We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
juliepearce2018
Wickford, United Kingdom

Great setting

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Sept 2023via mobile
It’s a lovely setting but I found the decor tired and could do with new furnishings. Pool was very nice and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was basic no toiletries apart from a small bar of soap so for anyone doing a long trip was not ideal. The room I had was in need of an update and used shared facilities which were ok but not I would have chose to do. Overall it was a lovely site and position but needs some talc
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Be prepared for basic facilities
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review
Responded 20 Sept 2023
Good Day Julie thank you very much for your candid review, Appreciated. I would like to clarify that it seems you chose a Budget room rather than a River Front Tent or Self-Contained Chalet, our superior accommodations which has all of the amenities. If you pay USD 25 as opposed to USD 150 per night it seems to me your priority was your wallet rather than your comfort. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tented River View
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.1 km from Croc Valley Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 10 051
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Croc Valley Camp
R 4 900
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 898
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 890
  • Tripadvisor
    R 4 900
2.1 km from Croc Valley Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 10 063
Multiple ways to pay
    3.5 km from Croc Valley Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kakumbi
    Reviews (360)
    Filter reviews
    360 results
    Traveller rating
    198
    101
    34
    21
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    198
    101
    34
    21
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews the river game drives south luangwa national park a lovely stay wild animals walking safari great safari knowledgeable guides herbert tent accommodation hippos camp lodge bank zambia
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 360 reviews
    Reviewed 21 August 2023

    We absolutely loved our 4 night stay at Croc Valley. It is a fantastic lodge because of its old world charm and total immersion in wildlife. We had a herd of elephants wander through camp twice, each day woke up to big baboons bouncing on our tent roof, watched spotted antelope grazing by the pool and enjoyed spotting hippo and crocs in the river from the deck. Food can take a while to arrive but with that view, who cares. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did self-drive for the safari which was brilliant. If you don't have a car, they advise you not to walk to the local town of Mfuwe because of all the animals but you can get a taxi. There are several great lunch spots in town, so it's fun to visit and get a wider selection of dishes if you're staying for a while.

    Date of stay: August 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank elektraGA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 August 2023

    This has to be one of our favourite camp sites ever! We were able to pitch our tent right by the river, with views of hippos & crocodiles, monkeys running around. We watched elephants crossing the river one morning, and some were walking around the campsite one evening. Great for birdwatching too.
    Facilities were great, nice toilets & showers, reasonably priced good food (inc vegetarian options), and a lovely pool.
    Camping & food at good prices, the safari trips also reasonable.
    The owner & staff all very lovely and helpful.
    Would highly recommend staying here!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Tamsin A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 August 2023

    Camping with many solution with different price range.
    We chose the eco-tent and were satisfied. Everything was always clean.
    The restaurant is good and prices are reasonable.
    The view is great. I really recomend staying here.

    Date of stay: August 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank alessandralcolombo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 August 2023

    The camp is on a fantastic site on the river, the game drive are perfectly organized, the national park is amazing with gorgeous landscapes and animals. The food is delicious and abondant, the staff friendly and helpful. The tents are basic but the whole experience worth the price.
    Absolutely recommended

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Barbara D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 August 2023

    Stayed 3 nights at the beginning of August 2023 on an all-inclusive basis in A/C riverfront tents.

    Collected from the airport and driven to the lodge, everything ready for us on arrival. We had one tent, kids had a twin bed tent. Meals announced by a drum - as the lodge has quite a long riverfront, this is a great idea.

    Food was varied and great quality. It's a fixed menu, but if you want to order something different - e.g. some local food, the staff was more than willing to accommodate.

    Early morning and late afternoon/night game drives are the reason for coming to South Luangwa, so 5:30 breakfast for a 6am leave - and it is cold before the sun comes up. The late afternoon drive ends with a night drive and a spotter with a lamp. The only game we didn't get to see was Wild Dogs - so a reason to come back.

    There is time between the game drives that allows you to relax. Which is needed after the early start. In retrospect, the one thing we should have done is used this time on one day to get a lift to the local village/town for the craft market(s) as there are no souvenirs to buy at the lodge. We only thought of this as we were on the way to the airport.

    Lovely view over the river, crocs and hippos in abundance. Elephants and other game wander around close to the camp, and a leopard came through the camp while we were on a game drive.

    The facilities are great as well - the widest bar I've ever seen, best swimming pool of our trip, not cold either. My daughter started playing chess on her phone for the rest of our trip after playing on the large board.

    Every member of staff was great. We did tip our driver, and left a large tip in the staff tips box at reception as there are too many to go around and tip individually - also some were off on the day we departed.

    Would we go again - yes.
    Would we recommend the lodge to others - yes.

    Date of stay: August 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank nvubu
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews