We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Becca S
Portland, Michigan

Great Weekend Getaway!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jul 2020
My boyfriend and I just spent the weekend at Croc Valley, and we were very pleased with our stay. When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome by staff, and showed to our accommodation - River Tent #1. The all inclusive package is definitely the way to go - lodging, game drives, and food. All of the meals were delicious!

I have visited South Luangwa National Park many times over the last few years. Our game driver, Bernard, was very impressive. He was knowledgeable about the animals and the park, and willing to answer any question we had. He asked before we started if there were specific animals we wanted to see, and did his best to make sure we saw them.

The atmosphere at the lodge is definitely one of fun and relaxation. Everyone is friendly, there is a great pool and many seating areas along the river to relax and site see.

I highly recommend to anyone traveling in the area looking for somewhere to stay.
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this review
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thank you very much for the great review !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
.
R 8 158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 890
  • Booking.com
    R 8 238
  • Vio.com
    R 8 158
0.5 km from Croc Valley Camp
Tented River View
R 15 581
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.1 km from Croc Valley Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 8 148
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 8 148
4.3 km from Croc Valley Camp
R 8 069
Multiple ways to pay
    3.5 km from Croc Valley Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Kakumbi
    Reviews (360)
    Filter reviews
    360 results
    Traveller rating
    198
    101
    34
    21
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    198
    101
    34
    21
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews the river game drives south luangwa national park a lovely stay wild animals walking safari great safari knowledgeable guides herbert tent accommodation hippos camp lodge bank zambia
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    35 - 40 of 360 reviews
    Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

    South Luangwa was the highlight of our holiday! We had the most amazing sightings (wild dogs, lions, leopards, birds and that is not all!) in the Emerald season, early Jan. The 6 campsites are located right at the river, under a shelter, which was a total blessing. Amazing pool in the camp. It is unique to be able to self cater (camping) while also having the luxury of a bar, restaurant and a pool. Never had that before, so it felt like a five star hotel. We were the only ones camping.
    Game drives and park entrance fees are more expensive than in other countries like SA, Bots and Malawi, but I cannot compare with prices in Zam. The chef made some delicious cookies for the morning game drive. We went on a self drive once, but it was very clear that guides driving around are not too happy with you doing that. We did not see anyone else do it.
    Some small improvement could very easily be made in the camp: cleaning of the communal kitchen, cleaning the restaurant tables, tightening the safari vehicle’s wheel nuts (and perhaps adding a few ;)), cleaning cigarette butts from the vehicle..
    We struggled with the monkeys, who would (especially when camp staff was out of sight) get in the car, even if you are standing in front of it, they just charge you and then go for it. Not sure what you can do about it...
    All in all I have had the most wonderful camping experience and we will definitely come back.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank stephaniedbvl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

    Ten of the best days I have ever experienced. Charl Beukes is the best host (as are his amazing staff) and has built a camp over 40 years that simply is a rustic must! It’s a camp. It’s in the heart of the REAL Africa in the South Luangwa Valley Zambia,where fauna and flora make you realise what a beautiful planet we have been blessed with. This place will have a piece of my soul forever. Dad and son time at it’s best.

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Perky1063
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    CrocValley, Owner at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

    Thank you very much for your kind remarks Mr Perkins. We sincerely all criticism but especially comments like these. I will advise my staff

    Once again Thanks you and safe travels

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 December 2019

    Definitely become my first choice when I think of a holiday in Zambia. Clean fresh air of the outdoors, friendly and courteous staff willing to assist and provide information. Amazing how the animals let you into their space. Next time I will come for a longer period of stay.

    Date of stay: December 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank Lindiwebungane123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    CrocValley, Owner at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2019

    Thank you very much for the review and very happy our staff were so helpful. I hope we do see you here for a longer period

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 November 2019

    We stayed here just one night on our way to another lodge. Croc valley arranged airport pickup. You must be picked up as there are no car rental agencies, public transport or taxis. This lodge offered basic accommodations w/ shared bathroom, a bar and lounge area, good breakfast, river views, and kind, lovely staff.

    Date of stay: November 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Kathleen F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    CrocValley, Public Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

    Thank you very much for your positive comments.

    We have and are always trying to improve and make it a memorable stay for our guests.

    Thanks you also for the great comments about our staff I will pass it on.

    Safe travels.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 November 2019

    The staff and surroundings are great. Nice menu with some vegetarian options. The accommodation itself is good value, but the food and drink can add up quickly.

    The pool is very clean and there is lots of wildlife walking around the camp all day.

    One thing to note, is that on their website it says

    Date of stay: November 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank nsclif2n
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    CrocValley, Public Relations Manager at Croc Valley Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

    Thank you for your review,

    We are always happy to get some feedback on our camp, as we are constantly trying to improve our facilities and guest experience.

    We hope to see you at Croc Valley again in the future.

    Safe travels.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews