We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing property, great on site team!”

Review of Villa Cappelli

Experience an amazing stay in an undiscovered, beautiful part of Italy.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Experience an amazing stay in an undiscovered, beautiful part of Italy.
Enjoy an authentic stay in a historic villa in the Italian countryside Enjoy beautiful views everywhere.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Experience an amazing stay in an undiscovered, beautiful part of Italy.
Enjoy an authentic stay in a historic villa in the Italian countryside
Enjoy beautiful views everywhere.
Soak up the Puglia sun and then cool off in the large outdoor pool.
Read a book or a sip a cocktail while relaxing by the pool.
The Courtyard Room. One of the ancient stone bedrooms with a private bathroom painstakingly restored
Enjoy the amazing features of ancient stone rooms.
Sleep comfortably in queen size beds. Linens all provided.
You won't be cramped in the Courtyard Room's large private bath.
Enter through the historic courtyard and enter a whole new world.
Large fully-stocked kitchen with an industrial stove, island, wood-burning pizza oven, and more.
You'll fall in love with the Garden Room, another ancient stone bedroom with a private bath.
You'll feel like royalty in the Princess Room with a private bathroom and views of the olive grooves
You definitely won't be roughing it with all the clean and spacious bathrooms.
Lavanda is easily accessed off the terrace.
Nice big bathrooms, unlike most in Europe.
Enjoy modern bathrooms with all the amenities.
Also easily accessed from the Terrace, the Primavera Room is truly relaxing.
Hang with friends and family in lots of common rooms.
The Gemini Room features twin beds and amazing views.
The Pompeii room is on the top floor and has mind-blowing views!
The Via Appia room is large with great views of real Via Appia.
Lupa is on the first floor on the Via Appia side of the villa.
Enjoy comfortable twin beds in Romulus & Remus room.
Another large bathroom to make life extra grand.
You don't have be stuck in your bedroom like a hotel. Tons of common rooms make it easy to hang out.
You'll love having meals on the loggia. Right next to the kitchen and poolside, it seats 20 easily.
You'll always a special spot to relax, drink, eat, and be merry.
Our ancient wine cellar can be converted into dinner or party spaces as well.
Explore the huge garden full of fruits, flowers and seating areas.
After a day of sightseeing, enjoy a glass of our homemade wine and some amazing views.
Enjoy a day trip to stunning Matera, the European Capital of Culture 2019.
Head over to Castel Del Monte, featured on the Euro penny & Templar legends. Just a half hour away.
Head over to Gravina, just a half hour away, and enjoy a truly breath-taking town.
Charming Terlizzi is just a couple of minutes from the villa with great restaurants and more.
You are sure to love Polignano a Mare as much as travel writer does!  Just 45 minutes away.
Take a quick trip to the sea and enjoy Giovinazzo, just 15 KL away.
Dine outside and make every meal special.
Need help? We have an apartment on the property & are available for any questions or services.
Cooking school on site. Learn how to make fresh pasta and local specialties.
Dance the night away under the Italian sky.
Look for a place for you destination wedding or what to renew your vows? We can help with that!
Get married in the olive grooves.
Choose just about any location.  Love is always in the air at Villa Cappelli.
Need car rental advice?  We might be able to help.  Car and bus service also available.
Join our harvest tour, pick olives and make your own extra virgin olive oil.
Learn how to make pizza in our ancient wood-burning brick pizza oven.
As a working agriturismo, we make our own extra virgin olive oil, which is available to you.
Our new bar next door is great for grabbing a coffee or drink with the locals.
The new reception area for the event space next door can make any occasion extra special.
Wake up and enjoy breakfast poolside.
Make any event a grand event with our newly renovated event space (subject to availability).
Dine poolside and make every meal an event to remember.
Dine like royalty and celebrate in style, like any good Italian!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Terlizzi, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Watters88...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property, great on site team!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for such an awesome week. We LOVED it there. The kids had the best time they have ever had in the 10 years they have been doing this. The kittens blew their minds. Indeed we all had the best time. Great food, amazing drinks and really great people all in a gorgeous location. I’ll be honest, we are always a little dubious about on site owners, we’ve had some odd experiences in the past but you guys really were the stars of the show. It was really great to meet you. We all agreed there were another few nights on the getting-to-know-you-Martinis in order.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bar
Liked least: No air con but then that wouldn't really be fitting to the property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thanks so much. Hope you guys return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simone746...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a dream!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Villa Cappelli, what an amazing and magic place.
The place, the smells, the food, the relaxing atmosphere was a dreamy experience.
Paul and Stephen are the best hosts and they made us feel as part of the family.
Thank you guys, you are simply the best!
Simone

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thanks so much, Simone! It was so awesome meeting you guys. Can't wait until your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penelopef...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really unique experience ... travelling back in time with all the luxuries you want today”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our visit to Villa Cappelli was the highlight of our trip. We arrived on Mothers Day and were treated to an authentic Italian luncheon that included guests and family of our hosts, Paul & Steven. The homemade wine, fresh fruits and vegetables from the garden, Italian and English conversation made us feel like real Italians, not just tourists. The property dates back to the 6th century and maintains much of the original architecture but modern comforts like high end shower heads are integrated seamlessly into the setting.
Villa Cappelli is on the Appian way and there is plenty to do in the area. Paul graciously escorted us to several local spots and provided tons of facts and stories about the history of this locality. It is a post card perfect location that we would recommend to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
Thanks, Penelope! Hope we get to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabastr0
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A dream destination for wedding, family or friends”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you ever saw the movie "Stealing Beauty," and wanted to be Liv Tyler in that movie, here is your chance. We heard about Villa Cappelli from an event planner friend in New York. It's a stunning stonework villa in Puglia, restored to its full romantic glory, with the added touch of a soft-water pool and sculpture garden. The owners have recently finished restoration and expansion of a beautiful vaulted-ceiling great hall for "Big Night" dinners and dancing. The food, flowers, cats, sky...everything here conspires to sweep you off your feet with sun-drenched Italian seduction and charm. The hospitality is purely Italian, with a touch of Texas charm thrown in for good measure (own of the owners is from the US). The rooms are spacious and lavish in an old-school way. A fantastic time, with day trip to Pompeii - we look forward to returning for our wedding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The chance to truly relax, talk and enjoy a beautiful setting; every meal was delicious.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thanks! We would love to have your wedding here. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crookedca...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely but needs a good clean”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely large eclectic villa - there are 22 cats and 3 very large dogs who live on site as do the owners. Paul, Steven and Kacy are very friendly and helpful to their guests. The premises and kitchen could do with a good clean, kitchen very well set up and the meal that was cooked for us by Steven was delicious and very well priced. Lots of great local wine and convenient to Bari airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining in the logia
Liked least: needed a good clean and 22 cats and 3 large dogs wandering around
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
It was lovely having you and your friends here for your birthday week. So sorry you weren't satisfied with the cleanliness of the Villa. We gave it a thorough cleaning before your arrival and did the best we could. Admittedly, you caught us during a not so perfect moment — construction, a broken arm and three new litters of kittens which we hadn't had time to put up for adoption. If you had let us known anything was bothering you during your stay, we would have addressed it immediately. We're happy that the rest was to your satisfaction. Thank you for the constructive criticism — it'll only make us try even harder. Paul, Steven and Casey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing