in our group with a few food allergies and restrictions and the chef’s made sure that no detail was missed in providing exceptional options for all.

    You feel safe and secure when sleeping as Pearson takes good care to ensure you are safe to your room each night with the open camp it’s exciting to hear what animals travelled through the camp at night.

    Vic who was our safari guide was OUTSTANDING! We had many game drives from early morning to late evening and amongst our list we saw giraffe, elephant, hippos, buffalo, zebra, lion & 9 baby lion cubs to much much more! The open air land cruiser was covered to protect you from the sun as well as comfortable seating. He had rain coats when needed, blankets as well as delicious drinks and snacks for our break times.

    I can’t say enough about our safari experience and look forward to visiting again!

    Room tip: No AC, but don’t need it with the fan and cool evenings. The safari can arrange for your transportation and any special requests. All inclus
    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank kelilynnmarshall
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 January 2023 via mobile

    The camp itself is a little paradise so close to the river, the hippos, monkeys strolling around and many other animals.
    The food in the evening is just delicious and very creative and tasty.
    The drives throughout the park with Peter are just unforgettable experiences I will never forget. He has such a big knowledge and never tired to share it. Always finding the best spots to watch the big variations of wild animals. I will for sure come back!

    Date of stay: November 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank JasminLovesToTravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    Thanks so much Jasmin, it was a pleasure to have you here at Track and Trail River Camp.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 January 2023

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Track and Trail camp. The lodges are so cozy and lovingly decorated. The food was unexpected deliciouses. Also the little outdoor gym and the pool are a nice variety after the safari tours (games). We saw so many animals at this time... was really a breathtaking experience. These place is really something special.

    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Andrea R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    Great review Andrea. Thanks so much for your contribution.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 October 2022

    This was our third visit ….
    Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Chichi.
    Since we were staying here for 14 days , we were lucky and got the honeymoon suite.
    What a room or rather what a huge flat : so spacious wit separate bathroom, (and also tube), separate toilet, safe, plenty of space for the cloths, separate salon, and a few seats in front of the bad …. And still a ball room in the middle free space.
    Cloths were washed within one day ….

    The food is really extra-ordinary : lunch as well as dinner is a 3-course menu BUT during our 2 weeks we have never ever had the same coming back. And it was delicious, it really is.

    And Chic and her team are constantly looking after you making sure everything is ok and you feel comfortable / at home.
    My wife was a few days not OK but Chichi took care of it….. THX soooo much.

    The safari: what can I say …..Peter is an extra-ordinary guide, spotter but also driver . He knows the park inside out. And above all an excellent photographer: he places the car where you would like to have it without asking…. , he anticipates what will happen …. He reads the situation…
    He knows perfectly well what will happen.
    Over the two weeks, I don’t think I had to ask Peter to move the car once.

    And the there is also Andrew, his spotter. This guy is from another planet: he evens spots chameleon on the night drive.

    T&T advertise they offer photographic safaris : well they do .
    After T&T we have spent some time in the north of south-luangwa in some camps which also offer these kind of safaris but they don’t come close , not even close, to what T&T is offering .

    Chichi, Peter and the team : thank you very much .
    Greetings to all going from mechanics, gardening, kitchen, room serves, pool, …

    We’ll be back

    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Robert D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    Hi Rob, Great to read your story about your experience at T&TRC. Hopefully we meet again one dat.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 August 2022

    We started planning our safari almost four years ago, and with Peters help, originally settled on a three location break, with Track & Trail dealing with the additional lodge bookings and the internal flights for us, making the whole planning very easy. Unfortunately COVID intervened and after cancelling the international flights twice, and simplifying the schedule we finally arrived in Mfwue in August 2022. This was our first safari, and in fact our first trip to Africa. We were not disappointed!!
    Track & Trail are ideally located, just a few minutes from the entrance to the national park, and on most occasions, we were the first vehicle in, avoiding the dust and able to get an early view of the animals. I have no previous experience of such safaris, or different national parks in Africa, but I can say that South Luangwa has set the bar extremely high! Animal sightings were plentiful and with the benefit of Peter or his team of guides & ‘spotters’, we were treated to a range of animal & bird sightings, informative explanations of animal behavior or photographic techniques culminating in a wonderful and memorable experience! While the big cats and elephants are impressive, we were also shown some of the smaller African wildlife and an abundance of stunning birdlife. This is a company which cares about the whole of African wildlife and not just the big game.
    As for the camp itself, it is ideally located and very comfortable. Peter’s wife Chichi, and all the staff made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We were gratefully upgraded to the “honey moon” chalet, which was very spacious and comfortable. The food was delightful and the staff constantly helpful and welcoming.
    Whether you are an avid photographer or simply wish to see the wildlife through your own eyes, I have no hesitation in recommending Track & Trail and Peter Geraerdts and his team.
    Many thanks Peter for a truly memorable experience.

    Date of stay: August 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank KAW886
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    Thanks a lot Kevin for this great review. Hopefully we meet again one day in the bush

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews