We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“When can I move in permanently?”

Review of Villa Cappelli

Experience an amazing stay in an undiscovered, beautiful part of Italy.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Experience an amazing stay in an undiscovered, beautiful part of Italy.
Enjoy an authentic stay in a historic villa in the Italian countryside Enjoy beautiful views everywhere.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Experience an amazing stay in an undiscovered, beautiful part of Italy.
Enjoy an authentic stay in a historic villa in the Italian countryside
Enjoy beautiful views everywhere.
Soak up the Puglia sun and then cool off in the large outdoor pool.
Read a book or a sip a cocktail while relaxing by the pool.
The Courtyard Room. One of the ancient stone bedrooms with a private bathroom painstakingly restored
Enjoy the amazing features of ancient stone rooms.
Sleep comfortably in queen size beds. Linens all provided.
You won't be cramped in the Courtyard Room's large private bath.
Enter through the historic courtyard and enter a whole new world.
Large fully-stocked kitchen with an industrial stove, island, wood-burning pizza oven, and more.
You'll fall in love with the Garden Room, another ancient stone bedroom with a private bath.
You'll feel like royalty in the Princess Room with a private bathroom and views of the olive grooves
You definitely won't be roughing it with all the clean and spacious bathrooms.
Lavanda is easily accessed off the terrace.
Nice big bathrooms, unlike most in Europe.
Enjoy modern bathrooms with all the amenities.
Also easily accessed from the Terrace, the Primavera Room is truly relaxing.
Hang with friends and family in lots of common rooms.
The Gemini Room features twin beds and amazing views.
The Pompeii room is on the top floor and has mind-blowing views!
The Via Appia room is large with great views of real Via Appia.
Lupa is on the first floor on the Via Appia side of the villa.
Enjoy comfortable twin beds in Romulus & Remus room.
Another large bathroom to make life extra grand.
You don't have be stuck in your bedroom like a hotel. Tons of common rooms make it easy to hang out.
You'll love having meals on the loggia. Right next to the kitchen and poolside, it seats 20 easily.
You'll always a special spot to relax, drink, eat, and be merry.
Our ancient wine cellar can be converted into dinner or party spaces as well.
Explore the huge garden full of fruits, flowers and seating areas.
After a day of sightseeing, enjoy a glass of our homemade wine and some amazing views.
Enjoy a day trip to stunning Matera, the European Capital of Culture 2019.
Head over to Castel Del Monte, featured on the Euro penny & Templar legends. Just a half hour away.
Head over to Gravina, just a half hour away, and enjoy a truly breath-taking town.
Charming Terlizzi is just a couple of minutes from the villa with great restaurants and more.
You are sure to love Polignano a Mare as much as travel writer does!  Just 45 minutes away.
Take a quick trip to the sea and enjoy Giovinazzo, just 15 KL away.
Dine outside and make every meal special.
Need help? We have an apartment on the property & are available for any questions or services.
Cooking school on site. Learn how to make fresh pasta and local specialties.
Dance the night away under the Italian sky.
Look for a place for you destination wedding or what to renew your vows? We can help with that!
Get married in the olive grooves.
Choose just about any location.  Love is always in the air at Villa Cappelli.
Need car rental advice?  We might be able to help.  Car and bus service also available.
Join our harvest tour, pick olives and make your own extra virgin olive oil.
Learn how to make pizza in our ancient wood-burning brick pizza oven.
As a working agriturismo, we make our own extra virgin olive oil, which is available to you.
Our new bar next door is great for grabbing a coffee or drink with the locals.
The new reception area for the event space next door can make any occasion extra special.
Wake up and enjoy breakfast poolside.
Make any event a grand event with our newly renovated event space (subject to availability).
Dine poolside and make every meal an event to remember.
Dine like royalty and celebrate in style, like any good Italian!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Terlizzi, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Loco2Go
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“When can I move in permanently?”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Can't accurately put into words how much i loved my stay at Villa Cappelli. Paul and Steven are fantastic hosts, and just were non-stop in their hospitality. Way, way above norm. I don't know when they slept. Have stayed in many expensive resorts, as well as private villas, the world over, but i can’t say I have ever been happier after experiencing the warmth of Paul's and Steven's hospitality.

And then there was the food! Steven is just such an insanely great cook -- pasta with roasted tomatoes, their own exquisite spicy olive oil, and the seafood broth pasta cooked with sea water -- these are just some of the dishes that I will never forget. Their food was better than two of the highest rated Michelin restaurants in Italy that we tried out on other day/nights.

Pizza night at the villa, which admittedly sounds boring on paper, was a tremendously fun affair with Paul and Steven teaching all the guests how to make the pizzas by scratch and bake them in their brick oven. It was so much fun, with nonstop laughter and merrymaking, that I am thinking I am going to have to build a brick oven myself.

Paul never slowed up on the free pouring from his delicious cellar during the entire stay. The tab for the wine and liquors alone far exceeded what the trip should cost. Paul unselfishly accommodated everyone on their requests to chauffer them around, not to mention the countless hours he had to drive keeping up with folks with so many different cycling abilities.

More than anything else, I had such great conversations with Paul, Steven and Casey that I will always treasure. Paul’s love for the earth and the natural way of eating and living was and is infectious. My batteries are fully charged after La Dolce Vita. Still smiling as I am typing this!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Grazie!!! We loved having you! You better come back soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaNj
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Where to start?! Villa Cappelli made my last trip to Italy. Though I traveled in January the warmth of the hosts and hostess made me feel at home and welcome. The accommodations are spacious and private. I enjoyed many meals in the kitchen by the fireside with Paul, Steven and Casey. An added bonus was the many trips to town with Paul to get the days groceries and conduct business. I was once again able to experience the warmth and kindness of the Italian people! Be sure to spend some time at Villa Cappelli, you will not be disappointed! Bravo!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Grazie! Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Cappelli is a wondrous, magical place.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I came to Villa Cappelli to spend a week with friends. What a fabulous place to spend our vacation! Our suite was quite lovely (three rooms, sitting room and a bathroom) and the other suites/rooms were just as wonderful. Old school furnishings (but comfy) in keeping with the centuries-old villa. Our hosts were truly welcoming and loads of fun. We learned a lot from Paul, Steven and Casey. AND the food was phenomenal (we arranged to have nightly group dinners at the villa). They also make their own wine, olive oil, conserves. One evening, Paul arranged for a local pizzaca band to come and entertain us. What a treat! The band was fantastic. The villa is close to picture postcard beaches and to a castle. Beautiful Lecce is three-hours away. Lounging around the villa was also terrific - they have a great pool! Our kids loved it at the villa and they loved the Villa Cappelli family (including the three dogs and countless kitties). We highly recommend Villa Cappelli!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa Cappelli hosts! And the dinners!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks so much! Tell Isabela to keep up with the pasta lessons so when you return she can treat us all to her own homemade pasta. See you guys soon we hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCdad
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When I dream of Italy, I'll dream of Villa Cappelli"”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family just returned from a week-long stay at Villa Cappelli in the Puglia region of Italy. We were with a group of 13 people, many of us with children (ranging in age from 5 to 13), and we all agreed it was one of the best, most luxurious, most relaxing, most delicious, most interesting, most unique vacations we ever took – one that gave us a taste of authentic, unspoiled Italy that most U.S. tourists don’t experience.
We flew directly from NYC to Rome, and then took a quick, inexpensive connecting flight to Bari, from which the Villa is a short, 20-minute drive (we rented a car at the Bari airport). For the trip home, when we were better rested, we chose to drive back to Rome, and that was an easy four and a half hour drive on the highway.
The Villa itself and its surroundings are absolutely gorgeous and bursting with rustic charm and natural beauty. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and handsomely furnished, with modern bathrooms. The pool and garden are beautiful, and beyond the property walls, you can see miles and miles of olive groves all around, which means there is plenty of peace, quiet, and privacy here. I should mention this is also a great vacation for families with children, as the kids can run safely throughout the property, and there is much here for them to explore and enjoy.
But by far, what makes this such a special vacation, is the hospitality of the owners, Paul Cappelli, his partner Steven (both formerly of New York City), and Paul’s daughter Casey. From the moment you arrive, they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable, whether it be a welcoming glass of prosecco, an escorted shopping trip into town, or an impromptu pasta-making class in the villa kitchen. We asked them to provide dinners for our group, and these meals were a highlight of the stay for everyone. Each day, they would head to town and return with fresh fish, seafood, cheese and meat, which they would lovingly prepare with vegetables and herbs from their own garden, complimented by their home-made olive oil (essentially liquid gold—it will put you off all other olive oil for life), wine (red and easily drinkable), and liqueurs, including their own Limoncello and walnut liqueur.
Each night, our group would gather for a long, leisurely meal, sitting at a candlelit table outside by the pool, as our hosts brought out course after course of delicious, home-cooked Italian food. These meals put the ones we had in Rome to shame, and were shockingly reasonable given the quantity and quality. And then, after dinner, our hosts would join us, for drinking, singing, stories – it felt like spending time with new friends you wanted to know more about.
As much as we enjoyed simply relaxing at the villa, we also used it as a home base for some side trips to surrounding towns, where we were typically the only Americans, seeing a slice of authentic small-town Italian life. Terlizzi, the closest town, is terrific for a quick shopping trip or gelato run. The seaside towns of Polignano a Mare and Giovinazzo are right out of a postcard or fairy tale, and terrific places to swim. The beaches are rocky, but the water is clear and a deep aquamarine, and the surrounding scenery absolutely breathtaking. Friends who saw the pictures I posted couldn’t believe these places were real. We also enjoyed a quick visit to Castel del Monte, which is on Italian currency and provides stunning views of the Puglia landscape. We also took a day-trip to Lecce, (about a two hour drive), which is considered the “Florence of the South” and is known for its baroque architecture.
If I have one complaint, it’s that I wish we had stayed for two weeks. The week, while relaxed and leisurely, passed far too quickly, and now I’m trying to figure out a way for us to get back there.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Can't wait to have you guys back! Make it soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arty T
Sandy, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Villa Cappelli Far Exceeded Our Very High Expectations”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

As I read all the laudatory reviews about Villa Cappelli, I found it hard to believe this was such a perfect place...surely the reviews had been written by Paul and his friends. Having just returned from two weeks at the Villa, I agree totally with all the wonderful things that have been written in prior reviews...they are NOT made up! We chose Villa Cappelli to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We had never rented sight-unseen before, and Paul responded to all my anxious e-mails in great detail and with great patience. We had 23 family members for the 1st week, and a different 22 for the second week. Ages were 2 to 75 years. From the moment Paul opened the gate to welcome us, we entered an enchanting time. Paul, Steven and Casey were the perfect hosts-always available yet never intrusive. We were delighted with every aspect of the Villa: we cooked in the marvelously equipped kitchen and swam til we were exhausted in the large pool. The children (and adults) loved exploring the garden and the olive groves. Plenty of common indoor and outdoor areas to have our large group all together, yet plenty of places to be by yourself. Paul's knowledge of and passion for the Villa and the area were never-ending, as was his willingness to share them with us. Steven cooked three superlative meals for us and Casey was helpful in so many ways. We felt like good friends, not like paying guests. Having their homemade wine and liquors and jams was really special. The pictures on the website are a true reflection of the Villa, yet can't begin to do it justice. Our family felt the same way: over and over they enthused over the Villa and couldn't believe their good fortune in being able to be there. All of us would return in a heart-beat, and we strongly, strongly recommend this wonderful place. We've encouraged Paul to use us for references. We LOVED every minute of our stay at Villa Cappelli and hope to return.
Arty and Norm Trost
Sandy, Oregon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We honestly can't pin it down to one aspect: Paul, Steven and Casey's warmth, friendliness, & knowledge; the Villa itself; and the location.
Liked least: There was absolutely NOTHING that we didn't like. This was a WONDERFUL experience.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
So glad we lived up to the reviews! And we can't wait to have you and your family return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing