We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
255
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive sites red bird fish an absolute pleasure small fan local villagers gam island diving experience marine life no air conditioning ceiling fan mosquito net big stuff day trip sea creatures heaven on earth shampoo and soap
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We spent 2 amazingly wonderful weeks at Papua Explorers and there's not enough wonderful things we can say about the resort and the staff. Before we booked with Papex, we looked at a lot of live-aboards and other dive resorts in the region and Papex won us over immediately. They are very environmentally conscious and it really comes through from all of their staff that they care about the environment--they have coral restoration work going on, they do beach clean ups at the local islands, they use coral reef safe products, etc. For the environmentally conscious, there's really no better place. As someone with a PhD in marine ecology, this place really spoke to us and we had the most amazing time. We highly recommend Papex and cannot wait to come back.

Longer review:
* Staff: the staff is simply amazing--everyone is super friendly, fun, and all around very happy. They're like a big family and they treat you like family as well.
The dive guides are so fantastic and can find some of the smallest critters so get your cameras ready! Yermi is superb at spotting pygmy seahorses and if you do the mandarin fish dive, he's your guy. Arno is fantastically witty and fun, if you're doing any dive certification, you'll have the chance to dive with him. All of the staff are great, we got the chance to meet both Tari and Tunc (the owners) and they're just incredibly down to earth and nice.

* Diving--we had the 10 day dive package and went on 3-4 dives each day. We were able to hit ~40 dive spots. Blue Magic and Manta Ridge are fantastic if you're interested in seeing oceanic and reef mantas, respectively. We loved Mioskon, Mike's Point, Manvil for macro. The Passage dive is like a roller coaster underwater and the Hidden Bay is gorgeous.

* Accommodations--our room was so lovely--very spacious, big and proper mosquito net around the beg, nice hammock on your own personal deck, all of the bungalows are over the water.

* Food--great food. The chef knows what he/she is doing =) We ate way more than we needed to, lol.

If you're looking for a dive resort, we can't imagine a better place.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelerxhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, Manager at Papua Explorers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi there.. thankyou for such a kind review! We very much enjoyed meeting you both and hosting you here in our lovely Raja Ampat! Very much look forward to (hopefully) seeing you another time for some amazing Raja Ampat adventures.. there's so much more to explore :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Foods were delicious. This is more and more important thing if you don't like far east kitchen. :)
I like dive and I've dived very very much. I am not exited just like my first dives, but in Raja Ampat I felt just like my first dives. There is always very good scenery. Some times very very firendly mantas try to touch you or sometimes wahtcing hunting baracudas or other fishes are just like watching Nat Geo Wild.

I cannot belive myself why I return from there....

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Burak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, Manager at Papua Explorers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hello Burak, very happy to hear to you enjoyed your time here! And yes, you are exactly right: every dive feels like it's the first dive you've ever done, and we totally understand the the feeling of being IN a Nat Geo Wild documentary! It's a very special place here in Raja Amapt, and we are glad we could share it with you... take care and hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

The week we spent in Papua Explorers could not have been better. The organization they have for the divings, excursions, staff...is just perfect. They adapt to your requirements without problem. All the people who work there love what they do and that is reflected in their work. We had a problem with a flight cancelled and they did the impossible so we could take an early flight and with only a few hours in advance. I also want to mention the great job they are doing with the Sea Centre, we even received a speech showing all the great advances are having with the restoration of the corals. We also had an amazing speech about Mantas from a great guy doing a Phd about them in Papua Explorers. The location of the resort is close to the main dive sites. Dont miss the excursions to the Passage, Fam, birdwacthing...I hope to come back some day.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, Manager at Papua Explorers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Mario.. Glad we could get you to your rescheduled/new flight on time... and hope your travels home from that point were smooth! Thanks for your kind review of the resort, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and like you - we hope you can return again some day for some more amazing diving adventures. Thanks again and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at Papex! Everything was perfect, from the amazing bungalows to the attentive staff and the nice food, the lovely guests and the amazing dives! The house reef is also really nice and we were snorkeling there every day after the dives. There are no mosquitos here, which were the reason we had to run away from the previous resort which was infested with sand flies.
They are very careful to the environment and the reef, it’s a real eco resort (not like the previous one we stayed in which just had eco in the name...) and Lynn is always available to enthusiastically explain what the Center does and how it helps rebuild the reef and help neighboring villages and create awareness.
The yoga classes are also fantastic and the massages are high quality, and when you lie down in the massage bed, you can see the fish swimming in the sea, through a home in the floor.
Just perfect.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S_Leo_S_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, Manager at Papua Explorers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi there.. thanks for your kind review :)
Was great to meet you and we are happy to hear that you had such a nice time during your stay. We are glad we could share with you our little piece of Raja Ampat, and the projects we are working on to protect and conserve it as a special place on the planet. We hope you can come visit us again some day! Until then, big hugs and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We have just returned from 11 nights at Pap Ex. We had beautiful weather with hardly any wind and very little rain (apart from one very quick tropical storm). Both of us are divers and have travelled to Bali, northern Fiji and now Raja Ampat to dive. The accommodation was very large and very comfortable and communing with nature beautifully. The Pondoks sit over the water which is alive with sea life all the time. We had a colony of Anemone fish under our steps along with many other fishy visitors to watch from the balcony or to swim with on the house reef. The diving was many and varied with a huge abundance of fish life on the extensive choice of dive sites. The visibility is somewhat reduced at this time of the year but the positive in this is that the Mantas feed on the animal plankton and seeing them is an amazing part of the experiences available. We had the pleasure of hanging with 18 reef Mantas for an hour on one day and then 8 on another. Something to remember always. The dive managers and team looked after us very well and you can be confident that all experience levels will be catered for. The meals were great and choices changed daily with lovely, smiling staff on hand. It is great that the resort is very conscious of the need to preserve and conserve this special part of the world and has an active reef restoration and coral gardening process happening. There is also a Manta research program based at the resort. Both of these projects are very interesting to learn about. It is also great that a lot of the staff are local. An added bonus is you will meet people from all over the world and that in itself is worth the trip.

Room tip: We had the first room near the jetty and restaurant and it was absolutely fine. We didn't have any problem with noise.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, Manager at Papua Explorers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Peta.. 18 reef Mantas - very special! We are have a pretty amazing manta season (for both species) this year.. and glad you got to experience it. Thanks for the kind review :) It was great to meet you both here and we're glad we could show you both around a little slice of Raja Ampat paradise. Hopefully you can return one day for some more diving adventures! Until then, happy diving and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews