We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week long stay!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cilgerran, Cardigan, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

X6079VOca...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic week long stay!”
Reviewed 14 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Was surprised by previous reviews, as I have just returned from an excellent week's stay with the family! In a really lovely peaceful location on the Teifi River and the house has everything you could need and much more! Lovely big kitchen diner with everything you need, 3 fab bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a great lounge with a log burning fire. Also the location is great for exploring the Teifi River and Cilgerran Castle as both in walking distance. Plus if want to go further afield to places such as New Quay and Tenby, which are both worth a visit. Poppit Sands a lovely local beach which is a most also! Will be booking again soon as we all had a great time!

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham200...
Skegby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please read the reviews on trip adviser Teifi House is tired, grubby and dirty.”
Reviewed 2 January 2019 for a stay in December 2018

We booked this holiday for our Christmas break towards the end of the summer when all the reviews were positive. Shortly before our holiday we checked on the reviews again to find some very negative feed back. So we contacted Sykes cottages to express our concerns. They then contacted the owner who said all the cleanliness issues had been resolved with a change of cleaning company. On arrival we found this not to be true. We unloaded the car after our 5 hour trip put the kettle on and the oven to warm some food we'd bought with us. The kitchen filled with smoke and the smell of burning fat. On wiping the work tops down found they were very dirty and sticky with grease. On further inspection the microwave was dirty the inside rubbish bin covered in grime and dirt on the outside. The whole kitchen felt grubby and we didn't take our shoes off as the floor was covered in dog hairs and bits (soil and dirt) the lounge carpets needed a damm good vacuum, the dining room chairs were covered in crumbs. The stairs carpet and surrounding paintwork was covered in dust dog hairs. The upstairs carpets were the same, the window sills up stairs had months of mould on them. All the windows in the house needed a damm good clean, the down stairs patio doors were covered in muddy dog foot prints and doggy nose art. On a good note the beds were clean and comfy. The sinks, toilet and shower upstairs were clean. The downstairs toilet was dirty. The dishwasher did not work the lights were on but nothing happened. The owner had told us there maybe a problem with it but was trying to get someone to come and look at it.

We contacted the owner that evening with our concerns, he was very apologetic. He arranged for the cleaner to come that evening to discuss our concerns, on arrival he was very rude and had an aggressive manner and said the house was clean and we had made the mess on the carpets as he himself had vacuumed earlier with a dyson (must have forgot to plug it in ) we then asked him to leave and contacted the owner again and told him what had happened the cleaner then burst back into the kitchen and said he would hoover what we thought was not vacuumed . At this point I told the owner we were uncomfortable with what had happened . So he told us to tell the cleaner to leave . He later arranged for a professional oven cleaner to come Christmas eve . So the next day we all set too and washed the pots we needed to use on our stay and vacuumed all through the house and wiped all the surfaces . (Happy holidays )
After all the drama on the first evening we settled down to watch the tv only to find out that it didn't work properly. So contacted the owner AGAIN, by this time it was 9pm, who then after various text messages back and forth and after rebooting and re tuning the Freesat box managed to get the tv working.

On returning from our holiday we rang Sykes Cottages and lodged our compliant who have since contacted the owner and is now disputing the house is dirty. Surprise surprise could this be because we have asked for some money back . Sykes Cottages have asked for evidence .We have some photos although grease grim and unvacummed carpet do not photo very well especially the lounge carpet which is cream with brown flex in it and photographs of the windows just focuses on the things outside.
The whole experience has spoilt our Christmas and that of our friend s . We will not be using Sykes cottages again or returning to teifi house which is a shame as the setting for this little cottage is in a perfect place . It would be heaven on earth during the summer months.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
Good Afternoon graham2000,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Teifi House. I can see we have spoken with you today and are currently awaiting your photographs so we may complete a full investigation into the issues you have brought to our attention.

We hope to bring this to a swift conclusion for you and thank you for your continued patience with this matter.

Kind regards,

Becki at Sykes Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahh21
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Same as above, needs a damn good clean”
Reviewed 16 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Sorry Sykes. We are here now, due to check out in the morning. I don't think anyone does any cleaning. Whoever was in the house before us, left the dishwasher full of dirty dishes, dirty microwave, the outside bins had soggy rubbish in them not bagged, dog poo in the garden, downstairs toilet not clean, the trap on the kitchen sink wasn't screwed on and the water just poured through to the cupboard, must have happened before judging by the state of the cupboard and the empty sink unblocked cleaner bottles. Not hoovered with dog treats and chews around the lounge. No Visitors Book to comment in. The Idiots Guide to the House is well worn and parts unreadable.
In their favour it's a toasty house with instant hot water and heat at the touch of the Boost button, couldn't fathom out the timer. Beds were clean and comfy. Towels were clean although only small bath towels. The sinks and bathrooms upstairs were clean. So half a job has been done.
So I didn't mind if my dog ran all over the house and left dog hairs, I just hope the hoover works in the morning so I can clean it before the next person.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Nov 2018
Good Afternoon ahh21,

Thank you for your comments. I cannot see you have contacted us during or after your stay to raise any concerns other than complete our standard feedback form which we have tried to contact you about to discuss your experience on several occasions; unfortunately, we have been unable to reach you.

To confirm, we would not expect any of our customer's to clean the property on their arrival and had we known about these issues, we would have looked to have resolved this for you as soon as possible.

Should you wish to discuss your comments, please do give us a call.

Kind regards,

Becki at Sykes Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer8...
1 review
“WHAT A SHAME”
Reviewed 9 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Upon arriving at the cottage I thought great, but was surprised to see lots of wine bottles left outside, and rubbish sacks. Once in the house, the layout is superb, but the standard of cleanliness was very poor, carpets needed vacuuming before we could move our stuff, window sills upstairs had months of mould on them. In the kitchen, doors were hanging by 1 hinge only, dishwasher didn't work, oven was difficult to ignite but once lit had 1 temperature only...lets burn the food. We had to clean the kitchen table as there was cooked rice on it! Garden was unkempt, overgrown and decking covered with dog hair. Cleaner should be sacked. Great potential very poorly run, will not return!!! We have photos to prove!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Nov 2018
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Teifi House and I am very sorry your experience was not as expected. The cleanliness and maintenance issues outlined are extremely out of character for this property and have been addressed with the owner direct; I am pleased to report that no further problems have arisen since your stay so thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. I can see that a gesture was offered to you and this has since been resolved.
Once again, apologies for your experience and thank you for allowing us to resolve this for you.
Kind regards,
Becki at Sykes Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.