We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful farmhouse - great...”
other travellers have booked this property
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA KITCHEN OVER-LOOKING POOL AREA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
KITCHEN OVER-LOOKING POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
TEAK FURNITURE IN 'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' BEDROOM BALCONY OVER-LOOKING POOL & VIEWS
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' PRIVATE ENTRANCE TO HOUSE
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' POOL AREA
'TAL-BJAR' LIVING ROOM WITH FIRE-PLACE & TV, OVERLOOKING POOL
'TAL-BJAR' DINING ROOM
'TAL-BJAR' BEDROOM WITH 2 SINGLE BEDS & SHOWER ROOM EN-SUITE
TWIN BEDROOM WITH EN-SUITE SHOWER ROOM
MAIN BEDROOM WITH EN-SUITE BATHROOM OVER-LOOKING POOL & VIEWS
EN-SUITE BATHROOM TO MAIN BEDROOM
TAL-BJAR POOL AREA
living room facing pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
beatrixy3...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful farmhouse - great for kids and adults.”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a gorgeous house. The photos don't actually do it justice, there is even more space around the pool than there appears to be and it is very private. We (3 adults) stayed recently with 3 kids under 4 (a a baby and two 3 year olds), and it was perfect. Joe and Mary love it as their own, it is pretty and well tended and very clean.

The pool is heaven, big and quite deep (strict armband rule for the kids), and lots of loungers and umbrellas to keep everyone shaded during the hotter afternoons. The kids played happily all day.

The kitchen/living room is well equipped and nicely set up with double doors opening to the pool.

The bedrooms are accessed via the stairs outside the kitchen/living room in a private locked courtyard within the house (a bit alien to Brits but Gozo is very safe and this is routine for houses here). There is a 4th bedroom off this courtyard, we used all of them. The air con works really well, and wasn't really needed as the rooms fans work well too.

Joe was particularly helpful and pleasant to deal with and replied to any questions very promptly.

The village is very peaceful but the local shop is a very handy 2 mins walk away stocking essentials and more, with another larger shop about 15 mins walk. The centre of Gozo Rabat is only about 10 mins drive and the azure window and inland sea a couple of mins drive or 15 mins walk away.

I would highly recommend this farmhouse to anyone, it is a real gem and a great find, I hope to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor pool area
Liked least: I don't think there was anything we didn't like. Stairs to the roof are a bit scary and need to be blocked off if you have small adventurous kids,
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmax2014
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tal-Bjar Farmhouse, Beautiful!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had the privilege of spending a few days at Tal-Bjar Farmhouse in San Lawrenz, GOZO. Visualize living in a beautiful victorian era castle and you might get an idea. Very well equipped with all your modern amenities and to add an extra wow...15 minute walk to the Azure Window.

Loved, loved, loved it! Will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa in Gozo with Exceptional West Facing Sea Views”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Tal-Bjar was the perfect villa for an extended family holiday including grandparents and teenagers - as everyone loved it!
The house has a great atmosphere as soon as you arrive in the beautiful, welcoming courtyard with steps leading up to first floor bedrooms, and the open plan living area is contemporary and beautifully designed whilst retaining all the villa's original character and charm.
My mother and I loved cooking in the well equipped kitchen and the boys loved the pool which has views across to the sea and is west facing, absolutely perfect for evening drinks at sunset. The villa in fact surpassed our expectations from the already lovely photos on the website.
All the bedrooms have high ceilings and are en-suite, and the whole villa was impeccably clean.
Tal-Bjar is also local to a wonderful restaurant, Tatitas, in the local square of San Lawrenz where we were greeted with great warmth and friendliness by all.
Joe has been charming to correspond with, greeted my parents who arrived in advance of us, and made the experience of booking the holiday as well as car hire and transfers to and from airport absolutely stress free.
Thank you Joe for our wonderful time in a genuinely very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils57
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Farm House with sunset views on Gozo”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We visited Tal-Bjar for the second time in our autumn holiday and found it as beautiful and charming as ever. In fact, the one drawback that I noted in my previous review, the lack of AC in the bedrooms, has now been partly fixed, as three out of four now have it.
Another bonus: The village plaza makeover is completed, so now we could finally try out Tatita's Restaurant which was as good as we hoped it would be! Furthermore I have to mention the drinks at Kempinsky Hotel, which is also within easy walking distance from Tal-Bjar: They provide a touch of high life when village life gets to you...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the pool area. The management's super service.
Liked least: One of the double beds, which could be wider.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B
Oostkamp, Belgium
1 review
“Perfect stay on Gozo”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay as a family at Tal-Bjar was very nice. The house and the pool were perfect and well maintained. The people, as well as the owners are very kind. During our stay (the first week of august), there were feasts for the saints of Gozo. Gozo is a very nice and quiet island. We would recommened this island and of course the Tal-Bjar villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool.
Liked least: Not enough kitchen towels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing