We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kevin N
Waterlooville, United Kingdom

An amazing time at Track and Trail River Camp

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2022
We were fortunate to (finally, after 2 years of Covid delays) stay at this amazing camp very close to the Mfuwe entrance to South Luangwa National Park. We stayed in one of the river chalets which had an extremely comfortable large bed, two seating areas, a large shower, tub and view of the river from two large windows. The room had all the comforts of a luxury lodge and the food was of equally high quality with dishes which varied each day. Exceptionally high quality and levels of service. Chichi and the camp team were so attentive, welcoming and friendly - nothing was too much trouble and we really felt part of a family during our time there.

In terms of game drives, we had booked sole use of a vehicle with Peter as guide for a specialist photographic safari. Peter’s exceptional guiding and knowledge of the bush is enhanced by his photographic skills ensuring we were always in the best place for photographs as well as anticipating animal behaviour. We were able to stay with interesting sightings longer as well as learning some specific photographic techniques. Highlights of our time with Peter included multiple leopard sightings, wild dogs, elephants, over 130 different birds (casual viewing as opposed to concentrating on finding them), amazing scenes with amazing light at dusk and dawn… and many, many owls - we have our best ever spot-light photos due to Peter and Andrew’s (our tracker) skills to find the birds and Peter’s photographic tuition.

We thoroughly recommend Track and Trail River Camp as a place to stay for the Mfuwe sector, with brilliant accommodation, a wonderful swimming pool, gym and bar / restaurant and food at great prices. South Luangwa is magical and we will always opt for Track and Trail River Camp when we return to this area, it would be like returning home.
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: All of the river view chalets are exceptional
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2023
Hi Kevin and Nicky, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating. We really appreciated your stay with us. Please let us know what we can do for you in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
.
R 8 399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 8 402
  • Vio.com
    R 8 402
0.6 km from Track And Trail River Camp
R 8 306
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 8 306
4.3 km from Track And Trail River Camp
R 2 850
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 850
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 850
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 km from Track And Trail River Camp
Breakfast included
Pool
R 3 327
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 327
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 349
  • Tripadvisor
    R 3 327
1.9 km from Track And Trail River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 8 310
Multiple ways to pay
    3.4 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 37 471
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 37 471
    • Agoda.com
      R 37 487
    • eDreams
      R 37 471
    10.8 km from Track And Trail River Camp
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Kakumbi
    Reviews (282)
    Filter reviews
    282 results
    Traveller rating
    225
    44
    7
    5
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    225
    44
    7
    5
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews river camp south luangwa game drives photographic safari national park wild dogs safari experience outdoor gym chi chi five star fantastic experience land cruiser dining area view of the river leopard sightings bird life many thanks
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    23 - 28 of 282 reviews
    Reviewed 10 August 2022

    Track and trail is a family owned and run lodge with lot of warmth and soul to offer to their guests. The place is absolutely magical and reminds one of their own roots. Being in the wild and nature at the same time enjoying the comforts of a lodge. From the start of the booking phase Kirsten was extremely helpful and very professional. All my bookings were handled with ease and all my queries were answered patiently. We were welcomed very warmly by the gorgeous Chichi who is the heart and soul of the lodge. She greeted us with so much warmth and immediately showed us to our chalet. The chalet was absolutely neat and clean and perfect for our stay. Beds were cosy and very comfortable. The chalet overlooks the beautiful luangwa river which is brimming with life. We got to see many birds and hippo families with their new born calf. After our check in from long travels our host Chichi immediately welcomed us to the dining area for a sumptuous meal. With our bellies full of delicious food and the care given to us, we knew we are home for the next few days. Chichi ensured all our food choices were met. She starts work at the crack of dawn ensuring all her guests are well looked after and fed properly. She goes out of her way to know each of her guests and ensures we all are happy. She regularly checks on everyone to ask how our day was, how our drive was, how did we rest. Chi chi only rests once we all retire to our rooms. She is a wonderful warm host and it was an absolute pleasure getting to know her. She is always smiling even though she is juggling many things in a day. She actually reminded me of the super hero Wonder Woman. Big shout out to Team track and trail, Chi Chi, Albert and our wonderful ranger Effi. He took lot of efforts to show us all the animals we possibly could and accommodating all our requests so we could go home with exquisite pictures.We left the lodge with a heavy heart as we knew we are going to miss everything once we return to our busy city life. We will surely visit soon in the near future to enjoy the Zambian warmth and love shown to us. Thankyou for a wonderful trip.

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Anjali_Paws
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent review. We really appreciate your business. Chichi says hi!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 July 2022

    Just arrived back from a game viewing trip in the Luangwa valley in Zambia at the Track and Trail River Camp. It was a fantastic experience with all the animals available to view including Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Hyena and Painted Wild Dog Pack. The staff, accommodation and food were all five star, couldn’t recommend it more highly and hopefully I will be able to return.

    Mike Allen

    Date of stay: June 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank michaelmallen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    “Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We will share this with the T&T team to let them know to keep up the amazing work.”

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 June 2022

    We had absolutely incredible animal sightings and then were oh so glad to come home to Track and Trail where the staff were so ready to wine, dine and tuck us in! The site is a mini park, really a pleasure! Wouldn't have changed a thing and planning to return.

    Date of stay: June 2022
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank jandscarlton
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a 5-Star review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 June 2022

    Their rustic, thatched cottages set along the Luangwa River are beautifully apportioned and incredibly tidy. The South Luangwa gates are only a quick drive away making this lodge a great jumping off point to the Mfuwe Sector. Every day after our daily game drive in the park, we looked forward to the delicious meals that the talented kitchen staff had prepared for us. You will enjoy a real taste of Africa here.

    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mpbontrager
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star rating - it's much appreciated!"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 August 2021

    It was a good and unforgettable experience staying on track and trail. The people working there were extremely friendly and good. The chalet was good and neat with all comforts. the food was also good. We were able to see hippos and crocs and elephants throughout our stay. It was overall a nice trip for us.

    Room tip: Best river view and comfortable rooms for family
    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank shajrinn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Geraerdts, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

    We really appreciate you taking the time to share your rating with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews